We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Was Great Until the Prime Rib Was Served” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Town & Country Steak & Seafood

Town & Country Steak & Seafood
76 Dunlop St W, Barrie, Ontario, Canada
(705) 726-5241
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 398 Restaurants in Barrie
Price range: $25 - $99
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Barrie, Ont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“All Was Great Until the Prime Rib Was Served”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a great dining experience with appetizers, salads and finally the main courses.The beef souvlaki was very good however the prime rib, that was supposed to be done medium well, was done very well, thin and fatty. I would have to say that this was the worst cut of meat I have eaten in years.
Service was attentive and polite.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Classic old time dining, we've been several times, and always enjoy it. If you are celebrating a special occasion, or enjoy a nice relaxing meal, this is the place to go. Melt in your mouth steak, and the best lobster ever! Wonderful service from professional and friendly staff. Those that head to the keg need to try Town and Country!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Last night I took my husband to Town & Country for his birthday. My husband had the 16 oz. New York Steak - excellent - and I had the filet mignon and escargots - both excellent. The food was excellent but the service was very slow, and two of the items we ordered for dinner were forgotten.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old school dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our evening, the chateaubriand was cooked to perfection, the vegetables were superb. The restaurant is an old fashion style of dining where the maître'd addresses you by name all evening. Our service could have been better the waiter apologized as he was new and he was so sincere and amusing it all seemed ok. We were surprised with a free dessert from the maître'd and again we had no complaints.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't Waste Your Time or Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

A large group of us attended for dinner for a bachelor party, there were 11 people in total, and I believe only one person liked their meal.
Once seated we were served garlic bread, which was amazing, unfortunately the experience went downhill from there.
The soup was ok, but nothing to write home about. The real disappointment was when the entrees came. I ordered a New York strip steak and it was terrible, the steak was much tougher than I expected. Not sure where they buy their meat, but I buy better steaks at Costco....I make way better steaks at home, so definately annoyed when I go out and pay a lot money for a terrible meal. To make matters worst, at least 3 of us were served the wrong potato, once they tried to correct the problem they had to advise us that they were now out of mashed potatoes.
A couple of people in my party ordered the prime rib, it looked awful, it was very well done and looked like a slice of pot roast. Just a terrible experience all around. If you want a place with great garlic bread, stop by, but don't expect a great steak !!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town & Country Steak & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Town & Country Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town & Country Steak & Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.