We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first B@B experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clydesdale House

Clydesdale House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barrie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clydesdale House
Save
You added Clydesdale House to your Saves list
38 Burton Avenue, Barrie, Ontario L4N 2R4 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Barrie B&B and Inns
Grande Prairie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our first B@B experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Spent two nights at Clydesdale House just recently and we loved it. Room very comfortable - loved the Victorian décor and Denise and Brian are wonderful hosts. Breakfast outstanding - all around great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I have stayed at this place several time now and each visit has better than the last, the owners are friendly and welcoming, the rooms clean, well kept and cozy and the location the best in Barrie. The value is amazing for what you get and the breakfast served is delicious. Whether you are travelling with a family member, with you husband/wife or alone this is the place to go. Located within a 15 walk from downtown, 5 minute drive from the highway and right next to the GO station as well as Lake Simcoe with its many trails this is truly the best location in town, Whatever you reason for travelling to Ontario's best city, you will not be disappointed with this B&B.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms at this B&B and as someone who as stayed in all 4, I would say all a great, qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We spent a very good time at the Clydesdale House, my girlfriend and myself. Denise and her husband are a lovely couple. Their accomodation fees are low, and the food and atmosphere are very friendly. They gave us a ride to the city centre so that we could attend the "Ice and fire festival", and enjoyed describing every single miniature model of horses displayed in their house.

We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The ambiance of this beautiful century home was amazing. Furnishings and linens were lovely. Room was extremely comfortable. Better than staying in a hotel. Cost for accommodation very reasonable. Would highly recommend this beautiful B&B to family and friends…they certainly wouldn’t be disappointed. Location was great. Will definitely return. Denise & Brian were gracious hosts and thank you both for a wonderful stay. Helen Barker Calgary, AB

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was travelling on my own and being with Denise and Brian was such a heart-warming experience. Denise is an inteerior designer and everything is done with so much love and care. The breakfast was fantastic too. Denise made every wish she could possible. I can not imagine a better place for someone travelling on her own.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had such a wonderful weekend getaway at this Victorian beauty that we came back up the following weekend and have booked another weekend in August.
Denise and Brian are warm, wonderful hosts that not only welcomed us into their B&B but their home and I loved sitting with them by the fire pit and on the wrap around front porch.
Our ensuite bedroom was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Denise has thought of every little detail you would need to make your stay more comfortable from tea cups/wine glasses/mini frig in the room right down to toiletries in our private bath. The extra little touches are countless.
The breakfast Denise supplied was out of sight and plenty of it too. My partner especially loved her home made butter tarts and I appreciated the freshly brewed hot coffee and the table was so beautifully set.
This Victorian gem is located so close to Barrie's beach front board walk and biking trails that we walked them every night and morning. There are so many restaurants and pubs located just off the trail to sit and relax at.
I just can't say enough about Clydesdale House and I can't wait to get back there in August.
Joanna A.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

If you want to stay somewhere other than a big chain hotel, this is the place. The rooms are excellent, comfortable beds and all facilities. The hosts can't do enough for you. Very handy for the centre of Barrie, right next to a bus route and the lake. I stayed their for 2 weeks and thoroughly enjoyed myself. When I next go to Barrie will definitely be staying there.

Janet, Birmingham, England

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clydesdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clydesdale House

Address: 38 Burton Avenue, Barrie, Ontario L4N 2R4 , Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Barrie
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clydesdale House is a 'Victorian' dating back to 1889 located in the heart of Barrie.The house has 4 fully renovated rooms, all with satellite TV (movie channels and HBO) and wireless internet.It is situated in a four season tourist area and is within walking distance to GO Transit, downtown Barrie, and waterfront attractions including beaches, festivals, concerts, cruises, shopping, and dining.A true bed and breakfast in the heart of the city.Owner, Denise Lane, is an interior decorator, feel free to ask her for advice during your stay!Breakfast is optional and prices reflect. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clydesdale House Barrie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clydesdale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.