We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, very clean place to stay in Barrie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Barrie

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Barrie to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   506 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6E7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice, very clean place to stay in Barrie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Holiday Inn Express was as pleasant as any chain lodging we have stayed. It was very clean and the staff was helpful and courteous throughout our stay. If you are in Barrie, I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    33
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
30
19
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed here for the weekend and were very impressed by the cleanliness and quality of service. We usually stay at the other holiday inn that is in Barrie but opted for this one as the other had no rooms available that weekend. We loved the fact that it was not noisy at all and were able to get a decent sleep! I would come back to this property and recommended it to others looking for a quiet nights sleep

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
It is great to receive such positive feedback from our guests. We are pleased you were able to stay at our location and had a great weekend stay. We hope you will continue to choose the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie for all of your upcoming travel to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Falls, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I recently had the chance to spend the night at this hotel. From the moment that i walked in till the moment that i checked out i was greeted by very friendly knowledgeable staff.
The hotel is very clean & my room was perfect & i had the best sleep ever in a hotel it was so quiet & the bed was very comfortable.
Whoever is running this hotel should feel very lucky that they have hand picked some of the friendliest people that really appear to enjoy their job
I would totally recommend this hotel just on my findings but for anyone not familiar with the area there is a great deal to do in the Barrie area this great hotel , great variety of restaurants & indoor & outdoor activities. this hotel is very easy to find & close enough to the 400 hwy to make that handy as well
would stay there again for sure

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
It is always rewarding to receive such great feedback from our guests! We believe we have assembled an amazing team and your comments confirm we are on the right track! We are happy to know you found your guestroom to be a perfect fit for you and had the best sleep ever in a hotel!

We agree that our location is one of the best in the city and pleased you enjoyed the variety of restaurants and activities near our hotel. Thank you for recommending the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie! We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at the hotel July 18th for one night. It was just off the 400 within walking distance of shops and restaurants....and The Sweet Oven Bakery...which has the best butter tarts around!

Check-in was fast and efficient. The woman who checked us in was very friendly. We were pleasantly surprised with our room, which had one queen bed and TV on the far side of room, and a sitting area with a double sofa bed when you first walked in. The two "rooms" were separated by a bathroom and an area with a microwave, small fridge and sink. All the comforts of home! We used the pool while we were there. While it was small, it was very clean and both it and the hot tub were perfect temperatures. We would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your experience at our property! Many of our guests appreciate the location and being able to walk to restaurants and shopping in the area! We would agree the Sweet Oven Bakery makes awesome butter tarts and glad you had an opportunity to sample them!!!!!

The Holiday Inn Express & Suites has a great team and we are happy to know you found them to be fast and efficient! Thank you for your kind remarks and we are happy to know you had all of the comforts of home! We look forward to your next visit to Barrie and serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This Hotel is so close to the 400 highway in Barrie, it makes for a fast getaway. Located on a busy big box road it might seem that this property would be noisy. Not so!

We arrived back to the hotel after a wedding so it was nearly 1 am. There was some sort of bar across the road and walking from the car I could hear the music. Once inside the hotel, and we were on the ground floor this time, we could not hear a thing. This is a very Quiet hotel. On the ground floor, just down from the pool, and vending machines, and the great room, nothing. Not a sound.

Actually slept in a bit, and I never do that.

Attentive Front counter staff, knew that we had called ahead looking for an early check-in, and accommodated us with that. Efficient, and everybody know what they were doing. Never once did i see or hear a hesitation as people do when they are not sure of something.

We were recognized when we returned at night. I don't usually check out formally any longer, but as I was walking past the front desk I stated our room number and "We are out." Without even missing a beat on what the front counter person was doing, she gave me the thumbs up, a smile, and a wave. She was still explaining a destination to another client, but I could see she jotted down the room number for processing when she was finished with the client in front of her. Just truly efficient and smart.

We only had Coffee but the great room for breakfast was clean and orderly.

Definitely stay there if in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Taking the time to share your wonderful comments is greatly appreciated! Many guests enjoy our popular location within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and entertainment. It is great to know that you found our property to be quiet and you enjoyed a restful sleep! Thank you for your remarks about our staff being both efficient and smart as we will be sure to share that with our front desk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on business for 10 days in total. Very good Housekeeping (Very clean and thorough), good free breakfast in the morning, fresh fruit and coffee available all day. Nice but small pool and nice hot tube. Made my stay a pleasant one. Highly recommended for hotels in the Barrie/Borden/Angus area!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for highly recommending the Holiday Inn Express & Suites for visitors to Barrie and surrounding area! We will be sure to share your wonderful comments with our Housekeeping Team and the quality of work they deliver! It is great to receive such positive feedback and we are pleased you were able to use the pool and hot tub as well as enjoy our Hot Express Start Breakfast. We hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Location is close to the 400 with a lot of restaurants and a mall within walking distance. Rooms could use a bit of updating but were clean enough and comfortable. It was a bit noisy but nothing disturbing.
The pool is small, so no laps, but there is a little hot tub which is nice. Breakfast is typical for a HI so no surprises. If in Barrie, would choose this location over the other HI.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We will be doing upgrades in the near future and are looking forward to making those changes for our guests! Many of our guests will agree, we have an excellent location with easy access to Hwy 400 and to both restaurants and shopping within walking distance. We welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Barrie

Address: 506 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Barrie 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Superior Comfort in Barrie, Ontario For the comfort and amenities you deserve, reserve a room at the pet - friendly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Barrie, Ontario. Our hotel is convenient to Highway 400 to keep you connected to the attractions and businesses of downtown Barrie. Lodging here puts you minutes from exciting attractions, like a Colts game at the Barrie Molson Centre or a shopping trip Park Place, Tanger Outlets or to the 400 Market. For an exciting night out, you can visit one of the restaurants or other entertainment in the area or ask us about our free gaming package! In Barrie, you'll also find numerous outdoor attractions, such as the Georgian Downs Racetrack or fishing at Lake Simcoe. Are you traveling on business to Barrie, Ontario? Our hotel is convenient to many corporations, such as Mueller Canada Inc., Canplas Industries Ltd., Royal Victoria Hospital, Georgian College, YOM, Wolf Steel, and Can-Save. You are invited to use the computer and copy, fax and print services in the 24-hour Business Centre near our hotel's lobby. Barrie, Ontario's growing tourism calls for a versatile hotel like ours. We meet the needs of travelers by offering spacious rooms and with triple-sheeted bedding, microwaves, mini-fridges, Flat Screen Televisions and work areas with free high-speed Internet access to keep you connected while traveling in Barrie. Our hotel's Fitness Ctr, indoor pool and whirlpool ensure that you'll enjoy a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Hotel Barrie
Holiday Inn Barrie
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Barrie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;