We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG what was that!!!! Checked out early!! No questions asked” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Horseshoe Resort to your Saves list
Horseshoe Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Horseshoe Valley Road West, Barrie, Ontario L4M 4Y8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OMG what was that!!!! Checked out early!! No questions asked”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

When I seen the wag jag package for this resort! I thought wow! Perfect! A great family getaway for a family of 6 before going back to school! I did research before booking this package so I thought I would be staying in a renovated condo! NO WAY! The guy at the front desk said all 8 were taken, so I got the oldie one!!! Maybe in 1970 it look great, the parking had less stains on the pavement! Than our carpet did!!! It was so disgusting we had to leave our shoes on the whole time! The kitchen was sick! The dishes looked like they were never washed, fridge was room temp, main bedroom only sheets on it! Wallpaper peeling everywhere! Walls filthy!! Bathrooms had to shower with flip flops on etc etc All activities closed down at 6 so in bed or watch tv in the room was all to do!! Totally needs a huge facelift , including pool area and some more entertainment!!! What a waste of money sooooo disappointed

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to post your impressions.

We have been making consistent investments in the resort as we continue to renovate and improve these units.

I was sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your stay and I do hope you return once the units are reconditioned.

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    110
    57
    53
    58
See reviews for
194
101
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom "Slope Side" condo's Aug 9th & 10th and we were very disappointed in the property overall. Specifically, the condo was discussing and the decor very dated and banged up, probability looked great in 1979 however it is long overdue for an update. The carpet was covered in stains and no one in my family would even walk on the floor without slippers. The bath rooms were also very dated and tired looking but more importantly, both bathrooms looked “unclean”. When my 13 year old son tells me “it’s not too clean here dad” believe me, his standard is not set too high.
When I mentioned my concerns at check out, they instantly told me they would take 25% off the room rate of about $300 which was appreciated however when checking my bill in the car, they had ADDED $50.00 so I had to go back to the front desk to get it corrected.
I have placed some pictures so you can judge for yourself....

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to post your impressions.

I was sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay and I sincerely apologize for the mix up with your invoice.

Please give me a call at the resort to discuss.

Thank you,
Lisa R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

4 of us came to the Horseshoe resort after purchasing a wagjag deal for the adventure park.
I should have done my homework better. I should have just booked a room for less money since we were not able to use any of the facilities due to lack of time and ability. Our rooms were nice, overlooking the golf course, and we could enjoy the sunset from there. Beds were comfy and bathroom is great with a big shower. 2 of us enjoyed the spa facilities for massages and a pedicure, although they were rather pricey, which I guess is to be expected.
We ate at the Crazy Horse restaurant out on the balcony which was lovely. The service and food were good. Breakfast was a hot buffet in the hotel. Very good selection for a decent price of $14.
One thing we noticed was that no matter how many staff we passed in halls or outside they all welcomed us or said hello or even stopped to chat as we were waiting for the elevator. Very friendly. Lorna at the concierge desk was especially helpful and friendly as we passed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review.

I was delighted with your comments regarding the shizen spa, accommodations, the crazy horse restaurant, staff and service. I have shared your comments with the rest of the Horseshoe team.

I look forward to you returning and experiencing the adventure park.

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

When I think resort, I think high quality, up to date, well kept. We had a condo for 2 nights which was in MAJOR MAJOR need of repair and renovation. It included everything we needed, full kitchen, dishwasher, laundry but I couldn't get passed the feeling that everything FELT dirty. Having the screened it balcony was great though the carpet was torn to shreds & the chairs are cheap & uncomfortable. The beds were comfy. Pool loungers were amazing and our view overlooking the hill was great. The pool by the condos needs a major overhaul though it has a nice new deck. The adventure park was good, we got a day pass for the kids which we thought was priced right and the zip lining is worth the price of admission. My husband golfed & found a great price on golfnow.com but said it's pretty basic & wouldn't pay for a regular green fee. They've obviously put the money into the adventure park & not accommodations. None of us appreciated being awoken to horrible music blaring through the tree speakers at 9am one morning and the next the sound of construction while a backhoe and trucks did whatever they were doing outside our window (and our view). If I wanted to hear construction, I'd've stayed in the city. Fun for the kids, if they could bring the accommodations up to par of the adventure park it'd be worth the stay.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your impressions.

We have been making consistent investments in the resort as we continue to renovate and improve. We have renovated the top floor of the two bedroom condo building along with the stairwells & elevator and we will be moving forward with further renovations. All of our guest rooms in the hotel are completely renovated.

I was delighted you enjoyed your time in the adventure park with your family, found the unit to have everything you needed including comfortable beds.

I will follow up on your comments regarding music and construction as there wasn't any construction scheduled for August.

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We enjoyed two nights at the Horseshoe Resort with our young children. Service was terrific, especially Ivan at the front desk. So helpful and friendly! Meals at Crazy Horse restaurant were pretty good and service was fast. I enjoyed that the Adventure Park was open to the public and that you didn't necessarily have to pay for all the activities if you didn't want to. Zipline was fun. Pony ride great! $5 for 5 minutes. Definitely need to have more staff for Euro Bungy so that the line up isn't as long. Surprised that there was only a shower and not a bathtub, though it was fine for the most part. Also would have liked towels in the pool area. Fabulous spa services-Christopher is an amazing masseuse! We had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking a moment to post your review.

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed a great family getaway and found the service of our team to be terrific! I will share all of your comments with the Horseshoe Team, specifically wiith Ivan and Christopher.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort.

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had to ask multiple times for tickets and supper supplies which were supposed to be included. Lines were way too long at adventure park. We waited for some rides for up an hour. Pools were very cold.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to post your review.

I apologize that you were disappointed with your experience and will follow up with your comments. Our Adventure Park has had lots of action with all of our activities and adventures.

Please feel free to give me a call to discuss.

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband, three sons and I spent this past weekend at Horseshoe. I can't say enough about the staff...extremely friendly and professional. The hotel and grounds were clean and it is a gorgeous property, but the website is very misleading. I was under the impression that all the things on your Adventure Park video were included, but very sadly, found that very little was in fact included. My older kids were too big for the Euro-Bungee and only one zip-line ticket was included. Even if we wanted to spend the extra money for zip-lining, tree trekking, segways, bikes and buggies, we couldn't because everything was fully booked. :( If I had been told by the person on the phone to book ahead, the experience would have been so much better. What could have been a wonderful, exciting weekend ended up being boring. Very sad. We spent a heck of a lot of money to pretty much sit around the hotel lobby all weekend.

The weather was awful on Saturday (no fault of Horseshoe obviously) and everything at the Adventure Park was closed. I wish there were some indoor activities for my little guy. Maybe a movie day in one of the conference rooms would have been a nice idea for rain days. There is only so much swimming a kid can do and that's the only option he had on Saturday.

Again, I appreciate the great service and beautiful hotel, but at over $800 for two nights, I was very disappointed in general.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review.

I really appreciate your comments regarding our staff, our service and the resort grounds.

I sincerely apologize for your experience and would like to discuss this with you further, please give me a call at the resort.

Sincerely,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horseshoe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Resort

Address: 1101 Horseshoe Valley Road West, Barrie, Ontario L4M 4Y8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Horseshoe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's 4 seasons of adventure waiting for you at Horseshoe Resort, only one hour north of Toronto. Whether you're here for family fun, an inspired meeting at our Conference Centre or a romantic getaway, there's a whole world of things to do. Imagine 26 Alpine ski and snowboard runs, 35 kms of groomed double track set Nordic trails, terrain park with over 20 features, two full championship golf courses, three restaurants, Shizen Spa, hot tubs, saunas, Segway Off-road Adventures, Yamaha Riding Adventures, Advenuture Buggie Tours, Treetop Trekking, Horseback riding, Hummer Tours, indoor and outdoor pool, fitness facilities and weekly classes, a 10 acre driving range, putting green, hiking and biking trails through the breathtaking Copeland Forest, Kids Korral and the Horseshoe Adventure Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Horseshoe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Hotel Barrie
Horseshoe Resort Barrie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseshoe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.