We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie to your Saves list
Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Georgian Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4M 6Z5, Canada (Formerly Georgian Conference Services)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
1 review
“Spacious room and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed for two nights in early May during a very busy period and the service was great. The check in was easy and when we had a minor issue with our room is was taken care of immediately. Having a kitchenette with a full-sized fridge in the room was definitely a perk as we could keep food in there during our stay.
I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Super friendly welcoming staff, nice big clean rooms. Close to college & bus routes.
Pillows were hard & beds were mediocre. But good value for cost. Budget friendly.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya L, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you Natasha!
We would love to have you join us again!
Staff and Managements Residence Conference Center- Barrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

I get a partial kitchenette, private twin rooms, very quiet and very clean. The staff is more than friendly and try to help In any way. The continental breakfast saves a buck and is all you meet to start the day.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya L, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you so much Barry and Cindy!
We all loved having you as our guests!
Looking forward to seeing you when you come back to Barrie!
Sincerely, The Team Residence and Conference Center Barrie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were there with 5 other couples for a church function. Booked 4 2 bedrooms room and 1 3 bedrooms room. We stayed for 2 nights

Location is great as it is right off the highway.

I feel like I am back to University life as it looks exactly like a dorm room. The room is only $79/night/room which is a very good price. It comes with a fridge and a sink. cleaning service, towels are included as well.

Check in is fairly simple with free parking.
The bed is surprisingly comfortable for myself and my wife. A/C is strong.

If you have kid, there is a nice basketball court, field hockey ring and beach volleyball court.
So there is quite a few outdoor activities you are do.

One last thing, They have free coffee and tea from 7 - 11am in the lobbey.

Room Tip: try not to drink the tab water as it tastes funny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The Georgian Summer Suites were an economical accommodation choice for a 4 day stay in Barrie! Loved having the option to use laundry services, common kitchens to cook, free parking and Internet, as well as each suite had two bedrooms and kitchen area.

The access cards were programmed for two separate bedrooms, each room with its own card pass. The rooms had huge closets with built in storage racks, a small tv and AC controls. It is wired Internet but they provide cable connect in room. The beds are firm, but nothing fancy. Windows open for fresh air.

The bathroom had a stand up shower only but storage room under the sink for towels and toiletries. Extra towel bundles can be picked up at the front desk

Each kitchen had a full size fridge, microwave and sink. You need to bring your own utensils, cooking supplies, dish soap etc as the cupboards are bare. :). The dining room has two chair and a table suitable for all meals.

For a place to crash for 4 days during a busy wedding weekend and visit this was perfect. It was clean, quiet, comfortable, and affordable. Just remember to bring your 'luxuries'. At $69 a night, you can afford to.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omemee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and our daughters stayed here for two nights while vacationing in the area. We chose this location because of the price. So we knew going into it that this was not going to be luxurious. That is okay, we just wanted a space to sleep. For us it fit the bill. The suite was very spacious, giving all of us room to spread out. The beds were comfortable enough. I was glad to have read previous reviews to be prepared to bring utensils etc. Customer service was good. Due to constuction we got turned around entering the site. A phone call gave us friendly and accurate directions. The front desk staff answered all our questions politely through out our stay. On the down side. The room had not been cleaned well upon our arrival. There were clean sheets and towels, but the cupboards contained open food stuffs left from a previous guest, and there were wrappers etc. on the floor. Worst of all was a damp towel and pair of shorts left behind in a drawer. They must have been there for quite some time as they REEKED. Mildew had really moved in. Removing them from the drawer made the whole suite smell. :( That was but a blip. We went into this stay prepared and would stay again. The price is right. If you want more amenities, stay at a more expensive hotel.

Room Tip: If you just wnat a place to sleep, and you don't want to part with a pile of cash, this is for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We just came from a visit in Barrie... I saw all these good reviews... But I have at least five reasons why you should not stay there... We wanted to save a lil money... But I assure you we will NEVER stay there again.. I would rather pay $30 extra dollars a night for a different hotel.
Reasons for bad stay:
1) HORRIBLE customer service... Very rude... Not helpful.
2) my son threw up one night and they told us to out the blankets And sheets in the hall... We did, but then they never picked them up... I called repeatedly to tell them they were still in the hall... FINALLY they picked them up the day before we left.
3) they never serviced our room and gave us new towels when they said they would once every 3 days.. We called to complain and they ignored our request until a day before we left.
4) students were throwing a party so we couldn't sleep.
5)the beds are in horrible condition... Very uncomfortable and squeaked loudly.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie

Address: 101 Georgian Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4M 6Z5, Canada (Formerly Georgian Conference Services)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From May through August, Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie offers a unique and affordable alternative to summer accommodations for the budget traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.