We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Hills Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Carriage Hills Resort to your Saves list
Carriage Hills Resort
90 Highland Drive | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Wonderful vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

This was a time share trade and we didn't know what to expect. Although the resort is well off the beaten path, it is worth the drive. The resort is in an area called Horseshoe Valley and unless you plan on sitting by the pool or taking long nature walks and bike rides, you will need a car. This is a real country! It is a beautiful location with charm and tranquility. You must drive to all the attractions, but that is OK.

The resort is nestled in a private community, but it is quiet and peaceful. There is a large pool and various walking trails. A good portion of the resort is surrounded by woods, but you never feel isolated by the woods. The resort consist of large buildings which house at least 6 units each. The 2 bedroom units have 2 balcony's (the rear balcony runs along the back of the building so really all units can connect from the back. There are also stairs leading down). Some of the buildings could use some minor repairs as they all have wood trim, but it was only superficial repairs.

The units were large and comfortable and very, very clean. Dishwashing detergent and laundry soap were also provided in the rooms. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit which was really different. The unit is split in two with a common door entrance that then has two additional doors. One leading into the large 1 bedroom apartment unit which has a full kitchen, dinning room, living room and master suite. The other 1 bedroom unit has a bedroom/living area with a small kitchen and bath room. This was a great set up if traveling with older kids or grandparents. We kept both doors open, choosing to close only the main entrance door, and we were still able to do our "own thing".

Niagara Falls was about a 2 1/2 hour drive, so we stayed in the "city" for two days. It was wonderful going back to Horseshoe Valley after the busy Niagara Falls area. There is also Saint Maries of the Huron - very educational and beautiful. The wonderful country side made for enjoyable late afternoon drives. There is a great homestyle restaurant in the area called "Loobies". It has wonderful food and great service. We got to know almost all the staff, including the owner. They were all so friendly. Check their hours as each day is different, but the menu is never a disappoinment.

We loved it here and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    88
    28
    20
    20
See reviews for
99
82
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

I am an owner at this property but I really only bought it to use it to exchange for other places. But if you like to golf or ski, or enjoy other attivities that are done outside, this is a great place for all of that.
The studio, 1 or 2 bedroom units (with kitchens or kitchenettes) are quite spacious and clean. They have good supplies and a great bonus: a washer and dryer for every unit. If you are lucky enough to get a 2BR, you actually get a one bedroom with a full kitchen and big living area and the other bedroom is a lock out unit with its own bathroom and kitchenette: great for traveling with parents or inlaws, ha ha.
There is a indoor/outdoor pool, playground, volleyball and shuffle board court.There are also bbq grills to use and activities scheduled every day, mostly for kids. Movie rentals and games to check out
There is no bar and/or restaurant within walking distance, but there are 2 you can access with a car a few miles down the road, but they are on the pricey side (like most resorts). There is a very small cafe across the street that is really there to cater to the golfers.
There are also a deck for every unit, but your view is either the parking lot or big trees just 60ft pass the deck.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Carriage Hills for a weekend in July. We stayed in a resort suite, it had everything we could possibly need...fridge, microwave, flat panel tv, comfortable king size bed, very clean bathroom, private balcony, nice sitting area and free wifi internet. The indoor/outdoor pool was incredible and the pool deck is very clean and spacious and has plenty of lounging chairs, and even a hot tub outside. There is a beach volleyball court and shuffleboard close to the pool as well, and lots of golf courses in the area. Overall, we had an absolutely amazing time and have promised each other to go back in a few months to see what it's like during the winter.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Easily accessible.Close to major highways.
Clean and cozy rooms

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Stayed for a few nights over the May long weekend. It appears the resort has gone through some renovations because the furniture and amentities were better than when we last stayed there 2 years ago. The unit was clean and the beds were comfy. There is a 42" plasma tv in the living room but there weren't too many channels to choose from. There were only 2 negative points:
- only one sauna in the pool area and it was out of order.
- bbq area should be maintained proplerly- better brushes and garbage removal.
Overall, the unit was very well maintained and service was good.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We were pleased from check in to our departure. Check in went very smoothly and we were in our unit within a matter of minutes. The staff was helpful with questions we had throughout the week.

We had requested a top floor unit six weeks before our arrival and that request was honored. Norfolk was a nice quiet building with a great view of the golf course.

I was surprised that there weren't any baking sheets, pizza pans, etc in the kitchen. It was explained that most guests don't use those items so they keep a supply in the carriage house if you want to check them out for the duration of your stay. We did fine without them although I would have used the sheets instead of the broiler pan.

The unit was a nice size and had good sunlight in the livingroom and bedroom. We made use of the free internet connection and appreciated that complimentary service. Not many of the time shares that we have been to offer that.

There is a lot to do in the area, especially if you bring your bikes. Most of the terrain is pretty level so it makes for enjoyable riding without much effort.

Although we didn't swim, the pool looked inviting and was well used- being both indoor and outdoor. We did play shuffleboard several times throughout the week.

This place is one of the top places that we have stayed at in our time share experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Went to carriage hill resort for a vacation with my husband and our daughter who is 18months old. We stayed at a 1 bedroom.
She LOVED the swimming pool. She had the best time.
We also enjoyed ourselves. The place was clean, and quite. The bed was comfortable. The jucuzzi tub was big enough for all three of us to sit and hang out. Large big shower in the other bathroom. Loved the washer and drier (since with a toddler, you have lots of dirty clothes). The cable TV was not very good. Couldn't really find anything good to watch. The free internet was really slow. We drove around alot. Went to the mall, to the beach, and also algonquin state park which was about 2 hrs away.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Carriage Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Hills Resort

Address: 90 Highland Drive | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Condo-Suites only 1 hour north of Toronto only minutes north of Barrie. Family vacations, golf & ski getaways, romantic retreats, excellent nightly rates and more! Oversized Studio suites (400 sq ft) with private balcony and kitchenette. 1- and 2-Bedroom suites (800-1200 sq ft) with fireplace, jetted tub, balcony, laundry. On site pool, hot tub, kids pool, fitness room and activities program 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Carriage Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hills Hotel Barrie
Carriage Hills Barrie
Carriage Hills Resort Barrie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Hills Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.