We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alot of bang for your buck....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crock & Block Restaurant

Crock & Block Restaurant
325 Bayfield Street, Barrie, Ontario L4M 3C2, Canada (Bayfield)
+1 705-728-7485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 374 Restaurants in Barrie
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bayfield
Description: Casual, family restaurant, intimate booth seating, area for large groups available, outdoor patio, varied menu featuring prime rib, in-house hand cut steaks, BBQ'd ribs, wok stir fry's, seafood, appetizer's, dessert's, full kids menu, bar selections, all you can eat Sunday brunch
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Alot of bang for your buck....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I frequent the Crock and Block usually once a week or so. You have to try the prime rib and the $19.50 steak and lobster. It is excellent. They always cook my steak exactly the way I like it. However, the restaurant is a little dark and does need a makeover. But the staff are wonderful!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    35
    15
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“good food good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

nothing overly fancy about this place - just good food and good service - wait staff friendly - good pricing for all meals - i've been there several times this year and didn't leave disappointed - they should redecorate though - interior looks tired and worn, but food is very good

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Should be better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have visited the Crock and Block Chain many times. This location seems to be hit and miss and therefore I cannot give it top marks as some of the other locations.
My wife took me there for our anniversary and I had lobster and steak. The lobster had gone bad, it tasted like bleach in my mouth.
They replaced it and offered free comps etc... but that's typical of the hit and miss here.
I don't give it poor marks because the food is usually not too bad and every establishment can have a bad day.
There are other places along Bayfield and they should remember they are not the only restaurant and maybe try a little harder.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“reminiscent of yesterday...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

the Barrie Crock and Block is the only remaining Crock and Block in Ontario. All others have been taken over and renamed. The Barrie establishment provides comfort and great service with lots of food; too much food and most patrons take away close to half of their meals for home eating.
Great place and great food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
517 reviews 517 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
1,307 helpful votes 1,307 helpful votes
“Go if busy, if empty drive by”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant seems to thrive when busy and when they are under pressure to get food out. On our first trip the restaurant was full, staff were efficient and friendly and the steaks were great, especially the prime rib, melt in the mouth and the service great. Second trip the place was empty, staff were impatient and made us feel like we were inconveniencing them, subsequntly the lobster was chewy, steak tough and both cold. Don't know if I'll give them a 3rd try.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crock & Block Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Crock & Block Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crock & Block Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.