We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice practice course” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pine View Golf and Country Club

Pine View Golf and Country Club
343 Town Line Road, Barrie, Ontario L4N 9C4, Canada
705-733-9200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 26 Activities in Barrie
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice practice course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great course for practicing your short game. There are many challenging holes.

But beware, you need to be a mountain goat if you plan on walking the course. Otherwise you pay twice the green fee to rent the cart.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“fun game”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

your short game, lots of hills


















this is a fun and challenging course for you to practice your short game, a little pricey, but fun

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good challenge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Staff and the greens are great, challenging holes,
worth the travel

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Most fun, variety in par 3 golf course, and the best price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is a beautifully kept 18 hole golf course which can be played for 9 holes only. It is perfect for a newer golfer (I started last year) and really helps the shorter game of the experienced golfer (hubby - 30 years plus). Few holes are on flat: most have the tee higher than the green, with a valley in between. Some have the tee lower than the green, but nothing awful. The view is fantastic.
I took a picture of each hole from the tee - it was so lovely. The sand in the traps is not hard, like on some courses.
Carts are recommended and worth every penny, unless you are athletic.
We played 18 holes in about three hours, but were there at noon on a Tuesday. Might take longer in the morning or afternoon.
They have used the pond for both the 17th and 18th holes - very cleverly done. Fish in the pond are quite large.
There is a little coffee shop where you can have a bite before or after. Bathrooms are in a separate, temporary type of building, maybe a trailer converted for the purpose, but the ladies' bathroom was spotless.
Families are welcome.
But the price? A buck a hole! How can you beat that?
For a fun couple or few hours, bring a good attitude, and carry your clubs only if you are young and strong - carts are only $26. Bring water or a drink of some kind and a snack for the best experience.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“great par 3”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

went to pine view with some co-workers to play 9 holes. when we heard the rates we decided to do 18. [for $22!!!] i am a beginner golfer and the others i was with are more advanced. the front 9 were very easy for them but the back 9 surprised them with a few challenges which made the whole outing a bit more even.
greens were lush but not clear of tree debris.
easy to walk 18 holes but they do have power carts for hire.
we're looking forward to our next outing at pine view.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine View Golf and Country Club also viewed

 

Been to Pine View Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine View Golf and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.