We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Barrie

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Barrie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   506 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6E7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Barrie
Toronto
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Business trip accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Good, spacious room, close to restaurants and entertainment venues like movie theatres, etc. Typical Holiday inn express good for business travelers on the go. Nothing fancy, but decent accommodation. Breakfast is typical usually included in the package.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Theerikroq,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your overall experience with us. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Barrie.

Regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
29
17
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

No Marriott's in Barrie ON CA. So have to go with Holiday Inn. Tried the holiday Inn Barrie. Is really just OK with level of guest service, rooms for a full service.Tried the Holiday Inn express, hoping this would be new/nicer; to my disappointment, this was even worse. The only nicer option in this area is The Hampton Inn, if you're planning to visit Barrie.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear VirenHM,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is regrettable to see you did not fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Enjoyed our stay, good value, hot tub chemicals were off ~ changed the girls bathing suits from pink to purple! A little wear and tear on the rooms but very clean and one of the best hotel buffet breakfasts I've been to. Convenient location, walking distance to movies, shopping and lots of restaurants. Short drive to #400 and Barrie Molson Centre.

Room Tip: Our room showed signs of wear and tear, but was very clean. We were on the second floor, so parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding our property! Many of our guests appreciate the location of our property as we are walking distance to restaurants, shopping and entertainment. We do our best to offer superior service and great value! Thank you for saying we are the BEST hotel buffet breakfast as we agree that everyone loves our Hot Express Start Breakfast that is complimentary to our guests. We look forward to your next visit to Barrie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Attention: Hotel GM - Room 215 has a needlessly dirty window with multiple head smudge marks and nasal phlegm pieces from a past guest - yech! Check out the bathroom for a green ooze stain on back of the toilet stack. There are hairs short and long therefore from at least 2 other guests in the corners at both ends of the bath - yech again.

Peter your FD agent was a breath of fresh air at check in, room quiet and the A/C unit not overly noisy.

Not all HIE's are created equally - I will not return to this location but gladly will to others I have preferably used in the past

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding our property. We apologize you were not happy with the cleanliness of your guestroom. We have spoken with our Housekeeping Supervisor to ensure your concerns are immediately addressed. We pride ourselves on offering guests a clean and comfortable stay with us.

We appreciate your comments regarding our Fronk Desk staff and will be happy to share your remarks with him. We hope you will take the opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lefroy, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a great room! As entertainment and VP director,of a fesival, it was up to me to find a suite for the Ambassador and his wife. They loved it! They talked about the comfort, and the warm reception they got at the desk. As a matter of fact, they stayed there this year, also, as they loved it the first time.
I was very impressed with the suite, and all the rooms there, as I had to check out different hotels for him and his wife. This hotel won, by a long shot. The beds were amazing, so comfortable, and double sheeted, with a choice of pillows, from soft to firm, depending on what you prefer. Big hallways with lots of light and lovely! Close to everything, restaurants, shops, movie theatre, and the 400 highway is close by. I will be sending people there from now on!

Room Tip: I checked out a few rooms, they are all quiet. The nice thing is its proximity to everything! I che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
It is always a pleasure to have the Ambassador and his wife stay with us! We enjoy their visit each year! Thank you for the wonderful comments about our great staff and amenities! We greatly appreciate your remarks and continuing to recommend us! We look forward to your next event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Fast check-in to a clean room. Even received an adjoining room with the couple we
were with. Good choice for breakfast and it is included in the price of the room.

Agree with another poster that the bathroom is too small. Can barely get in there to shut the door, never mind think of having 2 people in there @ once eg one in shower one brushing their teeth, if pushed for time.

All in all really no complaints, just that small comment.

The price was right for what we received :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments as we value your input! We will be sure to share your comments with our staff about their efficiency during check in. We are pleased you enjoyed the adjoining room and felt you received great value while staying with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Room with separate queen well worth the money with kids. Bathroom dated and could be cleaner otherwise room and linens clean. Good breakfast. Excellent location in commercial district, close to highway 400 many restaurant chains, big box stores and movies. Pool just big enough to cool off and allow kids some fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your comments abour our property! The suite with the extra bedroom is a favourite with families and we are delighted you enjoyed it for your kids! Thank you for your input regarding our washrooms as we will be making upgrades in the near future. It sounds like your family enjoyed the pool and the convenient location of the hotel to all of the restaurants in the area. We welcome your family back to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites on your next visit to Barrie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Barrie

Address: 506 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Barrie 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Superior Comfort in Barrie, Ontario For the comfort and amenities you deserve, reserve a room at the pet - friendly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Barrie, Ontario. Our hotel is convenient to Highway 400 to keep you connected to the attractions and businesses of downtown Barrie. Lodging here puts you minutes from exciting attractions, like a Colts game at the Barrie Molson Centre or a shopping trip Park Place, Tanger Outlets or to the 400 Market. For an exciting night out, you can visit one of the restaurants or other entertainment in the area or ask us about our free gaming package! In Barrie, you'll also find numerous outdoor attractions, such as the Georgian Downs Racetrack or fishing at Lake Simcoe. Are you traveling on business to Barrie, Ontario? Our hotel is convenient to many corporations, such as Mueller Canada Inc., Canplas Industries Ltd., Royal Victoria Hospital, Georgian College, YOM, Wolf Steel, and Can-Save. You are invited to use the computer and copy, fax and print services in the 24-hour Business Centre near our hotel's lobby. Barrie, Ontario's growing tourism calls for a versatile hotel like ours. We meet the needs of travelers by offering spacious rooms and with triple-sheeted bedding, microwaves, mini-fridges, Flat Screen Televisions and work areas with free high-speed Internet access to keep you connected while traveling in Barrie. Our hotel's Fitness Ctr, indoor pool and whirlpool ensure that you'll enjoy a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Hotel Barrie
Holiday Inn Barrie
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Barrie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.