We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bob on carriage hills resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Hills Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Carriage Hills Resort to your Saves list
Carriage Hills Resort
90 Highland Drive | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Discount
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“bob on carriage hills resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed at Carriage Hills for 2 nights. The 1 bedroom suite was large and well appointed. The bathroom had two vanities and a separate shower. Adjacent to the bedroom was a large whirlpool tub. The bed was king size and comfortable. The staff at this resort are knowledgeable and offer assistance whenever you need it. There is an indoor outdoor pool which is much better than the pool at Carriage Ridge. There is hot tub and a large seating area outside. The upper floor has a work out area. The property is right beside Horseshoe Resort. You can play golf at their two courses in the summer or use the ski hills in the winter. Settlers Ghost golf course is only a mile away as well. Horseshoe has many activities and you can buy a day card and use all of them. Carriage Hills also has planed activities throughout the week for kids and adults.
You are very close to Orillia from here and can walk along the water front park, get groceries, a good lunch or visit the Stephen Leacock property that is very beautiful.
A half hour drive takes you to Wasaga the best beach on all the Great Lakes. A little further down and you will be in Collingwood a quaint little town with nice shops and good places to eat. Blue Mountain is just a bit further. It is full of activities and has a village modeled after the Village in Whistler. Beautiful place to just walk around.
If your from outside Canada or Ontario - the resort has day trips to various areas like Toronto and Niagara.
If you plan well this is a great resort to stay at with many different things around you.

Room Tip: Try to get an Upper Floor Room - Balcony is more private and it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello robert s,
We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the condo-suite, resort pool and amenities. It seems you located many of the best places to visit in the area including Wasaga beach. Your review is sure to help future guests with their vacation plans.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    81
    24
    20
    17
See reviews for
90
74
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Lovely property and a delightful get away. The units are large, well equipped and very clean. However, the wifi was veeeeeeeeerrrrrrry sssssssslllllllllooooooowwwwwww. I was getting up early in the morning hoping that would help with the connection, but can't say that it really made much difference.

Room Tip: our room was at the end of the property; perhaps that is why the wifi was so slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Kay B,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are sorry the wifi service was poor and we are working on solutions in the coming year.
It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the unit and the resort. Thank you again for your comments and please visit again soon.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had a perfect unit (downstairs and facing the woods). Everything on the inside was immaculate when we checked in with all furnishings in great shape.

The only suggestions are that the patio railings are in need of paint as ours (2110) was peeling and since many units have 4 people occupying them, there should be more than 2 patio chairs instead of having to drag two of the dining chairs outside.

I am so glad our unit faced the woods and not the parking lot!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the woods are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear rocky0424,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay and the condition of your condo-suite. After a long winter the balconies need fresh paint and look forward to taking care of them this year.
We appreciate the time you took to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We used Interval International to exchange for a studio. The area is beautiful, peaceful, and relaxing. The indoor/outdoor pools/hot tubs were great. The staff was helpful. The environs were interesting. The food in Barrie was great. We visited the longest freshwater beach in the world, took a tour of their 30,000 lakes in Georgian Bay, and ate at two excellent raw restaurants, one in Barrie and one in Collingswood. The studio was comfortable inside. Sadly, the tiny 6'x6' deck was in need of repair and, interestingly enough, part of the deck was used by the air conditioner unit which blew hot air across the deck. Not that pleasant, we had to turn the A/C off to use the deck. The free wi-fi was sooooooo sloooooow as to be unusable, but hey, no email is not a bad thing.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for ground floor if you need it, there are no elevators to the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello Cliff R,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your condo-unit, on site pool and area attractions including Wasaga Beach. We look forward to improving the condition of the balconies this year with fresh paint and we are always seeking ways to provide more consistent wifi service. Thank you for sharing your comments and tips. We look forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have stayed here often as owners. Staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are large and have fireplaces and large whirlpool bathtubs. You can use just a small unit though with a partial kitchen -it depends on your needs. It is generally very quiet and the trees offer privacy as well as the impression of being in the forest when you look out your window if in the right unit. We like being on the top floor so we do not hear anyone walking above us - this is the one area the units are a little weak, especially if there are children in the unit above you.
There is a golf course across the street and of course, Horseshoe Valley below with their course as well as numerous others close by. The place has a pool that is indoor and outdoor and a nice size hot tub. Games are available as well as DVDs for rent.

Room Tip: We like the top floor so no one walks above your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello BDL999_12,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay and highlighting the peaceful surroundings and nearby golf. It looks like you enjoyed your time at the pool and hot tub and thank you for noting the games and DVD's that are available.
We appreciate you as an owner and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had the most fabulous holiday at this resort, we had 2 x 2 bedroom units as there were 8 adults and 4 children, we stayed in the newly refurbished ones and they were gorgeous, very spacious and the kids loved being able to just go next door to see each other.
The staff in this resort cannot do enough for you from the lifeguards to the reception ladies, all of them are so helpful and friendly and really know how to treat their customers well.
The pool is lovely and we made use of the barbecue areas and the activities
The small supermarket 10 mins away is really good
Our favourite restaurant was Settlers ghost, really good food and great service and prices, also Abbots was the same standard and very nice
We went to crazy horse restaurant but found this overpriced and very average food, we would not recommend that one
We would look forward to staying again at this resort

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear MollyPortsmouth,
We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay and found the condo-suites spacious for you and your family. Thank you for commenting on your experience with our associates as we take pride in putting our 'Count On Me' service philosophy into action. Your comments about the pool, grocery store and activites will be helpful to future guests.
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and for being our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is a tricky review to write. This is located in a lovely part of Ontario countryside. People need the jobs this establishment offers. I dislike posting negative feedback. So, some context: I've used this venue as a training base (for trail running) for about three years. It has been OK for that. I just train, eat, sleep. However, increasingly, with each visit one receives a very intense sales pitch to but a condo. This last time gave me the experience of what it must be like to have a pit bull on your throat and not letting go. This despite a request to not be contacted during my stay. So aggressive are their tactics that a long line - up formed as a condo sales agent interrupted check in to encourage a couple to participate in a free meal / presentation / showing, while an uncomfortable check in person looked on.

So....lots of young families enjoy this place (can be noisy). It is situated beside a modest and pleasant ski hill. For athletes (runners), the trails surrounding the property are pristine, plentiful and shrouded in nature.

The price point is such that you don't expect top line comforts (beds and linens are passable), but that's OK. A lovely feature is the balcony, which allows for quiet (sort of) and pleasant contemplation.

i sense the management is high pressure (an assumption) to sell, sell, sell and use the lower price point to attract customers so they may sell, sell, sell. It is akin to those old Florida deals where you'd be offered free flights and rooms in exchange for going to a presentation. Except nothing is free, and you still get a relentless pitch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hello Peter B,
Thank you for the review. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We are a timeshare business, however we understand you should never feel uncomfortable while on vacation. Your comments will be shared with the proper department to improve the process for future guests.
If you wish to talk further, I welcome your call at 705-835-5858 ext. 2626.
We appreciate your business and thanks again for sharing your comments.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Hills Resort

Address: 90 Highland Drive | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Barrie
#3 Family Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Condo-Suites only 1 hour north of Toronto only minutes north of Barrie. Family vacations, golf & ski getaways, romantic retreats, excellent nightly rates and more! Oversized Studio suites (400 sq ft) with private balcony and kitchenette. 1- and 2-Bedroom suites (800-1200 sq ft) with fireplace, jetted tub, balcony, laundry. On site pool, hot tub, kids pool, fitness room and activities program 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Carriage Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hills Hotel Barrie
Carriage Hills Barrie
Carriage Hills Resort Barrie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Hills Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.