We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Barrie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Barrie to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   506 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6E7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cozy Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel is great, the customer service personnel are friendly and will do anything they need to do to make your stay pleasurable. The breakfast is great and has a wide variety of selections. The pool is nice. The rooms and spacious and clean. Will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Your comments are appreciated! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. Our Hot Express Start Breakfast is complimentary and a favourite for our guests. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    33
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
30
19
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on December 15th to visit family for an early Christmas dinner. Wonderful staff on check in, made us feel very welcome. Great location and will recommend to all of our friends.

Room Tip: King with living room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your last family visit to Barrie. We do our best to ensure all of our guests receive the best possible service. Our guests love our convenient location and we appreciate you recommending our property to your friends. We will be sure to share your comments with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were recently in Barrie for a hockey tournament and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. The custormer service was superior. The staff was courteous and friendly. The rooms were clean. The hot breakfast was perfect for our players and parents. In the evening, the staff put of signs requesting that guests be quiet in the hallways. By 10 pm all was quiet. Great weekend. We'll definately staff at the Holiday Inn Express again. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your review reflects our staff's dedication to providing excellent service to our guests. We are happy you were pleased with the guestrooms and our Hot Express Start Breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Barrie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was in Barrie to visit family and decided to stay at this Holiday Inn and was pretty happy. I thought the "Express" was a different type of Holiday Inn, but it turned out to be really fresh and clean and very quiet. So quiet I did not hear anything even though there was some wedding party of some type of group staying, I would recommend it and found the beds prefect for sleeping. (Sometimes hotels can differ from each other, but this one has really good beds). When I asked for directions around Barrie the staff were very helpful and even found me some brochures and map to help. Maybe it was a routine kind of things, but way better service.. And the breakfast was excellent too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding our property and great staff. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and found us to be fresh, clean and quiet. Our comfortable beds and Hot Express Start Breakfast are often favourites with our guests. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just wanted to make a note of how much I enjoyed my past weekend at this hotel. I don't typically write reviews, but that's how much I enjoyed my stay. The staff was very accommodating and flexible. The breakfast was delicious and the location was central to many local stores/restaurants.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Barrie.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We appreciate hearing your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. Many guests find our location to be a great bonus! We are close to shopping, restaurants, entertainment and much more! Our Hot Express Start Breakfast is a great way to start the day and we will definately pass your comments onto our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My son's hockey team and parents enjoyed a two night stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Barrie. We were greeted by competant, courteous staff and were able to check in a bit early to accomodate our schedule. I was happy to see how close the hotel was to Hwy 400, made our travel time to and from games much more predictable.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, spacious enough to handle our bags & hockey gear. My kids loved the beds and the pillows!! And for once the room was not too hot. The boys enjoyed the pool/hot tub area very much. Although their mini stick games were shut down right away by hotel staff, they were respectful and in turn so were we.

I was impressed by the breakfast buffet, I usually pass on it but went there just before they closed @ 10:00am and found it still stocked with both hot and cold food choices.

All in all a very pleasant stay! We hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments with us. Our ultimate goal is to ensure a great experience for all of our guests. We look forward to seeing your team again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the worst place to stay in Barrie.

Check trip advisor for videos we are up loading this week. They will show dogs barking in hotel stairwell at 630am, 15 pre teens being watched by one adult who sits and does nothing as they are throwing each other over a hot tub wall into the pool, one kid tosses his shoes in the pool to clean them then precedes to do cannon balls on top of girl. Hotel has a policy listed as per how many people allowed in the area for safety and they have a camera in the pool area. ;



Since the hotel ignores their own policy and has a camera in the area seeing what is going on..if someone gets hurt, is the hotel liable???



The best one is the picture of one room with 20 plus kids in it having a party while chaperone's go out for dinner. These kids head back to the pool and hit the emergency button on purpose as filmed by other visiting kids not involved with these out of control hockey kids.



Yeah fun doesn't stop there, each breakfast is outrageous as parents fill there bags with bagels muffins and hot choc packages leaving the other hotel guest with scraps.


The best part is..when a patron complains of the noise, kids running up and down the halls and stairs the hotel says its a hockey town can't do much! But hey, if you yells down the hall for the kids to stop fooling around on the stairs before someone gets hurt the hotel and hockey people threaten to call the police on you!

Follow this close as we have compiled 8 videos AND over 40 pictures of this 3 day fiasco!

We will also post the letter from the manager ken who was not concerned enough to stop by and see how his hotel was being abused but was quick to point out that one guest made a kid cry as he yelled down the stairs for the kids to stop fooling around before someone got hurt

We have cancelled our corporate account with them and will continue to update trip advisor and the hotels web site until the manager sends us am apology and refunds the 6 nights that combined we stayed.



We are forwarding all of our information, videos, pictures and letter to the Holiday Inn corporate offices, the Oakville hockey teams,(as we are sure they will be interested in seeing how their children are being looked after), trip advisor and the local Barrie media.

Holiday Inn express....you have decided to blow off the wrong group of people

Room Tip: go to any other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We received your comments and felt it was important to address some of your concerns. We are sorry to hear that your last visit was not enjoyable at our property. We do our best to ensure all of our guests are satisfied.

Barrie has a number of sporting events that take place over weekends throughout the year and all properties do accept teams for these events. During these weekends our property is busy and our staff does their best to have groups follow our policies and procedures. We understand during the day there is more traffic as teams need to come and go to their games based on their schedules. We do find that the majority of the groups staying with us are very respectful of the other guests in the property. We hope our other guests are also respectful to the families traveling as a team. Should a situation occur, we require our hotel staff to be made aware so we can rectify the situation; we do not endorse any guests taking on this responsibility.

We do our best to always monitor the situation. As with most hotels, we have signs posted in our swimming pool area that include health regulations, caution pool is unsupervised, no lifeguard on duty, swim at own risk and small children must be accompanied by an adult.

Our Hot Express Start Breakfast is served each morning and is very popular with our guests. We have 2 attendants on duty to help anyone requiring assistance and to ensure the breakfast is kept refilled for our guests. We also have trays available should our guests prefer to enjoy breakfast in their guestroom.

Our hotel is pet friendly and we also have policies in place for these guests. As always, we will continue to provide the best customer service possible to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Barrie

Address: 506 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Superior Comfort in Barrie, Ontario For the comfort and amenities you deserve, reserve a room at the pet - friendly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Barrie, Ontario. Our hotel is convenient to Highway 400 to keep you connected to the attractions and businesses of downtown Barrie. Lodging here puts you minutes from exciting attractions, like a Colts game at the Barrie Molson Centre or a shopping trip Park Place, Tanger Outlets or to the 400 Market. For an exciting night out, you can visit one of the restaurants or other entertainment in the area or ask us about our free gaming package! In Barrie, you'll also find numerous outdoor attractions, such as the Georgian Downs Racetrack or fishing at Lake Simcoe. Are you traveling on business to Barrie, Ontario? Our hotel is convenient to many corporations, such as Mueller Canada Inc., Canplas Industries Ltd., Royal Victoria Hospital, Georgian College, YOM, Wolf Steel, and Can-Save. You are invited to use the computer and copy, fax and print services in the 24-hour Business Centre near our hotel's lobby. Barrie, Ontario's growing tourism calls for a versatile hotel like ours. We meet the needs of travelers by offering spacious rooms and with triple-sheeted bedding, microwaves, mini-fridges, Flat Screen Televisions and work areas with free high-speed Internet access to keep you connected while traveling in Barrie. Our hotel's Fitness Ctr, indoor pool and whirlpool ensure that you'll enjoy a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Hotel Barrie
Holiday Inn Barrie
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Barrie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;