We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer fun getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Hills Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Carriage Hills Resort to your Saves list
Carriage Hills Resort
90 Highland Drive | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Chelmsford, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Summer fun getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We have stayed at both Carriage Hills & Carriage Ridge. Love both places. The accomodations are great..perfect for families. Both pool areas are fantastic. The pool area at Carriage Ridge is more suited to younger families. It has a little kids pool along with a larger pool. The Carriage Hills pool has a really cool indoor outdoor advantage...I had 3 10 year old boys that love that they could swim under a divider and be outside! The staff was fantastic and friendly. The rooms were very clean and spacious. A cute little shop is close by with a little something for everyone in the family (my choice was a cute pair of earrings and the boys chose the fudge and icecream). There is a great chocolate factory close by. Horseshoe Adventure Park is very close and the Adventure Park was fantastic. The room rates are very reasonable. My only fault was not familiarizing myself with the grocery store hours or stocking before arriving :( And I am not a big fan of the 'Arcade'. My boys spent 1/2 of their vacation money and most of the machines were faulty...including the prize dispenser. It became the 'nightmare' of our trip. After 4 days of vacationing in Southern Ontario our last night 'arcade' fiasco ruined it for them ?? ENJOY what they have to offer..other than the arcade !! :)

Room Tip: Families with older kids or no kids might prefer the Carriage Hills. Larger families ..smaller kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hello Doreen G,
We thank you for posting comments about your stay this summer and we are thrilled to learn it is not the first time you have stayed at our resorts. We are delighted you enjoyed the pool, Horseshoe Adventure park and local shops. It is disappointing to read the Ice Cave game centre was not a positive experience and we will be taking a close look at the state of the games based on your description.
Thank you again for the taking the time to share and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    81
    23
    20
    17
See reviews for
88
73
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have stayed at this resort twice now and both times were great. Room is very clean and stocked with everything you would need for a weeks stay. The staff are very helpful and there when you need them. The rooms are very large with a Jacuzzi tub and vanity off the bedroom and a glass shower in the bathroom. Fridge, stove, microwave and dishwasher are included in the kitchen. The only down fall was the Wi-Fi is terribly slow but who needs to bring electronics on holidays anyway! :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Tom B,
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay. We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed your vacation at the resort for a second time. We apologize for the slow wifi service however pleased you found you enjoyed your condo-suite and found our staff helpful.
We hope you will return again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to share comments.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Carriage Hills is a great resort, found in the Blue Mountain Area in Oro; north of Barrie.

The great appeal of this resort is the opportunity it provides guests to make themselves at home.

You are essentially renting an apartment, not a hotel room; and as such; you find yourself with great space to live in.

The units are generally very well taken care of and offer all the amenities you'd expect to find at home. Ownership is consistently upgrading the fixtures in all rooms, in order to keep all units modern and up to date.

The pool is located in the Carriage House, and offers great indoor and outdoor swimming from the same pool.

You'll generally find that the guests are friendly and are happy to engage in conversation about the area, their stay and just about anything in general.

Tips:
- Buy your groceries in Barrie or Orillia. The Foodland on Horseshoe Valley Road is very expensive.
- Remember the staples; butter, oil and a BBQ lighter

Room Tip: Lower floors have better wi-fi coverage.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear OntarioKK,
We are delighted to read your review and we appreciate the time you took to share comments about your stay. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your condo-suite accommodation and pool. Thank you for sharing insight into your experience with our associates and adding 'tips' for future guests.
Again, thank you for posting comments and for being our guest.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed at Carriage Hills for 2 nights. The 1 bedroom suite was large and well appointed. The bathroom had two vanities and a separate shower. Adjacent to the bedroom was a large whirlpool tub. The bed was king size and comfortable. The staff at this resort are knowledgeable and offer assistance whenever you need it. There is an indoor outdoor pool which is much better than the pool at Carriage Ridge. There is hot tub and a large seating area outside. The upper floor has a work out area. The property is right beside Horseshoe Resort. You can play golf at their two courses in the summer or use the ski hills in the winter. Settlers Ghost golf course is only a mile away as well. Horseshoe has many activities and you can buy a day card and use all of them. Carriage Hills also has planed activities throughout the week for kids and adults.
You are very close to Orillia from here and can walk along the water front park, get groceries, a good lunch or visit the Stephen Leacock property that is very beautiful.
A half hour drive takes you to Wasaga the best beach on all the Great Lakes. A little further down and you will be in Collingwood a quaint little town with nice shops and good places to eat. Blue Mountain is just a bit further. It is full of activities and has a village modeled after the Village in Whistler. Beautiful place to just walk around.
If your from outside Canada or Ontario - the resort has day trips to various areas like Toronto and Niagara.
If you plan well this is a great resort to stay at with many different things around you.

Room Tip: Try to get an Upper Floor Room - Balcony is more private and it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello robert s,
We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the condo-suite, resort pool and amenities. It seems you located many of the best places to visit in the area including Wasaga beach. Your review is sure to help future guests with their vacation plans.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Lovely property and a delightful get away. The units are large, well equipped and very clean. However, the wifi was veeeeeeeeerrrrrrry sssssssslllllllllooooooowwwwwww. I was getting up early in the morning hoping that would help with the connection, but can't say that it really made much difference.

Room Tip: our room was at the end of the property; perhaps that is why the wifi was so slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Kay B,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are sorry the wifi service was poor and we are working on solutions in the coming year.
It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the unit and the resort. Thank you again for your comments and please visit again soon.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had a perfect unit (downstairs and facing the woods). Everything on the inside was immaculate when we checked in with all furnishings in great shape.

The only suggestions are that the patio railings are in need of paint as ours (2110) was peeling and since many units have 4 people occupying them, there should be more than 2 patio chairs instead of having to drag two of the dining chairs outside.

I am so glad our unit faced the woods and not the parking lot!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the woods are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear rocky0424,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay and the condition of your condo-suite. After a long winter the balconies need fresh paint and look forward to taking care of them this year.
We appreciate the time you took to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We used Interval International to exchange for a studio. The area is beautiful, peaceful, and relaxing. The indoor/outdoor pools/hot tubs were great. The staff was helpful. The environs were interesting. The food in Barrie was great. We visited the longest freshwater beach in the world, took a tour of their 30,000 lakes in Georgian Bay, and ate at two excellent raw restaurants, one in Barrie and one in Collingswood. The studio was comfortable inside. Sadly, the tiny 6'x6' deck was in need of repair and, interestingly enough, part of the deck was used by the air conditioner unit which blew hot air across the deck. Not that pleasant, we had to turn the A/C off to use the deck. The free wi-fi was sooooooo sloooooow as to be unusable, but hey, no email is not a bad thing.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for ground floor if you need it, there are no elevators to the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello Cliff R,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your condo-unit, on site pool and area attractions including Wasaga Beach. We look forward to improving the condition of the balconies this year with fresh paint and we are always seeking ways to provide more consistent wifi service. Thank you for sharing your comments and tips. We look forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Hills Resort

Address: 90 Highland Drive | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Barrie
#3 Family Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Condo-Suites only 1 hour north of Toronto only minutes north of Barrie. Family vacations, golf & ski getaways, romantic retreats, excellent nightly rates and more! Oversized Studio suites (400 sq ft) with private balcony and kitchenette. 1- and 2-Bedroom suites (800-1200 sq ft) with fireplace, jetted tub, balcony, laundry. On site pool, hot tub, kids pool, fitness room and activities program 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Carriage Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hills Hotel Barrie
Carriage Hills Barrie
Carriage Hills Resort Barrie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Hills Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.