We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grilled Cheese Social Eatery

Grilled Cheese Social Eatery
53 Dunlop Street East, Barrie, Ontario L4M 1A2, Canada
+1 705-252-5937
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 398 Restaurants in Barrie
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I recently got together with friends at the Grilled Cheese Social Eatery and we all enjoyed it very much. To start, who doesn't love grilled cheese? They have a good variety of sandwiches, with the option of a salad or chips. The place also has a cool "hipster" vibe to it. Eclectic music playing in the background, murals on the wall, and one of the most interesting bathrooms I have been in for some time, lol. It has more of a coffee house feel than a restaurant feel. I would easily visit again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prem O, Owner at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Hey, thanks you so much for taking the time to post a great review. We love you for it! Glad you enjoyed your visit, see you soon! Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great, friendly service with a smile...fantastic food!
We've been here numerous times (with and without the kids), and will continue to go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prem O, Manager at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
So much kindness. Thank you. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GREAT 1st Impression!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked in, to the moment we sat down and received our food, I loved every bit of it. Felt like walking into a nice college café place specifically for a great grilled cheese sandwich. The variety is nice, the value for what we paid for was very good. Staff was pleasant, but again the grilled cheese...would've had another if we didn't have to be somewhere lol. Wish I took pictures this time around, but that's ok, I will do it next time...and there WILL be a next time.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prem O, Owner at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Good morning Mrs Long. Thanks for the great review. We are so happy you had a good time and a greta grilled cheese. We will see you soon, and we will hold you to taking that pic too. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cheese, Cheese and More Cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This little establishment on Dunlop Street is very interesting and a great place for a light lunch. All kinds of grilled cheese sandwiches and very delicious. The chips are great too and different from regular French fries. The décor is eclectic and the washroom is worth the visit alone. Cash or debit only. Limited hours.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prem O, Manager at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Thank you Joyy! We have just figured out how to reply to our reviews. Egad! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

yummy treat in downtown Barrie. Happy to make the pitstop on the way to the cottage. Fast, easy, cheap and delicious!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prem O, Owner at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grilled Cheese Social Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Grilled Cheese Social Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.