We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Monkeys Craft Brewery

Flying Monkeys Craft Brewery
107 Dunlop Street East, Barrie, Ontario L4M 1A6, Canada
+1 705-721-8989
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Food & Drink in Barrie
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leading Ontario's Craft Beer Revolution, the Flying Monkeys brew award-winning beers in their unique waterfront brewhouse right in Barrie’s historic downtown. Known as one of the friendliest, most hospitable tours around, experience for yourself the world of craft brewing and sample fresh local beers with the Flying Monkeys. Always FREE, the brewery is the best cheap date around!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Love love love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Every time the staff are so friendly and attentive. Each year we visit I get a new t-shirt and some beer for our vacation. Still waiting for the monkey to arrive in Kelowna BC

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Bizarre Beer, Lengthy Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I must say that the staff at Flying Monkeys is incredibly generous in their sample selection and pours. Though we found their beer not to our taste, I understand the allure.

The tour was informative, but incredibly detailed. If you're new to brewery tours, I'd recommend it, but if not, the length of their tour (90min) can wear on you. Perhaps it was the guide's keen interests that elongated the tour. It wasn't a bad thing, it just started feeling repetitious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good beer!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Sat on the patio on canada day, ambiance was lively with a live bands doing a decent job, beer was great but the heifenweisen was a bit on the hoppy side for my taste(seams to be common practice in ontario) the fruit beer all tasted good except the hibiscus one, maybe just a personal taste but... Service was pretty slow but friendly. They also have a pretty cool store inside selling t shirts and weird monkey stuff. Definitely worth a try! On the down side I would say it would be nice to have food but it's only for drinks....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 527 helpful votes
“Flying Monkeys Brewery...Just DO it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you are thinking of visiting the Flying Monkeys Craft Brewery in downtown Barrie, Just DO it!
What a wonderful place, almost magical; excellent beers, fantastic staff, clean as a whistle, free tours available, everything as it should be.
For the past 4 years my girlfriend Colleen and I have visited each Canada Day and make a ritual of sitting and enjoying 4 of their beers for only $5 bucks, awesome deal.
But more important, it's a reprieve from the hustle and bustle of the world; we sit and savour their hand-crafted delights in a blissful air-conditioned environment.
Come see how these folks have changed an old brewery into a world-class micro brewery, right in our own city!
Pictures below are from today's July 1st celebration, but do visit and make your own memories.
Cheers,
Paul

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I had been to this brewery before and was not able to take in the tour. This time I was able to take in the tour. The tour guide was informative and engaging. She knew the product well and was able to answer questions with ease. The tour is not long - about fifteen minutes or so. It provides some history of the area and some insight into the company. I would suggest showing up about a half hour before the start of the tour to take in the shop and sample beer. In all I spent about an hour there and enjoyed the experience.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Monkeys Craft Brewery also viewed

 
Horseshoe Valley, Ontario
 

Been to Flying Monkeys Craft Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Monkeys Craft Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.