We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Barrie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Barrie to your Saves list
Super 8 Barrie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   441 Bryne Drive | Ontario, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6C8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
London, Canada
1 review
“Great location & helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

It was my first time visiting Barrie & I chose to stay at Super 8 Barrie since it was ranked as #1 on TripAdvisor. The staff was pleasant & when I inquired about restaurants in the area, they seemed more than happy to provide me with the information & even wrote some of it down for me. The waffles were a great touch & others that I was with enjoyed them too.

One of the things that I'm most picky about whenever I go anywhere is the cleanliness of the washroom & I have to say that my rooms washroom and the room itself was really clean.

The best part is the location since there are tons of places to eat & other things are close by as well. It's really convenient staying here & if you don't have a car, you can still get around.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Teresa B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! I am glad that our staff was able to provide you with that home-away-from-home feeling during your stay and that you enjoyed our Belgian Waffles during breakfast. Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in providing our guests with exceptionally clean accommodations and I will let them know that you were pleased with the results of their hard work. You are right about our location! We are perfectly located within the commercial hub of Barrie, surrounded by restaurants and retail shops all within walking distance. I am glad that you had such a complete experience during your stay at the Super 8 Barrie and we look forward to seeing you again!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    238
    72
    24
    10
See reviews for
245
157
31
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed here for one night on business based on a recommendation from a work colleague. Although this is a 3 star property for amenities, I give it full marks for value based on price, staff attitude, size of rooms and cleanliness.

This Super 8 is quite close to a Hwy 400 interchange and lots of box-store shopping and chain restaurants. There is lots of free parking out front of the hotel and I was immediately impressed by the number of front desk staff when I checked in at approximately 5:30 pm. There were 3 smiling faces who made the check-in very pain free.

My room was on the 3rd floor, about halfway down from the elevator, facing the parking lot and very quiet. The room was a suite and had two TVs, a small fridge and microwave. There was a separate sink outside the bathroom which would be handy for some. The bed was very comfortable with crisp white sheets. Wi-fi was complimentary.

The breakfast was the normal fare and decent. Eggs, sausages, cereal, breads, coffee and juice was all complimentary and while not gourmet, was reasonable.

All in all, for what I paid, I rate this hotel excellent value and would stay here a again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator if you would like a little more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear NorthYorkian,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! The staff and I have read your review and are very grateful for your appreciation of our hard work. We are glad that you enjoyed staying in one of our Superior Suites. The housekeeping staff is very meticulous when it comes to providing our guests with crisp, comfy sheets and extremely clean guest rooms. As opposed to many other hotels in Barrie, each and every one of our 82 rooms (including our standard rooms) is equipped with a microwave and mini-fridge. We have recently added brand new flat screen LCD televisions in every guest room and are increasing the speed of our already-fast complimentary WIFI with a system that is five times faster. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us at the Super 8 Barrie, and we are looking forward to hosting you again!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I have stayed at the hotel twice and both times my experience has been nothing but exceptional. This hotel has it all, great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, and a good breakfast. My kids took full advantage of the pool and hot tub. I have stayed at other hotels in Barrie but Super 8 by far gives you the best value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Ifrah Z,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review! We are grateful for your continued loyalty to the Super 8 Barrie and thrilled to know that you had an exceptional experience during your stay. We are continuously striving to provide all of our guests with excellent service, clean and comfortable rooms and a great hot breakfast! We are glad that your kids enjoyed our pool and hot tub and are looking forward to your next visit!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Super 8 Barrie was an outstanding stay. The staff was efficient and friendly, breakfast was excellent and the overall cleanliness of the rooms was great. I would definitely recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Deepa Nama,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review! We are thrilled to know that you had an outstanding stay at the Super 8 Barrie. Our staff takes great pride in providing excellent service to our guests and we are continually striving to provide the best hot breakfast in Barrie. We look forward to seeing you again!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

It sufficed. I give it a 4 out 5 because the staff are friendly and polite. There was also no issue with guide dog which is a bonus. The breakfast was great (except they had no yogurt left @9am).
Forget swimming as the pool is way too small and the jacuzzi is warm.

Good for a getaway.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi tub only worth it if you plan to use it alone (as it is built for one).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. Our staff and I are glad that we could make your stay an enjoyable one! I can assure you that our Hot Tub has been used by as many as 4 guests at a time and that our swimming pool has been a great success with our guests. We look forward to accommodating you during your next visit to Barrie and hope you enjoy the new flat screen LCD TV that you will find in your room.

Sincerely,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed at the Super 8 in Barrie for 2 nights in one of their jacuzzi suites in early January of 2012. My stay was quite nice with no complaints and a few nice touches. Also it's worth noting that the information and pictures you see on their website are accurate.

POSITIVES:
-Hotel and rooms were clean and beds had comfortable linens. 4 pillows on bed.
-Free Wi-Fi
-Location is a 2 minute walk to 4 restaurants-- East Side Mario's, Jack Astors, Mucho Burrito (a great place), and South Street Burger. There are several other restaurants such as Cora's you can get to without going back onto highway 400. These are about a 15 minute walk (on a sidewalk) or a 3 minute drive away.
-Location is easy to get to, just off highway 400.
-There is a Chapters just behind the restaurant which has a Starbucks for anyone who needs a morning jolt.
-The breakfast at the hotel is from 6-10 am and had waffles, bacon, eggs, and breakfast sausages the days I was there (midweek).
-While I had little interaction with the staff other then check-in and out everything ran smoothly and they allowed us to have a late checkout on our final day. (Normal checkout is 11 am).
-Coffee pot provided in room.
-free parking
-Room had separate shampoo and conditioner. (Not the terrible 2 in 1's some places have).
-The front desk had complimentary cookies, suckers, and newspapers.

NEGATIVES: (To be fair I'm being VERY picky.)
-The breakfast had a small bowl of fruit, most of which was unappealing. There was also no yogurt. In addition the coffee at the breakfast was quite watery, but that may have been an isolated thing.
-The blanket on the bed was standard sized but I found it small for two people and there was no additional one in the closet. (Again I'm being picky).
-The only sink was in the bathroom.
-No robes.


WORTH KNOWING:
-The "jacuzzi suite" said it had a "two person jetted tub" but I was confused as to whether this would be in the main room or in the bathroom and whether it would really be big enough for two people. The jacuzzi was in the main room itself which was great because you can watch TV from the tub. It was considerably larger than a normal tub, but would have been tight for two people. It was however luxurious for one person. There is also a full size shower (but no tub) in the bathroom.
-The indoor pool was quite tiny but was not overly busy during our stay.
-Overall the property strikes me as a great place for families to stay, especially with the complimentary breakfast.
-This super 8 is apparently a "Pride of Super 8" property which supposedly means it meets higher standards than other Super 8's.

Room Tip: If you only need one bed the Jacuzzi suites are not much more expensive than a two queen room and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear reshee,

Thank you for writing a great review! I am glad that you enjoyed staying in one of our jacuzzi suites. We pride ourselves on our clean and comfortable accommodations and we are pleased that you enjoyed our extensive selection of in-room amenities. We have recently upgraded our televisions to Flat Screen LCD TVS and have added more fresh fruits and a variety of yogurts to our breakfast menu. Looking forward to your next visit.

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Cowichan, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

During my stay from 21 Dec to 27 Dec 2011, I couldn't have had any better service. All staff were friendly, efficient, courteous, and helpful. Rooms were modern, clean and well cared for. I was most impressed by the breakfast provided , a great way to start the day. Also the staff responsible for breakfast were most cheerful at an early hour. I believe their names were April and Heather. These ladies are great representatives of Super 8 and their positive interactions with all guests was good to see. Overall great service and great value. Will no doubt stay here again on upcoming trips to Barrie.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear John341,

I would like to thank you for spending a week with us at the Super 8 Barrie and for leaving such a great review. We are honoured to have such great guests. I am glad that our efforts to make you feel at home were a success and that you enjoyed the hospitality extended to you by our staff. I am also glad that you enjoyed our modern and clean rooms and would like to let you know that we have added brand new flat screen TVs in all of our guest rooms. April and Heather have read your review and are grateful for you kind words. We all hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Barrie

Address: 441 Bryne Drive | Ontario, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6C8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barrie
#3 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Barrie is one of the city's newest hotel properties. We are located in the newly developed south end of Barrie and within walking distance to major restaurants, coffee shops, banks and retail outlets! Our 82-room, 4-storey hotel property includes a variety of guest rooms and suites to suite your needs. Spend a night in one of our Traditional Rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen-size beds. If you're looking to treat yourself, you can spend a night in one of our Superior, Jacuzzi or Family Suites for an additional $10. Our Executive King Suites include a king-size bed, fireplace with sitting area, pull-out sofa bed, jacuzzi tub and wet bar! All of our rooms come fully-equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and brand new 32" flat screen LED TVs. All of our guests receive a free SuperStart Hot Buffet Breakfast with either cheddar cheese omelettes or scrambled eggs, sausages, Belgian Waffles and a variety of cereals, breads, muffins, yogurt, fruits and juices. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby 24-7! We also have a pool, hot tub and 24-hour fitness centre! Our Business Centre is available 24-7 for guests and we also have faxing, scanning and copying services available! Our guests also enjoy access to free high-speed wireless internet throughout our hotel! We are 100% smoke-free and pet-friendly! We look forward to hosting you during your next visit to Barrie! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Barrie Hotel Barrie
Super Eight Barrie
Barrie Super Eight
Barrie Super 8
Super 8 Barrie Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Barrie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.