We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carriage Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Carriage Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   90 Highland Drive, RR#1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Emsdale, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have stayed here several times, either in fall or spring and thought it time to write a review. We use it has a quick 2 night family getaway, usually myself and my daughter and one of her friends. Rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped, indoor pool is great, and the proximity to Horseshoe Valley is a real bonus. Amazing value for the money, at least in spring and fall, and we will return in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear emsdale,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your past stays at Carriage Ridge Resort! We are pleased to learn you like to experience our changing seasons, condo-unit amenities and our close location by Horseshoe. We hope to welcome you back again this year.
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    94
    28
    12
    10
See reviews for
132
99
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed this weekend for hockey tournament. The checkin policy is ridiculous not allowing your key to get you in the room until 4p.m. therefore creating huge line ups in a very confined space. We then unloaded our vehicle at maybe a minute to 4 in frigid temperatures for our keys to not work. I called the front desk from my cell phone and was "disconnected" I then called again and when somebody finally answered they informed me it was the switchboard and they could do nothing. I was to walk up to the pool rec centre and they would help me. After her calling the front desk and pretty much being told they were too busy she called maintenance to get us it however we had to wait at the room until he arrived probably a 10 min wait. Our keys didn't work until about 5:30p.m. The room was very dirty and I wondered if they really did change the sheets and bedding. The shower had black mould and decay. I emailed the resort manager on Saturday morning and still have not received the courtesy of a reply. Probably won't stay again. Other players stayed at Horseshoe and did not have the same problems.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello TerrilynnWaterford,
We appreciate the feedback and understand a resolution has been arranged with our General Manager. I welcome your call if I can be of any further assistance (ext 2626).
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The condo style is great for families and the resort is located in a very pretty area. We did ski at Horseshoe but would likely try one of the other hills next time as Horseshoe is expensive for what you get. There is only one small grocery store nearby in Craighurst so a trip to Barrie to stock up is a good idea.
Keep in mind that there are no elevators so carrying groceries, equipment, coolers, etc up the stairs can be a challenge. Our rooms were renovated and had enough soap, detergent, etc. to suit us. Cleanliness was just okay as I did see dust and debris under coffee tables and behind bedside tables.
We had an issue requiring maintenance and Chris came very quickly and helped us out.
Overall we would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear SKKF,
We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your ski vacation with Carriage Ridge Resort! Thank you for your feedback about our maintenance response, we have shared your comments with Chris. We have also discussed your observations about the unit cleanliness with Housekeeping.
The snow is still coming down and we hope you will be back to ski again soon!
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We came here primarily to visit Canada and to ski. There are 3 small ski resorts nearby which were great since my kids are beginners. They are all affordable, but we didn't visit the closest one (Horseshoe) because we found great discounts at the other 2 resorts (Snow Valley & Mount St. Louis). I love off season travel because there was no waiting for lifts and the prices are lower. We also had fresh snow!

We mostly ate in the unit, which was large and comfortable in every way. We enjoyed the large tub and the double sinks. We also went to the hot tub and swimming pool. Since our visit was in the off season, we were the only ones in the building, other than the helpful woman that operates it.

We shopped at the Super Walmart and at a mall in Barrie, about 20 minutes away.

After this week, we spent one night in Toronto (80 minutes away) and spent one morning visiting Niagara Falls.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear AWin2011,
We appreciate the time you took to share details of your stay with us. You have included great tips about early season skiing, why the condo-suite worked well for you and where to shop nearby. These tips are sure to help future guests with their planning.
Thank you for staying at Carriage Ridge Resort, we hope we will see you here again soon.
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

this place is consistent. its always super duper comfortable and clean.
the jets on our spa tub didnt work and we didnt even care a little bit because everthing else is just plain comfortable. only improvement would be a grill on every balcony:)
oh well cant have everything.
would go back over and over again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were there just this weekend for a hockey tournament and I will encourage any and all Grimsby Families that stayed to write a review of this resort . First we arrive with no knowledge of the new one ticket one towel policy I would have brought my own not sure what they think they are a CUBA RESORT .Second we also arrive to know debit was accepted at the resort that weekend .
We woke for the first morning to the coffee maker not working a few other families in countered the same issue .For a three night for day stay we were informed no replenishments of any towels coffee or other things in the room one parent was told "WASH AND TRY YOUR OWN TOWELS " .The front desk staff were rude and short on check in with 105+ rooms being rented with Grimsby Families I would think the service would have been much better . Maybe next year with crickets at the resort and no $$$$ this resort will wake up with the service .
The building and ammitties are starting to become run down and dirty So THINK TWICE BEFORE BOOKING THIS RESORT

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are disappointed to hear your interaction with the resort staff did not meet your expectations. We know that while on vacation it is important to be treated well. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home with a kitchen and laundry. Because we have condo-style resorts, certain hotel amenities such as daily housekeeping do not exist. We strive to provide this information to the guest through our website, pre-arrival letter and confirmation letter. We apologize for any confusion and will work to better communicate this in the future. We also appreciate your information in regards to upkeep with the property. Your feedback is important to us and helps us improve in many areas. Again, thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I just got back from a 3 day stay (mid October) and it was wonderful! It is not hard to find, despite others comments. You follow the signs to the check-in building, then they tell you how to drive to the building you'll be staying in. Check-in was quick and the young girl working was very pleasant. We stayed in a suite with a fireplace and Jacuzzi (definitely worth the money. please treat yourselves). The kitchen had everything you could possibly want: dishwasher, oven, full sized fridge, plates, cutlery, bowls, whisks. EVERYTHING. So just bring the food! Or there's a grocery store, gas station and LCBO about 5 mins away! There's a few other close little restaurants, but if you want a lot more options, take the 30 min drive to Barrie. There's a lot of restaurants that overlook the water and you can take a walk along the pier. Since you're in a different building down the road from check-in, you can just text them (they give you the number) and tell them your name and room # and that you're checking out. It's early... 10am for check-out. They charge you per half an hour you go over 10am. As for things to do... we didn't do much. But that was the point. We just wanted to relax and get away. We took nice walks along the country roads, taking in the sights of the changing leaves then enjoyed a nice swim in their club, which also has an arcade and hot tub. Beautiful place if you're looking for a small getaway. Looks like it would be great in the winter... it's got a ski lift/hill right on the property. Room service comes every 4 days, you won't need it before then because they've got everything you could want already inside the room (tons of towels, dishwasher detergent, a laundry room etc)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for providing this feedback including some helpful tips for future guests. We are glad you enjoyed the unit and resort accommodations during your stay. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrie
0.7 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#11 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
14.4 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 stars 734 reviews
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Ridge Resort

Address: 90 Highland Drive, RR#1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carriage Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriage Ridge Resort in Horseshoe Valley just 1 hour north of Toronto, a four-season natural playground with rolling hills, lakes, rivers and forested trails. At Carriage Ridge Resort you’ll find all the comforts and amenities of home in a spectacular country setting. One bedroom and two bedroom condominium accommodations feature fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces and jetted hot tubs, making Carriage Ridge Resort absolutely ideal for family vacations, romantic getaways and golf and ski groups to Ontario and the Horseshoe Valley. Whether you want to ski meticulously groomed trails through snow-laden forests of pine, tee off at one of eighteen area golf courses, hike or mountain bike one of several picturesque trails, or just relax at the end of the day, Carriage Ridge Resort in Horseshoe Valley is your very own base for fun and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Carriage Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Ridge Hotel Barrie
Carriage Ridge Barrie
Carriage Ridge Resort Barrie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.