We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Vietnamese in Barrie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Mekong

Pho Mekong
555 Essa Rd, Barrie, Ontario L4N 9P4, Canada
705-733-8088
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 401 Restaurants in Barrie
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good for Vietnamese in Barrie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

This is my go to Vietnamese restaurant in Barrie. I really like the tom yum noodle soup, pork and vermicelli, and cold fresh rolls.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Barrie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Pho always delivers great food at exceptional value. The restaurant is tasteful and clean. The staff is very friendly and it is impossible to leave hungry. Portions are large, especially in the soups. There is no way to finish the finish the large on your own! This is our go-to place in Barrie when we are looking for quick, charming and delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very clean and excellent Thai cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed this cute clean Thai restaurant. The service was friendly like another reviewer said they aren't at the table asking if all is good constantly. The food was soo fresh & very tasty. We had pho beef soup and vermicelli bun with chicken...really yummy! the bubble tea was also good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, great price, slightly awkward (but friendly) atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Pho Mekong is very close to me, so I knew that I had to try it to support a local business. For a place that already has another Asian restaurant in the same plaza (and some of the same dishes on the menu), this one really holds its own.

I love that there are booths for more comfortable seating.

The portions are HUGE, so be ready to bring some home for lunch the next day. The flavours are amazing and the ingredients are very fresh.

The weird thing is that when you look at the menu, they just give you the ticket so that you fill in the foods that you want, so that they can bring it to the chef. You have to write out your options like a server normally would in another restaurant. That's a bit awkward. At the same time, everybody there is very friendly, so it makes up for it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I love the staff and delicious pho. I lunch there almost every week now.

Very clean, and fresh food, great prices - can't ask for more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Mekong also viewed

 

Been to Pho Mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Mekong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.