We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st trip to Canada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Hills Resort

Save Saved
You added Carriage Hills Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carriage Hills Resort
90 Highland Drive | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Barrie
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“1st trip to Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is our 1st trip to Canada for our visit to Niagara Falls. This resort is like 2 1/2 hours drive from the Falls. Supposedly our stay is for 6 days but decided to just have a 1 night on the falls side to enjoy it more.

Carriage hills resort is where you do your Check-in. We got lucky that we where able to use the renovated rooms. The studio room is very nice and the front desk ask us first if we want the bigger studio which is not updated or the updated one which is less spacious when you open the Sofabed. I informed her that I want the updated one for the main reason that where not going to use the sofabed and she gave one which is close to the Clubhouse and office which is pretty cool :)

They are all so nice there, the place is so relaxing although there are few groceries there is one which is 5 mins away from it. The horseshoe adventure is just close by and you will enjoy going there. Went to Wasaga Beach as well and saw that there is Walmart and some other Asian restaurants so we did some groceries there and just brought it back with us. There is a costco as well and Elmvale Zoo is just like 20 mins away from it.

Pretty much place is so relaxing hoping to comeback on winter time for the snow :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    76
    21
    19
    17
See reviews for
83
67
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This resort is very good. Excellent amenities and all free to use; the BBQ's around the resort are brilliant, very large and clean and lot better then others I've seen on other sites. The lodgings are spacious and have everything you could want. The settings are lovely and everwhere is very clean.
The only downside is there no on site places to eat and drink, although the golf club opposite has a good bar and you can get food there as well.
Would recommend this resort to families and couples young and old.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We have stayed twice at the Carriage Ridge and once at the Carriage Hills and we have really enjoyed ourselves every time. The rooms (even the studio suites) are very spacious and extremely well designed. We have stayed in a studio suite as well as a one bedroom and two bedroom suite and each of them has been fantastic. They all come with a small kitchenette and the one and two bedrooms have a full kitchen.

During our recent trip to Carriage Hills we were able to use a beautiful green space surrounded by trees behind our room to play catch with our boys. We used the large indoor/outdoor swimming pool on a daily basis which also has two hot tubs and a sauna (the outdoor hot tub was under repair at the time of our visit). We all used the Jacuzzi tub which was in our one bedroom suite.

There are trails leading into the forest where you can see the true beauty of the area as well as watch tourists using the Tree Top Trekking equipment.

There are a couple of good restaurants and a grocery store nearby. There are several golf courses within a very short distance of the hotel. The staff were welcoming and friendly and quickly responded to any concerns we had about our room. The only complaint I had was our inability to access the shared BBQs as there were huge groups using the entire space during our stay. More BBQs would be beneficial.

Overall, a great place for couples, families or people on business and terrific value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The units are a bit dated (the kitchen looked like it was circa 1980s) but overall it was very nice. I believe they are in the process of renovating the buildings and the units so ask for a newly renovated one if you have a chance. We were in a 1-bedroom unit with a fully equipped kitchen which allowed us to cook most of our meals. With 2 young kids, it's not too enjoyable to eat out anyway. there are BBQs everywhere so you can BBQ too if you wanted to.

We went during off season (mid-June) for one week. The resort was pretty empty and the 2 times that we asked for service (A/C broke down and TV didn't work), the maintenance guy came within 15 minutes. We ended up having to switch rooms because the A/C broke down but it was okay.

We got in-room massages every other day (thanks to health benefits and a great local RMT recommended by the resort!) and went swimming at the resort's indoor/outdoor pool almost every day. I even fit in a couple of workouts on the treadmill.

Since there's not much to do at the resort itself (which is a good thing!), we drove ~30 minutes each day to nearby destinations including Wasaga beach, Elmvale Jungle Zoo (we got up close to lots of animals), and Centennial Park (accessible playground and beach in Barrie). We ate at restaurants that were recommended by tripadvisor including Tiffins Curry in a Hurry and Casa Mia.

The best part: we were able to do most of our laundry before we came back with the washer/dryer there so I don't have to do a week's worth of laundry after coming back home!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room. There are no elevators so tell them you want a ground level room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriageHills, Director of Sales at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear biby,
Thank you for sharing comments about your recent stay! Your Room Tip regarding requesting a renovated unit is becoming popular. We're delighted to learn that you explored our beautiful region including Wasaga beach and our team met your expectations regarding response time. We appreciate the time you took to describe your experience and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

A beautiful resort amidst greenery and peaceful surrounding with all opportunities to relax. Very comfortable rather luxurious accommodation and good kitchen and other amenities.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to reception unless you wish to take long walks. Otherwise all rooms are the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a good place for families with young children and adults who want quiet, peaceful prdeictable pursuits

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississauga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Despite that there was no snow it was still worth it. Relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carriage Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Hills Resort

Address: 90 Highland Drive | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Condo-Suites only 1 hour north of Toronto only minutes north of Barrie. Family vacations, golf & ski getaways, romantic retreats, excellent nightly rates and more! Oversized Studio suites (400 sq ft) with private balcony and kitchenette. 1- and 2-Bedroom suites (800-1200 sq ft) with fireplace, jetted tub, balcony, laundry. On site pool, hot tub, kids pool, fitness room and activities program 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Carriage Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hills Hotel Barrie
Carriage Hills Barrie
Carriage Hills Resort Barrie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Hills Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.