We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monday morning seating for 9 - and they pulled it off!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Tulip Cafe

Lazy Tulip Cafe
29 Maple Ave. | Between Dunlop & Simcoe St, Barrie, Ontario L4N1R7, Canada
+1 705-252-0910
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a quaint, soulful, independently owned cafe in the heart of downtown Barrie with a focus on fresh and conscious eating. Open seven days a week we offer a breakfast and lunch menu that strongly emphasizes vegetarian and gluten free options along with locally raised, free range chicken. Everything is made in house including our sandwich bread which is a whole wheat focaccia & our soups which are always made gluten free. The Lazy Tulip vibe is worldly, spiritual & funky. Music is a big part of the atmosphere which ranges from Indian tablas to local musical talent to current faves. We serve Planet Bean coffee, a small micro-roaster from Guelph and it's full flavored, fair trade and certified organic.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Monday morning seating for 9 - and they pulled it off!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We dropped in for breakfast with little notice one Monday morning - 9 of us (2 families). The poor woman running the restaurant was all by herself and clearly surprised to have to handle so many on what is likely normally a slow day. The restaurant is tiny but was able to accommodate us at 3 tables - and the new and improved menu was pretty limited anyway so picking was straightforward.

We all ordered - coffees, smoothies and mains - including 3 or 4 French Toast. Shortly after our hostess/barista/server/chef returned and apologized that she only had one order of french toast left. No problem, we added a few more breakfast sandwiches.

Several other patrons came in while we were there and everyone was surprised at the number of guests - but super polite and willing to wait for service - all very understanding of the situation. I thought that was great.

When it was all said and done we had a great breakfast, casual and not rushed but not slow either. The waitress was great and did a good job keeping things moving and accomodating us. The kids loved the smoothies and the food we had was very respectable.

All in all a good stop - it would be nice to have a few more options, and to have what was on the menu available, but given the time of day and day of the week, and number of us - it went as well as we could have expected. Thanks for the nice start to the day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island_girll67, Owner at Lazy Tulip Cafe, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your review!!! You all were so nice and patient! It's true....we don't usually get walk-ins of such large groups. And how unfortunate we didn't have more of the baked french toast that day. We are sure to stay stocked on everything now.

Thanks again for coming!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Healthy and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Nice little restaurant with different breakfast, lunch suggestions. Refine ingredients, cooked with love.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A little overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Had big expectations given the high tripadvisor rank. Found the sandwiches tone fresh, but just ok. Coffee was average.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love it! Feels like home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Lazy Tulip is a terrific little find in the heart of downtown Barrie. Other reviewers have mostly said it all - it's a cozy, friendly place that feels more like home than a restaurant. Well done!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island_girll67, Owner at Lazy Tulip Cafe, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your review!!! Hope to see you again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great spot for a healthy quick lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Lunch at the Lazy Tulip Cafe is healthy and tasty; the real and fresh ingredients used always leave me feeling satisfied and never sluggish. Love the multiple fresh soups on the menu daily, and all the vegetarian/vegan options. This is a great spot to keep in mind for a quick and healthy work day lunch, service is fast and friendly, and atmosphere is casual and cozy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island_girll67, Owner at Lazy Tulip Cafe, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your review...we really do appreciate you taking the time!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Tulip Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lazy Tulip Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Tulip Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.