We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Barrie

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Barrie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   506 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6E7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Barrie
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“Enjoyed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just wanted to make a note of how much I enjoyed my past weekend at this hotel. I don't typically write reviews, but that's how much I enjoyed my stay. The staff was very accommodating and flexible. The breakfast was delicious and the location was central to many local stores/restaurants.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Barrie.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We appreciate hearing your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. Many guests find our location to be a great bonus! We are close to shopping, restaurants, entertainment and much more! Our Hot Express Start Breakfast is a great way to start the day and we will definately pass your comments onto our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    30
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
29
16
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My son's hockey team and parents enjoyed a two night stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Barrie. We were greeted by competant, courteous staff and were able to check in a bit early to accomodate our schedule. I was happy to see how close the hotel was to Hwy 400, made our travel time to and from games much more predictable.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, spacious enough to handle our bags & hockey gear. My kids loved the beds and the pillows!! And for once the room was not too hot. The boys enjoyed the pool/hot tub area very much. Although their mini stick games were shut down right away by hotel staff, they were respectful and in turn so were we.

I was impressed by the breakfast buffet, I usually pass on it but went there just before they closed @ 10:00am and found it still stocked with both hot and cold food choices.

All in all a very pleasant stay! We hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments with us. Our ultimate goal is to ensure a great experience for all of our guests. We look forward to seeing your team again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the worst place to stay in Barrie.

Check trip advisor for videos we are up loading this week. They will show dogs barking in hotel stairwell at 630am, 15 pre teens being watched by one adult who sits and does nothing as they are throwing each other over a hot tub wall into the pool, one kid tosses his shoes in the pool to clean them then precedes to do cannon balls on top of girl. Hotel has a policy listed as per how many people allowed in the area for safety and they have a camera in the pool area. ;



Since the hotel ignores their own policy and has a camera in the area seeing what is going on..if someone gets hurt, is the hotel liable???



The best one is the picture of one room with 20 plus kids in it having a party while chaperone's go out for dinner. These kids head back to the pool and hit the emergency button on purpose as filmed by other visiting kids not involved with these out of control hockey kids.



Yeah fun doesn't stop there, each breakfast is outrageous as parents fill there bags with bagels muffins and hot choc packages leaving the other hotel guest with scraps.


The best part is..when a patron complains of the noise, kids running up and down the halls and stairs the hotel says its a hockey town can't do much! But hey, if you yells down the hall for the kids to stop fooling around on the stairs before someone gets hurt the hotel and hockey people threaten to call the police on you!

Follow this close as we have compiled 8 videos AND over 40 pictures of this 3 day fiasco!

We will also post the letter from the manager ken who was not concerned enough to stop by and see how his hotel was being abused but was quick to point out that one guest made a kid cry as he yelled down the stairs for the kids to stop fooling around before someone got hurt

We have cancelled our corporate account with them and will continue to update trip advisor and the hotels web site until the manager sends us am apology and refunds the 6 nights that combined we stayed.



We are forwarding all of our information, videos, pictures and letter to the Holiday Inn corporate offices, the Oakville hockey teams,(as we are sure they will be interested in seeing how their children are being looked after), trip advisor and the local Barrie media.

Holiday Inn express....you have decided to blow off the wrong group of people

Room Tip: go to any other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We received your comments and felt it was important to address some of your concerns. We are sorry to hear that your last visit was not enjoyable at our property. We do our best to ensure all of our guests are satisfied.

Barrie has a number of sporting events that take place over weekends throughout the year and all properties do accept teams for these events. During these weekends our property is busy and our staff does their best to have groups follow our policies and procedures. We understand during the day there is more traffic as teams need to come and go to their games based on their schedules. We do find that the majority of the groups staying with us are very respectful of the other guests in the property. We hope our other guests are also respectful to the families traveling as a team. Should a situation occur, we require our hotel staff to be made aware so we can rectify the situation; we do not endorse any guests taking on this responsibility.

We do our best to always monitor the situation. As with most hotels, we have signs posted in our swimming pool area that include health regulations, caution pool is unsupervised, no lifeguard on duty, swim at own risk and small children must be accompanied by an adult.

Our Hot Express Start Breakfast is served each morning and is very popular with our guests. We have 2 attendants on duty to help anyone requiring assistance and to ensure the breakfast is kept refilled for our guests. We also have trays available should our guests prefer to enjoy breakfast in their guestroom.

Our hotel is pet friendly and we also have policies in place for these guests. As always, we will continue to provide the best customer service possible to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Barrie a couple of weeks ago. The hotel was nice. The staff was very courteous. There were quite a few choices for breakfast, and everything that I tried was very good. The room was clean and up to date.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Since we had had such a good experience at the Hampton Inn in North Bay, I was hoping to go there when we went to Barrie. Since there was a group that took the last rooms at the almost last minute, I had to find another hotel---so I decided to ended up picking out the Holiday Inn Express in Barrie. It was really nice to see the continuous smiles and friendliness of EVERY single girl that was at the front desk during our stay---this really made the stay even more comfortable as one always felt at ease with these very personable people. These girls, along with the nice young waiter I commented on at Jack Astor's restaurant (which is also very close to this hotel), really left us with a good impression of Barrie and its people.

The hotel itself was pretty nice. We enjoyed the free breakfast (I was just a little disappointed to see that there was not a waffle maker---mind you, there is a pancake one). I was impressed how they had girls always sitting near and often cleaning the breakfast area. The pool and hot tub were also nice, although the pool was pretty small and it really wasn't that relaxing to be swimming and have everybody who was coming and going at the elevator often looking in at the people swimming (the pool and hot tub can all be seen when you go or leave the elevator through the bare windows that show the entire swimming and hot tub area). The location of this hotel is pretty good----you are around a lot of shopping and restaurants---Walmart, Jack Astor's, William's Coffee Pub (which is just across from the hotel, Michael's, The Source, Home Outfitters are just a few of the many places that are within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I spent a short time at the hotel and thought it was well run and friendly. The staff were attentive and helpful at all times. The food was excellent and well presented. I would recommend this hotel to friends and would return myself.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANATA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Once again another great experience at the Holiday Inn Express. Clean, comfortable and a great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Barrie

Address: 506 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Barrie 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Superior Comfort in Barrie, Ontario For the comfort and amenities you deserve, reserve a room at the pet - friendly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Barrie, Ontario. Our hotel is convenient to Highway 400 to keep you connected to the attractions and businesses of downtown Barrie. Lodging here puts you minutes from exciting attractions, like a Colts game at the Barrie Molson Centre or a shopping trip Park Place, Tanger Outlets or to the 400 Market. For an exciting night out, you can visit one of the restaurants or other entertainment in the area or ask us about our free gaming package! In Barrie, you'll also find numerous outdoor attractions, such as the Georgian Downs Racetrack or fishing at Lake Simcoe. Are you traveling on business to Barrie, Ontario? Our hotel is convenient to many corporations, such as Mueller Canada Inc., Canplas Industries Ltd., Royal Victoria Hospital, Georgian College, YOM, Wolf Steel, and Can-Save. You are invited to use the computer and copy, fax and print services in the 24-hour Business Centre near our hotel's lobby. Barrie, Ontario's growing tourism calls for a versatile hotel like ours. We meet the needs of travelers by offering spacious rooms and with triple-sheeted bedding, microwaves, mini-fridges, Flat Screen Televisions and work areas with free high-speed Internet access to keep you connected while traveling in Barrie. Our hotel's Fitness Ctr, indoor pool and whirlpool ensure that you'll enjoy a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Hotel Barrie
Holiday Inn Barrie
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Barrie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.