We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spirit Catcher

Spirit Catcher
Maple Avenue & Simcoe Street, Barrie, Ontario L4N 7W4, Canada
705-739-9444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Attractions in Barrie
Type: Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Staines, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
440 reviews 440 reviews
244 attraction reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
790 helpful votes 790 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Great spot right on the waterfront. Great for all ages, opportunity to walk, jog, rest and watch the world go by whatever suits you. Lively landmarks and 'historic' interest too.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Strange and Strangely Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I live in Barrie and the giant metal sculpture is one of the things I love to show friends and family when they come to visit me. It's right at the waterfront, where there are walking and biking paths, a marina, fishing, playgrounds, and of course the beach!
It is a very strange piece. It's very large and is up on a hill as well. The feathers of the wings actually move! They creak in the wind.
I think it's kinda scary-looking, but I guess it's like a gargoyle: ugly and fierce, but designed to keep the evil spirits at bay.
If you're downtown visiting Barrie, you'll probably catch a glimpse of it in the distance. Take a walk down, or drive by, and check it out! There is a small parking lot right at the base of it, but I believe it's paid parking.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very nice well maintained area for walking, running or biking whatever your preference. Grounds are well maintained. Spirit Catcher is a beautiful sculpture in the City of Barrie.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Barrie's Landmark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Spirit Catcher sits on the banks of Kempenfelt Bay near the downtown area. Barrie has a wonderful waterfront and you cannot miss this cool landmark. Bring your camera....

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Stunning artwork seen against frozen Lake Simcoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stumbled across Spirit Catcher on a recent day trip out of Toronto. While it wouldn't be worth a special journey, it's certainly worth a small detour if you're in the Barrie area, and it provides a stark and interesting image against the backdrop of a frozen Lake Simcoe. My only complaint is that there's no free parking nearby; 15 minutes' free to contemplate its meaning and look at it from all angles would be helpful. There's also a shortage of photographic vantage points that don't get cars in the foreground - and yes, maybe those last two are contradictory thoughts!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit Catcher also viewed

 

Been to Spirit Catcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spirit Catcher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.