We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Barrie

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Barrie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   506 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6E7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Barrie
Sudbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ski Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute because we had a change in plans. Great location. Front desk staff were helpful with directions.

Generally speaking, though, if a hotel room is clean, the bed is reasonably comfy, and the tv works, I'm happy. Folks that complain about stained carpets and noise in the hallways are unrealistic.....hello, it's a hotel!!!!!

Anyway, we loved this hotel and would returen.

Room Tip: If you have kids and can afford it, get a room with the second queen bed in the separate room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your great comments! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Many of our guests appreciate our great location for shopping, a variety of restaurants and easy access to Hwy #400. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    29
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
16
2
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Expedia and Super 8 had a miscommunication which left us without a room even though it was paid form confirmed with numbers and shown on credit card statements (The night portion). Holiday Express (which is the day portion of this review to be written shortly), and they accommodated us with cordiality and flexibility. The staff at the Holiday Inn were pleasant and kind enough to offer us a very nice room. They were keen to assist us after being so mistreated at the super 8 down the street. I recommend this hotel to people who like to be treated nicely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to share your wonderful comments about the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We will definitely pass along your comments to our staff. We strive to give all of our guests exceptional service and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel is great, the customer service personnel are friendly and will do anything they need to do to make your stay pleasurable. The breakfast is great and has a wide variety of selections. The pool is nice. The rooms and spacious and clean. Will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Your comments are appreciated! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. Our Hot Express Start Breakfast is complimentary and a favourite for our guests. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on December 15th to visit family for an early Christmas dinner. Wonderful staff on check in, made us feel very welcome. Great location and will recommend to all of our friends.

Room Tip: King with living room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your last family visit to Barrie. We do our best to ensure all of our guests receive the best possible service. Our guests love our convenient location and we appreciate you recommending our property to your friends. We will be sure to share your comments with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lively, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were recently in Barrie for a hockey tournament and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. The custormer service was superior. The staff was courteous and friendly. The rooms were clean. The hot breakfast was perfect for our players and parents. In the evening, the staff put of signs requesting that guests be quiet in the hallways. By 10 pm all was quiet. Great weekend. We'll definately staff at the Holiday Inn Express again. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your review reflects our staff's dedication to providing excellent service to our guests. We are happy you were pleased with the guestrooms and our Hot Express Start Breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Barrie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was in Barrie to visit family and decided to stay at this Holiday Inn and was pretty happy. I thought the "Express" was a different type of Holiday Inn, but it turned out to be really fresh and clean and very quiet. So quiet I did not hear anything even though there was some wedding party of some type of group staying, I would recommend it and found the beds prefect for sleeping. (Sometimes hotels can differ from each other, but this one has really good beds). When I asked for directions around Barrie the staff were very helpful and even found me some brochures and map to help. Maybe it was a routine kind of things, but way better service.. And the breakfast was excellent too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding our property and great staff. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and found us to be fresh, clean and quiet. Our comfortable beds and Hot Express Start Breakfast are often favourites with our guests. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just wanted to make a note of how much I enjoyed my past weekend at this hotel. I don't typically write reviews, but that's how much I enjoyed my stay. The staff was very accommodating and flexible. The breakfast was delicious and the location was central to many local stores/restaurants.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Barrie.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We appreciate hearing your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. Many guests find our location to be a great bonus! We are close to shopping, restaurants, entertainment and much more! Our Hot Express Start Breakfast is a great way to start the day and we will definately pass your comments onto our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Barrie

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Hotel Barrie
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Hotel
Holiday Inn Barrie
Barrie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Ontario
Address: 506 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Barrie 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Superior Comfort in Barrie, Ontario For the comfort and amenities you deserve, reserve a room at the pet - friendly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Barrie, Ontario. Our hotel is convenient to Highway 400 to keep you connected to the attractions and businesses of downtown Barrie. Lodging here puts you minutes from exciting attractions, like a Colts game at the Barrie Molson Centre or a shopping trip Park Place, Tanger Outlets or to the 400 Market. For an exciting night out, you can visit one of the restaurants or other entertainment in the area or ask us about our free gaming package! In Barrie, you'll also find numerous outdoor attractions, such as the Georgian Downs Racetrack or fishing at Lake Simcoe. Are you traveling on business to Barrie, Ontario? Our hotel is convenient to many corporations, such as Mueller Canada Inc., Canplas Industries Ltd., Royal Victoria Hospital, Georgian College, YOM, Wolf Steel, and Can-Save. You are invited to use the computer and copy, fax and print services in the 24-hour Business Centre near our hotel's lobby. Barrie, Ontario's growing tourism calls for a versatile hotel like ours. We meet the needs of travelers by offering spacious rooms and with triple-sheeted bedding, microwaves, mini-fridges, Flat Screen Televisions and work areas with free high-speed Internet access to keep you connected while traveling in Barrie. Our hotel's Fitness Ctr, indoor pool and whirlpool ensure that you'll enjoy a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Barrie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.