We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Barrie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Barrie to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   506 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6E7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
KANATA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Exactly what I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Once again another great experience at the Holiday Inn Express. Clean, comfortable and a great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    34
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
30
21
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed here while visiting our grand children in Barrie. It has a good location, near restaurants and Shopping if that's your thing. We found the room and the breakfast very good. Our experience with staff was minimal but, friendly and accommodating. We would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Its clean, comfortable and perfectly located for shopping and most business in Barrie or Borden if you are military. Complimentary breakfast is good. Staff are really friendly. I would stay again. Pool is tiny though, only good for kids to splash around in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkylarCanada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I got into Barrie around 7pm, looked online and saw this hotel had a room available at $119. I went to the hotel and got a room, the manager quoted me $137. I told him about the rate I saw online 5 minutes earlier but he insisted that must have been another room type and that they don't have anything available at that rate. It was late, not worth arguing over $18, so I took the room. I went up to the room and found it left as-is from the previous guests: the bed sheets were used and hanging off the bed, moist towels on the floor and in the shower and used coffee cups on the table. This was 8pm and the room still wasn't cleaned from the previous night! I went back down to the lobby (in the worlds slowest elevator). The girl at the counter said "hmm I dont know how that happened" and gave me a new room...but offered no apology. I went to my new room and the hallways had become the after party for a kids hockey tournament. They all had their room doors propped open running from room to room. I didn't complain, it wasn't too late. I tried getting online but my access code was not working. I tried to call the front desk but the phone was broken....back down to the front desk. I got the proper access code and told her about the phone and the noise concerns. Again, no apologies just "hmm, do you want me to see if someone can look at the phone?". Screw it, I have a cell and wasn't going to get any work done with the noise upstairs so I went for a late dinner. I came back and all the hockey parents had elected the room adjacent to mine as their party room while the kids hung out in the hallways. There are cameras right in the hallway staring right at them, obviously the staff either doesn't look at them or doesn't care. I got online, checked the hotel's website and found the $119 rate was still available. I saw the manager and told him about the rate and he asked which website I was looking at. "Yours" I told him. His response....he actually just looked confused and shrugged his shoulders. The partying went on until after midnight (on a weekday) and the kids left all their garbage in the hallways (see the picture, the staff didn't bother cleaning it either).
Next morning I brought by luggage out to the truck which was parked near the back door and started it up (it was -30C). I tried to go back inside but my card had been deactivated. I walked around the building without a jacket and got my card reactivated. I will not be revisiting this hotel.
My next problem is with Holiday Inn's Corp. I've never formally complained about a hotel stay but this was warranted. These people are almost as bad as the Barrie staff. I explained the problem I had and they said they were going to give me "1000 Priority Club Points". But I realized they never even asked me which stay I was complaining about....they just wanted to get me off the phone. I also realized later how worthless 1000 points actually are...you'd need about 15,000 for one night in this hotel. So essentially they are telling me that I'm not getting reimbursed for my terrible stay, but if I have 14 more terrible stays like that I will earn a free one! This infuriated me more. I called them back. I clearly stated that I wasn't looking for useless points or freebies and that I was offended by the 1000 points they gave me. I told them that I was just looking for some confidence that this was being taken seriously. After a pointless conversation with an operator then a supervisor I walked away with 13,000 points and even more frustration. they didn't even get into the specifics of my stay, Im sure they didn't address it with the Barrie hotel.
Please look at my previous hotel and restaurant reviews. I am a senior contributor. I live on the road about a third of my time and offer very fair reviews. I've never ranted like this or complained to a hotel's head office. I found this hotel dirty, disorganized, dysfunctional and dishonest. My frustration with this hotel is only compounded by their refusal to respond to my complaint fairly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear SkylarC,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received poor quality service from the front desk, not to mention about the noise and cleanliness, which was unacceptable. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Orlando A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

It was our first time at the Holiday Inn express in Barrie, the rooms were a fair size, the staff was friendly, nice size tv. I picked that area to be close to shopping and it was perfect. Pool was not as big as i thought from the site, but being a long weekend, many people were out, so we had the pool pretty much to ourselves which was nice. Only thing we had problems with was the bathroom, i dont know if this was for every room, the toilet seat had to be up in order to have the door wide open, which was not really a big deal. Nice area, clean, Ive read reviews on the Chlorine smell, but thats normal when your close to any pool, but not in the room areas. Good complimentary breakfast, nice compaired to a lot of high end hotels ive stayed at over night where breakfast wasnt included, for the price you pay, it was worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I stayed here on business. In short, there are no high-end hotels in Barrie, so this is a good solid choice. Check-in was quick. The room was clean and nice. The full kitchenette would be good for saving money not eating out all the time. The staff was friendly & helpful when I had questions. I would not recommend Jack Astor's across the street for food though it was recommended by the front desk. Check-out was a breeze.

Room Tip: Keep in mind they offer rooms with a full kitchenette. This would be a good choice if staying a whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel twice in March. Rooms are not overly clean. Black marks on the tiles in the bathrooms. Dust in corners and along edges of room and furniture. Fridge had stains inside. Air conditioning/heating units are very noisy....best to leave manually leave fan on low and let air or heat cut in as necessary. Not sure how sheets are laundered but on both occassions sheets and towels had a very strong bleach odour. It's not particularly objectionable but I suspect it could cause problems for those with allergies.
Rooms are extremely quiet - even tho on the second stay we were close to the elevator and the hotel was full. Breakfast was the usual HI fare. The big difference was in the staffing of the breakfast room. On the first stay the server had her nose buried in a book and wasn't refilling empty trays. On the seocnd stay we were greeted with a cheery good morning and that alone seemed to up the quality of the food a notch.
Good accessible parking and lots of lights in the room for working and reading.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
WayneinCollingwood,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Barrie

Address: 506 Bryne Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Superior Comfort in Barrie, Ontario For the comfort and amenities you deserve, reserve a room at the pet - friendly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Barrie, Ontario. Our hotel is convenient to Highway 400 to keep you connected to the attractions and businesses of downtown Barrie. Lodging here puts you minutes from exciting attractions, like a Colts game at the Barrie Molson Centre or a shopping trip Park Place, Tanger Outlets or to the 400 Market. For an exciting night out, you can visit one of the restaurants or other entertainment in the area or ask us about our free gaming package! In Barrie, you'll also find numerous outdoor attractions, such as the Georgian Downs Racetrack or fishing at Lake Simcoe. Are you traveling on business to Barrie, Ontario? Our hotel is convenient to many corporations, such as Mueller Canada Inc., Canplas Industries Ltd., Royal Victoria Hospital, Georgian College, YOM, Wolf Steel, and Can-Save. You are invited to use the computer and copy, fax and print services in the 24-hour Business Centre near our hotel's lobby. Barrie, Ontario's growing tourism calls for a versatile hotel like ours. We meet the needs of travelers by offering spacious rooms and with triple-sheeted bedding, microwaves, mini-fridges, Flat Screen Televisions and work areas with free high-speed Internet access to keep you connected while traveling in Barrie. Our hotel's Fitness Ctr, indoor pool and whirlpool ensure that you'll enjoy a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Hotel Barrie
Holiday Inn Barrie
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Barrie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.