We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Dunlop Street West, Barrie, Ontario L4N 1B2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Barrie, Canada
1 review
“BEST HOTEL EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My stay at the howard johnson was incredible! they suited all my needs and more! I will most definitely be going back soon to get away from the children. I especially like the location and the prizes.

Room Tip: Book ahead for the best rooms at a good cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind review . Your kind words are an inspiration to our staff, and we all hope that you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    15
    28
    65
See reviews for
28
29
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The location was awesome just walking distance from downtown Barrie. The staff was very helpful and polite. We asked for extra towels and coffee at 3 am but they were at door with in 5 minutes. The rate is really affordable. The building is old but nice and clean with open balcony. The manager and front-desk person was very friendly and call after 10 minutes of checking-in to ask about if we need anything. They have small water canal like that flows through the parking lot. There is also Chinese buffet next to the motel and has awesome food. The location is just near downtown so we didn't have to take a cab to walk to club. Traveler friendly and very quiet to work in the room with balcony. There was free parking, wi-fi, continental breakfast and any time house keeping. There are lots of channels for tv in the room. There are free local calls and long-distance calls on request. Nice smelling rooms and clean shiny furniture. Also, flyers for some nice places and map for Barrie city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and with our on-site buffet. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very friendly service, good price and clean room, for traverls best deal...not easy to find because it is hidden, you can go for a walk to get into downtown, not far a away from many restarants, internet fee,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind review . Your kind words are an inspiration to our staff, and we all hope that you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very friendly service, good price and clean room, for traverls best deal...not easy to find because it is hidden, you can go for a walk to get into downtown, not far a away from many restarants, internet fee,

Room Tip: queensize bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind review Stef. Your kind words are an inspiration to our staff, and we all hope that you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WELLAND
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The smell of badly cooked food pervaded the lobby as I registered. I almost gagged on the smell.
When I turned down the bed I noticed the pillow covers were dirty so I called the front desk. It took some time for the attendant to return with other pillow covers which were also dirty or stained. He returned a second time with clean pillow cases a little later.
Then I discovered there was only one towel in the bathroom. Only one bath towel, no hand towels and no face cloths. The towels that I finally got did not smell fresh and were thread-bear.
The room smelled musty and the paint was peeling all over the room, especially the ceiling. The bathroom was not very clean, in my opinion.
We were also concerned that the smoke alarm/fire detector was not properly mounted to the ceiling. It was hanging from the wires instead of being properly fastened to the ceiling as it should be.
I and my wife hardly slept all night. Other occupants near our room were noisy and rowdy most of the night, In fact, someone must have called the police because a patrol car showed up around midnight and talked to all the rowdy people in the parking lot and in some of the rooms near us. The management didn't do anything to quiet the other occupants.
In the morning we couldn't stomach the smell in the lobby to stay and have breakfast there and the breakfast area was not very clean. We had to pay for our own breakfast and eat somewhere else.
We did not enjoy our stay at all and were very tired for our drive back home later in the day.
We will avoid Howard Johnson's in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Ernest, I am sorry that you did enjoy your stay with us, and apologize for such. Please know that our staff is dedicated to making each customer's stay perfect, and are willing to correct any problems with housekeeping if told about them. Also, be assured that each and every one of our rooms are completely safe and have passed safety/fire regulations. I hope that you will give Howard Johnson Barrie another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Room was terrible, dirty, spiderwebs and had paint peeling off the wall. Bathroom was tiny and not very clean, bed extremely uncomfortable. Owner/manager on duty pretended to "not know" where our deposit was after I demanded it back. He finally found it in the same draw he put it in 2 hours earlier. I would never even consider returning to this hotel. Stay away!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Mike, I am very disappointed to see that you did not choose to stay with us. Please know that our staff is always striving to accommodate our guests, and would be happy change rooms if there was ever anything wrong with the first. We hope that you give Howard Johnson Barrie another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario

Address: 150 Dunlop Street West, Barrie, Ontario L4N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario 1.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario Hotel Barrie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.