We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What for the signs as the place is easy to miss being in the back of an industrial unit.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bull & Barrel Pub

Bull & Barrel Pub
901-75 Cedar Pointe Dr, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5R7, Canada
705-719-4600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 386 Restaurants in Barrie
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: English, Pub, Fish & Chips, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cozy "local" serving a wide variety of imported and domestic beers for over 15 years. With our Axminster carpet, dark wood,fireplace and brass fittings, it's easy to see why this place reminds many of our ex-pat regulars of the pub they left back home. Our menu is a cross-section of Canadian and traditional pub fare, featuring fish and chips, house made pub pies and arguably the best liver and onions in town. Live entertainment is on tap every Saturday night. We are close to Hwy 400 making us the perfect stop-off on your way up to cottage country or on your way home to the city. Our patrons voted us Best Pub in Barrie two years running. Come and judge for yourself.
Parry Sound, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What for the signs as the place is easy to miss being in the back of an industrial unit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We just went today for lunch, there were 7 of us and we were the only ones eating, most patrons were at the bar. My husband and I ordered Guiness, which we were not impressed with. It was too cold and it wasn't very creamy. Two people had wings, and they were very small wings. The prices are on par with most pubs, and they do have the usual pub fare. The server was not overly attentive. The location is in an industrial site so you would miss it if you weren't looking for it. There was no music playing, which was fine for us as we had two seniors with us that are hard of hearing, however, a younger crowd may not be impressed with that. I

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullbelle, Owner at Bull & Barrel Pub, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hi Gillian - thanks for taking time to let us know of your visit to the Bull and Barrel Pub. As you noticed, we usually keep the music lower than in the evening so business people can conduct meetings & also for the enjoyment of our seniors who don't necessarily share our taste in music. You mentioned you thought the wings were a bit small. This happens at certain times of the year when the chickens are harvested at a smaller size to keep up with increased demand. We serve by the lb. (on the main menu) & not by the number, so size is only of consideration if the usual 10 would not equal a lb.

You are correct. We are located in a commercial park. We like this location because it has ample parking for our guests & it's in a park-like setting with lots of trees and very little traffic. Having said that, because we are a little off the beaten path, our customers go out of their way to be here, which we have appreciated for almost 19 years.

Please visit us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Atmosphere does not make up for the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Nice atmosphere, very friendly but this does not make up for the quality of the food served. Burger was served on a grocery store bun, was small and lacking flavour. Fries were served in a dessert dish. The Irish nachos, which used to be a great compliment to any night at the pub tasted as if fried in old oil and garnishes were very skimpy. I think a new cook would be in order.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullbelle, Owner at Bull & Barrel Pub, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi Lorrie; First of all, thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience. It seems that you have been here on more than one occasion & this time was not up to your expectations.

We have always believed that a burger should be unadulterated by any seasonings or fillers. They are simply 100% ground beef, hand-made in our kitchen and served "naked" on and Italian-style Kaiser bun so you can add your favourite toppings. We have changed the serving of our fries for some dishes from piled on the plate to a side "soup" bowl both to ensure every customer gets the same serving and also because we find they stay warmer this way.

As for your old favourite the Irish Nachos, I'm confused as to how yours tasted like old oil and didn't have ample toppings. I can only apologise for that and encourage you to call the pub and let us know when you'd like to stop by and have a order of nachos on us and then tell us what you think. BTW - I've had a meeting with the kitchen manager and they certainly will work towards ensuring every nacho plate is as good as the next.

Cheers Lorrie (I've left your name at the front in case you call)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Traditional Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Ok pub for some cold pints and decent pub fare. Lights were a little bright and little to no music was playing. This was made up for by the great draft selection and a good shepherds pie.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I are 60+. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere of the Bull and Barrel. Service was great and the food was good pub food. If you want a more refined gastronomic experience, a pub is not a good choice. The variety beer also good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

5 guys stopped in on a Saturday for lunch and a beer. I had deep fried pepperoni as a starter and it was great! The fish and chips had by 2 of the guys was very good and the rest of us had finger foods. All was served quickly and efficiently by friendly staff. The food was very good in a typical pub atmosphere. We will return.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull & Barrel Pub also viewed

 

Been to Bull & Barrel Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bull & Barrel Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.