We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Barrie

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Barrie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   506 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6E7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Barrie
Smiths Falls, Canada
1 review
“Great stay with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I recently had the chance to spend the night at this hotel. From the moment that i walked in till the moment that i checked out i was greeted by very friendly knowledgeable staff.
The hotel is very clean & my room was perfect & i had the best sleep ever in a hotel it was so quiet & the bed was very comfortable.
Whoever is running this hotel should feel very lucky that they have hand picked some of the friendliest people that really appear to enjoy their job
I would totally recommend this hotel just on my findings but for anyone not familiar with the area there is a great deal to do in the Barrie area this great hotel , great variety of restaurants & indoor & outdoor activities. this hotel is very easy to find & close enough to the 400 hwy to make that handy as well
would stay there again for sure

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, today
It is always rewarding to receive such great feedback from our guests! We believe we have assembled an amazing team and your comments confirm we are on the right track! We are happy to know you found your guestroom to be a perfect fit for you and had the best sleep ever in a hotel!

We agree that our location is one of the best in the city and pleased you enjoyed the variety of restaurants and activities near our hotel. Thank you for recommending the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie! We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
30
17
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the hotel July 18th for one night. It was just off the 400 within walking distance of shops and restaurants....and The Sweet Oven Bakery...which has the best butter tarts around!

Check-in was fast and efficient. The woman who checked us in was very friendly. We were pleasantly surprised with our room, which had one queen bed and TV on the far side of room, and a sitting area with a double sofa bed when you first walked in. The two "rooms" were separated by a bathroom and an area with a microwave, small fridge and sink. All the comforts of home! We used the pool while we were there. While it was small, it was very clean and both it and the hot tub were perfect temperatures. We would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, yesterday
We are pleased you enjoyed your experience at our property! Many of our guests appreciate the location and being able to walk to restaurants and shopping in the area! We would agree the Sweet Oven Bakery makes awesome butter tarts and glad you had an opportunity to sample them!!!!!

The Holiday Inn Express & Suites has a great team and we are happy to know you found them to be fast and efficient! Thank you for your kind remarks and we are happy to know you had all of the comforts of home! We look forward to your next visit to Barrie and serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Hotel is so close to the 400 highway in Barrie, it makes for a fast getaway. Located on a busy big box road it might seem that this property would be noisy. Not so!

We arrived back to the hotel after a wedding so it was nearly 1 am. There was some sort of bar across the road and walking from the car I could hear the music. Once inside the hotel, and we were on the ground floor this time, we could not hear a thing. This is a very Quiet hotel. On the ground floor, just down from the pool, and vending machines, and the great room, nothing. Not a sound.

Actually slept in a bit, and I never do that.

Attentive Front counter staff, knew that we had called ahead looking for an early check-in, and accommodated us with that. Efficient, and everybody know what they were doing. Never once did i see or hear a hesitation as people do when they are not sure of something.

We were recognized when we returned at night. I don't usually check out formally any longer, but as I was walking past the front desk I stated our room number and "We are out." Without even missing a beat on what the front counter person was doing, she gave me the thumbs up, a smile, and a wave. She was still explaining a destination to another client, but I could see she jotted down the room number for processing when she was finished with the client in front of her. Just truly efficient and smart.

We only had Coffee but the great room for breakfast was clean and orderly.

Definitely stay there if in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Taking the time to share your wonderful comments is greatly appreciated! Many guests enjoy our popular location within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and entertainment. It is great to know that you found our property to be quiet and you enjoyed a restful sleep! Thank you for your remarks about our staff being both efficient and smart as we will be sure to share that with our front desk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel on business for 10 days in total. Very good Housekeeping (Very clean and thorough), good free breakfast in the morning, fresh fruit and coffee available all day. Nice but small pool and nice hot tube. Made my stay a pleasant one. Highly recommended for hotels in the Barrie/Borden/Angus area!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for highly recommending the Holiday Inn Express & Suites for visitors to Barrie and surrounding area! We will be sure to share your wonderful comments with our Housekeeping Team and the quality of work they deliver! It is great to receive such positive feedback and we are pleased you were able to use the pool and hot tub as well as enjoy our Hot Express Start Breakfast. We hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location is close to the 400 with a lot of restaurants and a mall within walking distance. Rooms could use a bit of updating but were clean enough and comfortable. It was a bit noisy but nothing disturbing.
The pool is small, so no laps, but there is a little hot tub which is nice. Breakfast is typical for a HI so no surprises. If in Barrie, would choose this location over the other HI.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We will be doing upgrades in the near future and are looking forward to making those changes for our guests! Many of our guests will agree, we have an excellent location with easy access to Hwy 400 and to both restaurants and shopping within walking distance. We welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here last week on a Friday night. On the surface the hotel was fine and easy to find off the 400 highway. Breakfast was typical if a HIE. There are quite a few restaurants nearby to choose from too.

Late at night (after midnight) the hotel got very noisy - people running down the halls, yelling in rooms, etc. The walls are paper thin so you heard everything upstairs, downstairs and in between. Although I heard at least one person ask for the individuals concerned to quiet down this did not happen. I am not sure if Management intervened. This did not make for a restful sleep. I understand this could happen at any hotel but ....

The rooms were a good size and generally well kept. My only negative comment here is that the bathroom could use some upgrading. There were some signs of corrosion and the fixtures were quite old.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Your comments and feedback are very important to us. We do apologize for the inconvenience your experienced with the noisy guests at the hotel. Guests had returned from a wedding reception and Guest Services addressed these people immediately. Although Guest Services do their best to ensure policies are being followed, we appreciate that this area may benefit from additional attention. We are happy you were pleased with the size and the cleanliness of your guestroom. We will be doing upgrades in the near future and are excited to be making those changes for our guests. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The staff at this location were great from Cindy the Manager and also Jill. The rooms were very clean and also the beds were great. !!! Keep up the great job as I will be returning very soon to stay at this location.

Thanks again for doing a great job !!

Room Tip: Just great service !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
It is very rewarding to receive such positive feedback. We have taken great care to build a caring team at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our beds to be great! We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Barrie

Address: 506 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Barrie 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Superior Comfort in Barrie, Ontario For the comfort and amenities you deserve, reserve a room at the pet - friendly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Barrie, Ontario. Our hotel is convenient to Highway 400 to keep you connected to the attractions and businesses of downtown Barrie. Lodging here puts you minutes from exciting attractions, like a Colts game at the Barrie Molson Centre or a shopping trip Park Place, Tanger Outlets or to the 400 Market. For an exciting night out, you can visit one of the restaurants or other entertainment in the area or ask us about our free gaming package! In Barrie, you'll also find numerous outdoor attractions, such as the Georgian Downs Racetrack or fishing at Lake Simcoe. Are you traveling on business to Barrie, Ontario? Our hotel is convenient to many corporations, such as Mueller Canada Inc., Canplas Industries Ltd., Royal Victoria Hospital, Georgian College, YOM, Wolf Steel, and Can-Save. You are invited to use the computer and copy, fax and print services in the 24-hour Business Centre near our hotel's lobby. Barrie, Ontario's growing tourism calls for a versatile hotel like ours. We meet the needs of travelers by offering spacious rooms and with triple-sheeted bedding, microwaves, mini-fridges, Flat Screen Televisions and work areas with free high-speed Internet access to keep you connected while traveling in Barrie. Our hotel's Fitness Ctr, indoor pool and whirlpool ensure that you'll enjoy a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Hotel Barrie
Holiday Inn Barrie
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Barrie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.