We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Houston Avenue Bar & Grill - Barrie

Houston Avenue Bar & Grill - Barrie
336 Bayfield Street, Barrie, Ontario L4M 3B9, Canada
+1 705-739-7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 373 Restaurants in Barrie
Price range: $25 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cundles
Description: We invite you to join us on a culinary adventure that is sure to please even the most discriminating palate. With our decidedly urban upscale vibe, you will discover a great new place to meet friends and family in style.From fabulous appetizers, innovative seafood and salads to our signature steaks and ribs, come enjoy a freshly prepared, simply delicious cuisine - all with a Houston flavour.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Have eaten at Houston's twice now, Both times ordered a Filet Mignon. Delicious ! Medium - Rare to perfection !! Service was fantastic as well !!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    26
    14
    19
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“greasy fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Everything on the menu had something to make it odd, could not order a normal steak. Our server was great but the food not so much. My fish was $12.99 and very, very greasy, the chips were cold as well. Ate it solely cause I was starving and did not want to wait any longer. Nothing normal on this menu, and cold food. Probably will not go back sorry

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Recently enjoyed a dinner here. We had the prime rib with lobster tail.

Dinner was great, very friendly staff.

It was a bit loud, but to be expected from a busy restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Well done!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Never used to go here because initially it was high priced for this town. In the last few months they have introduced wing specials, burger specials and drink specials that cater to the average person in Barrie. Food is great the waitresses on all Q and atmosphere is excellent. This is a great example of if you don't first succeed, then try something different. We now go back all the time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We've been to Houston's on quite a few occasions...the food is very good and the staff are really nice, nothing is too much trouble to them...love it!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houston Avenue Bar & Grill - Barrie also viewed

 

Been to Houston Avenue Bar & Grill - Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houston Avenue Bar & Grill - Barrie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.