We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jun's Roll

Jun's Roll
55 Collier Street, Barrie, Ontario, Canada
(705) 503-5858
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 384 Restaurants in Barrie
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Chinese, Thai
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Québec
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We walked in, ordered our sushi and asked that it be ready 90 minutes later since we were going for a few pints on Dunlop. When we came back, our meal was ready and exactly as ordered. All that with a very fair price and smiles from everyone! We will go back for sure

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quality food first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Juns is a great place to eat, don't let the "diner look" distract you.

I have had many many lunches here and even a few dinners. The Sushi menu is a bit limited but they make it perfect every time. Fresh ingredients, and small things like finely chopped ginger make this place stand out. Everything just tastes so darn good. We often go for a Wednesday night dinner and for about the same price as fast food, we can have sushi, some spring rolls, edamame and a small bottle sake to boot!

Jun and his wife are wonderful hosts as well. We have also ordered party platters at Christmas and they were a huge hit.

No hesitation recommending this one at all, looks a bit funky from the outside with all the bright colours, lights etc., but the food is what makes this place a standout.

PS: I have not tried much of the Chinese side of the menu, but I see many people come in for the three choice lunch combos that look pretty good too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Our favourite place for authentic, fresh Asian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We love the food here! From the maki rolls to the Pad Thai, everything is fresh and fabulous! Great people, excellent service, very clean and welcoming! One of Barrie's best kept secrets! Try Jun's spring rolls at the Saturday morning Farmer's market. He's always there, that's how we found them! Great for families and excellent prices too!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our Families GO TO for Chinese and Sushi Take-out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Having lived in Barrie for over 5 years now, my family has tried almost all of the chinese take-out restaurants in the area. JUN'S ROLL is by far the best, and the service is always more then awesome! Highly recommend, not greasy at ALL! amazing delicious meal when you have the Chinese food Hankering! -plus add some Sushi, something for everyone!! :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Shangri-La On A Plate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

You could easily pass by Jun's without a second glance, and if you spared one you would get the distinct impression that it's the same ol' chinese takeaway shop that can be found on any corner... but you wouldn't be more wrong!

The food truly was a utopia of Asian cuisine. My husband was in the mood for tempura sushi while I was in the mood for a chicken curry, normally a problem but Jun's had us covered. The food was exactly what we'd hoped for and more.

We received wonderful and friendly service at a time when they were quite busy and I couldn't have hoped for more. It is very plain in decor and has little in the way of atmosphere but honestly, that's no loss as it's character more than makes up for it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jun's Roll also viewed

 

Been to Jun's Roll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jun's Roll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.