We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“buffet lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tiffins Curry in a Hurry !

Tiffins Curry in a Hurry !
7 Dunlop street east, Barrie, Ontario L4M 1A2, Canada (City Center)
705-252-5816
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 390 Restaurants in Barrie
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: City Center
Description: Serving homestyle authentic east Indian cuisine. All the entrees are served mild (unless asked for Mild-medium, Medium or Hot)Gluten free entree's & bread, and also accomodate Vegans.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“buffet lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had the buffet lunch here last week.The variety of food is small ,but all prepared well.I would be happy to go back and try their regular menu soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    26
    4
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Liked the variety of the dinner for 2 option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Chose this place for dinner based on past reviews since we were going to be in the area. We were surprised it was pretty empty but apparently some festival was on in the evening and it had been non-stop busy during the day. At first I was apprehensive since I was only used to lunch buffets where you get a variety and at dinner you have to choose a dish. But once we were inside, we were told there was a dinner for 2 option that gave you a variety of appetizers, soup and entree with 2 meat and one veggie choice, and glass of wine. Hostess/owner/waitress was pleasant and very friendly and the dinner for 2 offered a good selection. I would have preferred it more spicy but I guess you just need to let them know that and they will make to suit. Will visit again

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disregard my "Doesn't disappoint" post”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I had visited this place three times and have had decent meals. The two times I went for buffet- The selection was small but the food was pretty good and the owner seemed nice so I had no problems going back. Unfortunately, due to the small amount of selection (and only small amounts of those items) I would rather eat somewhere else. I mean, if I am going for a buffet then I don't want to feel greedy about taking 2 small somosas because there are only 3 left (and not replaced during the 20 minutes we were there). Also, I can appreciate that the owners work there but maybe hire help for times when they plan to be away for weddings and such. I have visited Tiffins on multiple occasions and could not eat due to the restaurant being closed when their posted hours stated that they would be open. I bought some WagJags to use here but I unfortunately I do not plan to return or recommend this restaurant, especially not for the buffet.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Closing early?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife purchased 4 wag jags. We used 2. Three weekends ago we went there for the lunch buffet but there was a sign in the window that they were closed for a wedding. we were disappointed but I can understand that one. However, what I don't understand is closing early because the food is almost all gone. It is a buffet. We got there at about 2:10 and they are supposed to be open until 2:30. The door was locked, the owner came to the door and told us they closed early due to the food being almost all gone. That is absolutely ridiculous. What kind of buffet closes early because the food is almost gone. It was a 20 minute drive to get there. We contacted wagjag and got refunded for the unused coupons. The food is good but certainly not worth the hassle of not knowing if you will get to eat. We will never be going there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Poor food quality on buffet lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had a wag jag coupon for Lunch buffet for 2 ppl.Food quality was very poor and we were the only ones there from 12.30pm-1.30pm.It was empty and no other patrons to dine.This used to be a good restaurant,but not anymore with the quality of food on buffet.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiffins Curry in a Hurry ! also viewed

Barrie, Ontario
Barrie, Ontario
 

Been to Tiffins Curry in a Hurry !? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiffins Curry in a Hurry !, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.