We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing! A great cuppa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Campbell's British Food & Tea Room

Campbell's British Food & Tea Room
274 Burton Ave,m, Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 384 Restaurants in Barrie
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Smashing! A great cuppa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

1. The staff are helpful and friendly. I love the fact it's small and intimate.
2. The food is so reasonable priced!! We had tea all over Ontario and this is a steal. We read on another review site complaints it's expensive?
Less that $2 for a tea and $5 for cherry scone warm, with preserve and double cream!!
3. I love the little shop for a Britt it's always well stocked better than what you find in Toronto.
4 I can't find anything I would say about this place which is not positive!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara falls
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Love this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Best sausage rolls I ever had!! This is a great little spot for great food great breakfast great sweets great sausage rolls n meat pies beans and a fun little shop to browse around in and take some British goods home love this place if I could give it a 20 out of 10 I would I recommend this to anyone coming into Barrie a must try the owners of a great job and they are both so nice

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“British in all aspects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This little gem gets a 5 in everything. Not many tables but the atmosphere is inviting and the authentic English meals are great! Service, food and ambiance make Campbells a must stop in Barrie.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Yummy Lunches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Have been here a couple of times on previous visits to Barrie, and this time we again took my 92 year old mother who loves the place. It's half store and half tea room, focusing on all things British. All their meat pies are baked in house, and the three of us had different ones. You get a good serving of pie along with the usual suspects of mushy peas, baked beans and mashed potatoes. The pies were delicious! While we declined, there is a wide range of pastries for desert, and my mother assured me they are all equally great.

The location is in a nondescript plaza but don't get put off, it's worth a visit. An added bonus is the friendly staff, who make you feel right at home!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tea for Two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Yesterday, a friend and I found Campbell's British Food & Tea Room and had an extremely enjoyable visit. Mind you, it was no accident--we were looking for the place. After browsing around the "store" area and buying several things for friends, we enjoyed tea and a light snack in the dining area. The tea service was very pleasant, the people working there were cheerful and pleasant, and the environment was comfortable. I'm looking forward to returning and trying some of the yummy looking food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campbell's British Food & Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Campbell's British Food & Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campbell's British Food & Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.