We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but on the expensive side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tara Indian Cuisine

Tara Indian Cuisine
128 Dunlop St E, Barrie, Ontario, Canada (City Center)
(705) 737-1821
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 384 restaurants in Barrie
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: City Center
Québec
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good but on the expensive side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Tara’s
Good indian food on Dunlop. The service was excellent. I had the lamb karma medium-hot (and it was hot!!!) and my friend had the butter chicken. My only complaint is the price as it is quite steep for Indian food. One beer, one bottle of wine (36$), pakoras for appetizer, no desserts, our two dishes were 113$ before tip. Rice and naan are not included with your meal and you have to purchase them as sides.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    27
    26
    5
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nicely spicy cuisine and decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had not been dining out in Barrie because we had a summer full of house guests and barbeques. Last weekend we went back to Tara, always a favorite spot for us. We have been coming back for more than 10 years.
The room is newly beautiful but the food remains familiar and delicious. We shared a mixed appetizer plate and also shared the mixed tandoori selection. Both were delicious and we certainly had enough food to satisfy.
The service was gracious even though the room was full of patrons.
We will be back again soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, ON
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Well I have recently just started eating Indian Cuisine and have only been to a few places. So I waited to review as now I may compare. Based on the places we have been I would say that the we had the best experience here.The service was great as they attended to all our needs in a timely fashion. The atmosphere was pleasant and comfortable and the food was amazing, The portions were large as we were stuffed. This is where I found my new favorite dish. I had the very spicy chicken madras with Basmati rice and fresh Nann. My colleague who is from India said that it reminded him of Home. We plan on returning soon.
.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An unexpected gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We happened on Tara while spending the week- end in Barrie. We had driven past our initial choice, a very, very busy Chinese buffet and decided instead to go back downtown where we had passed Tara earlier in the day.

From the moment we walked into the newly re-decorated/renovated space and smelled the wonderful aroma in the air, we knew we were in for an experience.

The knowledgeable server helped guide our selection, the "DD" meal which consisted of something from each of the main menu categories: onion baji, soup, vegetable curry, butter chicken, lamb curry, shrimp jalfredi, two kinds of nan and a rice pilaf, follwed by burfi and galub juman (my appologies for the spelling!) Ostentiably a dinner for 2 or 3, we easily fed 4, with generous left-overs brought home.

As impressive as the food was the genuine relationship that the owner/chef and staff have with the patrons, greeting several by name and discussing mutual friends/family. I just wish that we had something as nice in our home town!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent service and tasty food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Recommended and I've been there a few times with no problems at all. One of my favorite Indian restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tara Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Tara Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tara Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.