We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spice is the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SPICE

SPICE
16 Dunlop Street East, Downtown Barrie | East of Five Points, Barrie, Ontario L4M 1A3, Canada
+1 705-734-2544
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 397 Restaurants in Barrie
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: SPICE Indian Cuisine and Wine Bar serves the Best Indian Food in Barrie, Ontario.
1 review
“spice is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have been to spice many times. Excellent food every single time. The flavours of every dish are exceptional and well thought out. Beautiful blend of spices in all dishes. .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    20
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The dishes in Spice are very small but for the price not bad. The Tikka Masala tasted very good. I am not a Rogan Josh fan but my friend liked it fine. The Vegetable Korma was not good. It had tiny pieces of vegetables that didn't seem really fresh. As well, the flavour was very bland. My friend thought it was like gravy.I was not a fan of the very strong incense smell upon entering the restaurant. For allergy sufferers it might be too much. Overall not bad for the price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We were in Barrie for a rowing regatta and one person suggested this restaurant. We tried the buffet, $12.95 for lunch as two of us were not familiar with Indian food. Enjoyed the buffet, excellent flavors and a good introduction to Indian food. Would definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Once again great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

As one of the regular patron, I was there for lunch. Very empty restaurant when I got seated. But later on people started coming in. Owner/server was very welcoming at the front, seating and serving them on time.

I had a fantastic meal once again and good service too.We will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Reasonable indian food in downtown barrie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Atmosphere: nice place, not too big, fancy but not over the top

Service: Was good. They refilled our water promptly and food was brought out hot.

Food: Naan are good. Dishes are prepared pretty well. Prices are on par with what you'd expect. Haven't tried the buffet though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SPICE also viewed

 

Been to SPICE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SPICE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.