We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enjoyable Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michael & Marion's

Michael & Marion's
89 Bayfield St, Barrie, Ontario, Canada (Formerly michael and marians) (Bayfield)
705 721 1188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 386 Restaurants in Barrie
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Bayfield
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We went here to take advantage of the recent "Barrielicious" program being offered until June 20th, but we will go back because of the quality of the food and service. Their steak was cooked to perfection, as was the veggies. The Caesar salad was a great starter, but the portions were small, but I think this was the case because of the great deal we got with the "Barrielicious". My husband had a stuffed chicken entree, and he too said it was very good. We sat in the bar section of the restaurant, and there was also a more formal dining area, as well as a patio. I was impressed at how they had no issues with making separate bills on a larger group. Some restaurants make such a big deal of having to divide up bills. The servers were very efficient and knowledgeable regarding the menu. Overall, a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A birthday dinner coincided with Barrielicious! As we arrived for dinner we saw one of the servers helping a senior who had walking issues to her car - beyond the call and most impressive. There were 5 in our party and every person was impressed with the whole dining experience. The food was delicious (Leg of lamb, salmon and steak)and creatively plated. The service was impeccable - friendly and helpful without being cloying. The whole ambience was casual and efficient. We would most definitely return for future celebrations!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Always had a good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

I've eaten here at least 5-6 times now as it near our house. I always enjoy the food...prepared to perfection, served with style and high quality. The Lamb is excellent, but so too are the other dishes. The service is always very good, and I like the vibe of the place. My favourite place in Barrie basically.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprising find for a Mother's Day celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were on our way to cottage country. However, I had forgotten to book a luncheon to celebrate Mother's Day. I quickly found Michael & Marions' on the internet. I telephoned them and they were very accommodating in getting us a table for five on such short notice. When we arrived, the family was immediately escorted to our table in the bar section. As we walked through the dining room, I noticed that all the tables were occupied. The wait staff was very pleasant and helpful. The menu had a good and varied selection of appetizers and main dishes. The food was quite tasty and the portions adequate. The ambiance in the dining room was one of casual elegance while the bar area was more casual but surprisingly quiet and relaxed. The family was very pleased with my last minute selection for a Mother's Day luncheon and asked that we return in the future to sample some of the other delicious items listed on the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Reservation on Mothers Day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Was seated with little wait. Service was good but very disappointed that a table with 5 was given only one tray to share of both starters and desserts included in the Prix Fix. We had to share the same amount the table for 2's were receiving. Hard to believe they could oversight this as it appears to be a cheap tactic in a supposed "upper scale" experience. This experience will make returning a second thought as I'm sure they know better being in business this long.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael & Marion's also viewed

 

Been to Michael & Marion's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael & Marion's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.