We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good & Clean Hotel - Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Barrie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Barrie to your Saves list
Super 8 Barrie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   441 Bryne Drive | Ontario, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6C8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Good & Clean Hotel - Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We just stayed at the Super 8 in Barrie. I never thought I would stay at Super 8 as I though that they were all low-end and run down. That was certainly not the case in Barrie. The hotel was great and at an unbelievable value. While not full of fancy amenities it was remarkably suitable for our short-term family stay. Included WiFi, a small pool and hot tub and breakfast all at the price - unbelievable. The staff was very nice and helpful - more so than in hotels that cost twice as much. What took me most was how clean the hotel and room was. I can't stand staying at a dirty and grungy place. The Super 8 Barrie was pristine. If a stay in Barrie is what you need give the Super 8 serious consideration and don't be thrown by the price!

Room Tip: The rooms all have microwave ovens and a small fridge so if you're travelling with kids this cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear DerekToronto5,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a wonderful review! Most Super 8 Hotels in Canada are relatively new and built with the modern traveler in mind. Our property is only 4 years old and offers the amenities, breakfast, spacious rooms and modern decor that are required by today's traveler. As opposed to many hotels in Barrie, our standard rooms are also equipped with a microwave and mini-fridge.

Thank you for mentioning our main competitive advantage, our VALUE! We offer complimentary WIFI and hot breakfast, and other amenities such as a swimming pool, hot tub, fitness room and new flat screen LCD TVs all for one low price! We pride ourselves at giving our guests great value for their money. Our staff also goes out of their way to give you that home-away-from-home feeling that is missing from so many other hotels. We treat our guests like family and love taking the extra step to make their stay exceptional! Thank you for referring to our hotel as 'pristine'. We take great pride in maintaining our property and providing our guests with extremely clean and comfortable accommodations. Once again, thank you for your great review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    238
    72
    24
    10
See reviews for
245
157
31
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Timmins, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here a few times with my hubby while working. Have stayed in the king suite and the queen preferred the king b/c the room was large and had the comforts of home. Staff were also wonderful breakfast was ok but then again we were not there for the food. Very clean hottub and pool great restaurants and shops close by. Our #1 place to stay in Barrie and we travel quite often.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear annderob,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review! You're right, the Executive King Suite does offer all of the comforts of home. It is an ideal room for our long-term guests and for couples that are looking for a romantic getaway! I'm glad that you enjoyed the king-size bed, jacuzzi tub, spacious sitting area, fireplace and wet bar. Thank you for your compliments on our hot tub and swimming pool. We're glad that you enjoyed the extensive variety of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel (East Side Mario's, Boston Pizza, Jack Astors, Kelseys, Montanas and Swiss Chalet to list a few). I'm sure that you had taken advantage of the discounts many of these restaurants offer to Super 8 guests. We also have a 24-hour Walmart right across the street! I'm glad that you had a great time during your stay and we look forward to hosting you again!

Sincerely,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

This was my first time in Barrie and I really enjoyed it. I stayed in the Executive King Suite at the Super 8. The room was very luxurious! It had a king size bed, jacuzzi, plasma tv and the list goes on. The staff was very helpful throughout my stay. I had no problems during my stay, but the staff was always their to help. The room was very clean as well. Overall, I was 100% satisfied and I'll be back. I highly recommend Super 8 Barrie to anyone looking for high quality accommodation at a great price!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Sahil J,

Thank you for your great review! We are glad that you enjoyed staying in our luxurious Executive King Suite! Our staff is trained to exceed guest expectations and I am pleased that they were able to make your stay a memorable one! At Super 8 Barrie, our goal is to provide our guests with exceptionally clean rooms at an exceptionally good value! We look forward to hosting you again!

Sincerely,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

It was my first time visiting Barrie & I chose to stay at Super 8 Barrie since it was ranked as #1 on TripAdvisor. The staff was pleasant & when I inquired about restaurants in the area, they seemed more than happy to provide me with the information & even wrote some of it down for me. The waffles were a great touch & others that I was with enjoyed them too.

One of the things that I'm most picky about whenever I go anywhere is the cleanliness of the washroom & I have to say that my rooms washroom and the room itself was really clean.

The best part is the location since there are tons of places to eat & other things are close by as well. It's really convenient staying here & if you don't have a car, you can still get around.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Teresa B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! I am glad that our staff was able to provide you with that home-away-from-home feeling during your stay and that you enjoyed our Belgian Waffles during breakfast. Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in providing our guests with exceptionally clean accommodations and I will let them know that you were pleased with the results of their hard work. You are right about our location! We are perfectly located within the commercial hub of Barrie, surrounded by restaurants and retail shops all within walking distance. I am glad that you had such a complete experience during your stay at the Super 8 Barrie and we look forward to seeing you again!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed here for one night on business based on a recommendation from a work colleague. Although this is a 3 star property for amenities, I give it full marks for value based on price, staff attitude, size of rooms and cleanliness.

This Super 8 is quite close to a Hwy 400 interchange and lots of box-store shopping and chain restaurants. There is lots of free parking out front of the hotel and I was immediately impressed by the number of front desk staff when I checked in at approximately 5:30 pm. There were 3 smiling faces who made the check-in very pain free.

My room was on the 3rd floor, about halfway down from the elevator, facing the parking lot and very quiet. The room was a suite and had two TVs, a small fridge and microwave. There was a separate sink outside the bathroom which would be handy for some. The bed was very comfortable with crisp white sheets. Wi-fi was complimentary.

The breakfast was the normal fare and decent. Eggs, sausages, cereal, breads, coffee and juice was all complimentary and while not gourmet, was reasonable.

All in all, for what I paid, I rate this hotel excellent value and would stay here a again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator if you would like a little more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear NorthYorkian,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! The staff and I have read your review and are very grateful for your appreciation of our hard work. We are glad that you enjoyed staying in one of our Superior Suites. The housekeeping staff is very meticulous when it comes to providing our guests with crisp, comfy sheets and extremely clean guest rooms. As opposed to many other hotels in Barrie, each and every one of our 82 rooms (including our standard rooms) is equipped with a microwave and mini-fridge. We have recently added brand new flat screen LCD televisions in every guest room and are increasing the speed of our already-fast complimentary WIFI with a system that is five times faster. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us at the Super 8 Barrie, and we are looking forward to hosting you again!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I have stayed at the hotel twice and both times my experience has been nothing but exceptional. This hotel has it all, great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, and a good breakfast. My kids took full advantage of the pool and hot tub. I have stayed at other hotels in Barrie but Super 8 by far gives you the best value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Ifrah Z,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review! We are grateful for your continued loyalty to the Super 8 Barrie and thrilled to know that you had an exceptional experience during your stay. We are continuously striving to provide all of our guests with excellent service, clean and comfortable rooms and a great hot breakfast! We are glad that your kids enjoyed our pool and hot tub and are looking forward to your next visit!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Super 8 Barrie was an outstanding stay. The staff was efficient and friendly, breakfast was excellent and the overall cleanliness of the rooms was great. I would definitely recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Deepa Nama,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review! We are thrilled to know that you had an outstanding stay at the Super 8 Barrie. Our staff takes great pride in providing excellent service to our guests and we are continually striving to provide the best hot breakfast in Barrie. We look forward to seeing you again!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Barrie

Address: 441 Bryne Drive | Ontario, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6C8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barrie
#3 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Barrie is one of the city's newest hotel properties. We are located in the newly developed south end of Barrie and within walking distance to major restaurants, coffee shops, banks and retail outlets! Our 82-room, 4-storey hotel property includes a variety of guest rooms and suites to suite your needs. Spend a night in one of our Traditional Rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen-size beds. If you're looking to treat yourself, you can spend a night in one of our Superior, Jacuzzi or Family Suites for an additional $10. Our Executive King Suites include a king-size bed, fireplace with sitting area, pull-out sofa bed, jacuzzi tub and wet bar! All of our rooms come fully-equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and brand new 32" flat screen LED TVs. All of our guests receive a free SuperStart Hot Buffet Breakfast with either cheddar cheese omelettes or scrambled eggs, sausages, Belgian Waffles and a variety of cereals, breads, muffins, yogurt, fruits and juices. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby 24-7! We also have a pool, hot tub and 24-hour fitness centre! Our Business Centre is available 24-7 for guests and we also have faxing, scanning and copying services available! Our guests also enjoy access to free high-speed wireless internet throughout our hotel! We are 100% smoke-free and pet-friendly! We look forward to hosting you during your next visit to Barrie! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Barrie Hotel Barrie
Super Eight Barrie
Barrie Super Eight
Barrie Super 8
Super 8 Barrie Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Barrie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.