We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Hills Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Carriage Hills Resort to your Saves list
Carriage Hills Resort
90 Highland Drive | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Discount
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

A group of my friends and I stayed at the Carriage Ridge Resort on the weekend of Nov 1-2, 2008. We had an amazing time! We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite that can accomodate up to 8 people. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated; the kitchenette was big enough to allow 3 people to cook at one time; and the living room offered a cozy, comfortable area where we could relax and watch movies. The cost was quite reasonable, we even managed to get a 15% discount for booking in advance.

The recreational area had many facilities including an indoor pool and hot tub (which was well-maintained), billard table, internet access, small fitness center and games & movies to borrow.

The check-in service was excellent. All the staff were friendly and professional. Checking into the resort only took 5 minutes and they were even helpful in providing us with maps of neaby hiking trails. Room service was quick, even at midnight when we requested for extra blankets.

I would highly recommend this resort to everyone. There are many activities nearby including Arbraska tree-top trekking and skiing at Horseshoe Valley. I would definately come back again!

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Not enough restaurants in the area
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    81
    24
    20
    17
See reviews for
90
74
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

We stayed for a week on business trip to barrie. Overall it's a nice place but not sure I would stay there again. Check in took a long time & as our company added an extra day to our initial reservation, we actually had to go back the second day & re-register. Makes no sense why they couldn't deal with this at check in, we didn't even change rooms, silly system I guess.
The internet was too expensive & the whole week we were there it wasn't even working. The frustrating part is that the hotel has nothing to do with the internet, it's an independant american company, so to get any help, you have to call a call centre somewhere in the states.
The rooms are very nice, bed comfortable. I loved the fireplace.
It's true that the walls are very thin. You can hear everything around you.
The kitchen was great & had pretty well all the kitchen supplies you would need to cook up a meal. It was also nice to have laundry right outside our door.
As it's in the middle of nowhere, you have to drive to barrie to find some good restaurants.
Beware, checkout is early (10am) & they will charge you if you check out late.

  • Liked — fireplace
  • Disliked — internet never worked
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

We stumbled across Carriage Hills Resort when we were looking for a family get-a-way close to home. We were thrilled to find this lovely spot. The suite was very spacious and immaculately kept and the indoor - outdoor pool was a big hit with the kids.
My only complaint - it was difficult to enjoy the private balcony that accompanied the suite because of a family of smokers in the suite below.
Overall it was a lovely weekend away - we will definitely return!

  • Liked — size of suite & ammenities
  • Disliked — smoking guests
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Took my 6 year old and 4 year old for a 3-night stay in the one-bedroom condo. We had booked the Carriage Ridge, but due to renovations, were put in the Hills instead. Basically the same thing with room lay-out. The rooms and the grounds were spotless, with even my 6 year old asking why there was no garbage on the ground outside. Room was very spacious and comfortable and pretty quiet. My only complaint was the pool. The Ridge has only an indoor pool, so weather is not an issue. The Hills has indoor/outdoor, but the are NOT separate pools, simply plastic tags hanging between them (they didn't tell me that when they moved us to the Hills). Therefore when it rains, they close all the pools. There were ALOT of older kids in the pool, as well as adults, and they play rough. Balls are thrown around very hard, without regard for anyone else in the pool, as well as diving and jumping right over your head and alot of pushing and shoving. My two do not swim well, so we basically had to limit our pool time to a very small corner where I had to shield them from flying bodies and balls. There are life guards on duty, but they do not do anything to curb the rough play (where are these kids's parents?). Other than that, we enjoyed the stay and would come back (although I would try the Ridge next time).

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable accomodation
  • Disliked — Unsafe play in pool is ignored by lifeguards
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

I took my wife here for our 19th anniversary because my friend has the time share and it's fairly inexpensive for a week as he only charges me his cost.

There are no restaurants on the property and the ones within a few minutes were very small and too crowded for our liking. We had to drive to Barrie about 10 minutes away to eat.

The worst part was the noise. We were on the top floor in a studio and the noise from the neighbours is too loud for a nice quiet romantic stay.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

Found popcorn on the bed and a tube of lipstick on the table, neither of which belonged to me......or my husband! Bedside lamp didn't work....and I am a bedtime reader so I felt I was missing out here. No restaurant onsite and not much to do on the resort. No bathtub - shower only. Lost TV signal many times. On a scale of 1 - 10, I would give this resort a 6.

  • Liked — Comfy bed
  • Disliked — Prank phone calls from boys in the middle of the night. Noise from neighbors.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

We took our three oldest grandson’s for a week stay. We found everyone at the resort very friendly. Check in went smoothly. We found our two bedroom suite
Well laid out, clean and modern. Overall we had a great time and loved Carriage Hills.
We did find the internet charge of ten dollars a day excessive. (I know we didn’t have to use it.) Our only other gripe was getting bugged three separate times by timeshare people. Although they accepted a no answer immediately, someone else would call back and bug us again the next day.
We travel at least five weeks a year using Gold Crown time shares. We would rate Carriage Hills a solid B. We always tip house keeping. This is the first time we ever received a thank you note. The resort has friendly attitude. The staff and other guests made our stay a fun vacation.

  • Liked — Rooms, staff
  • Disliked — Small pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Hills Resort

Address: 90 Highland Drive | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Barrie
#3 Family Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Condo-Suites only 1 hour north of Toronto only minutes north of Barrie. Family vacations, golf & ski getaways, romantic retreats, excellent nightly rates and more! Oversized Studio suites (400 sq ft) with private balcony and kitchenette. 1- and 2-Bedroom suites (800-1200 sq ft) with fireplace, jetted tub, balcony, laundry. On site pool, hot tub, kids pool, fitness room and activities program 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Carriage Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hills Hotel Barrie
Carriage Hills Barrie
Carriage Hills Resort Barrie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Hills Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.