We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated slope side condo stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Horseshoe Resort to your Saves list
Horseshoe Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Horseshoe Valley Road West, Barrie, Ontario L4M 4Y8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Stratford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Renovated slope side condo stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My family of five including two children (9 and 12) and grandma stayed last week in a fifth floor, fully renovated condo. The condo had two bedrooms, the master with its own bathroom and king bed, a second bedroom with a queen bed, and it also had a new pull out sofa bed in the living room. There is a second bathroom across the hall from the back bedroom. The back bedroom is off the condo entrance and access balcony walk and comes with room darkening plantation shutters. FYI there is another empty small room with a window as you come into the condo which is carpeted and can be used to store empty suitcases, any equipment for hiking, etc. or could even be used for another bedroom in a pinch. The condo has a full kitchen with mostly everything you would need to prepare meals. It is one of the better ones I have used while on a holiday and has a stove, oven, microwave, full sized fridge, dishwasher, big sink, toaster....dishes, pots and pans, coffee mugs, glasses of all description, cutlery, and dish soap all provided. Bring your own paper towels/napkins though. The bathrooms had a small quantity of shampoo and conditioner and two full towels in each bathroom so you may want to bring a few of your own or ask for more as there is no maid service provided during your stay in the condos. A hairdryer was provided as well. There is a washer and dryer in the condo and after requesting laundry soap, we were able to take care of keeping our towels fresh and wash some of our clothes and swim suits. The condo is spacious and we didn't hear any noise during out stay, the beds were new and comfortable, and the televisions were new as well. One is in the master bedroom and one is just behind it in the living room. Our condo had a fireplace which we didn't use so I won't comment on and beyond a sliding door was a glassed in, mosquito netted balcony room equipped with chaise loungers and overlooking the pool and ski hills. These condos look to have been finished quite quickly in time for the season so a few small details have been missed like a vacuum cleaner or broom for clean-ups would be nice (a broom was provided upon request), extra dish clothes and towels, some windex for cleaning up the bathroom mirrors. We stayed for five days so without such cleaning items keeping the condo clean was a bit of a challenge. There needs to be a toilet roll holder put up in the master bathroom as well, the hairdryer needs to be affixed to the wall as well, and a doorstop would be great in the front door of the condo. When we arrived we weren't able to access the internet in 506 but they fixed the problem the next day. The condo was well situated and very comfortable for my family of five.
While at the resort, we went to the Adventure Park and both my girls had a good time. We all had a zip line ride but didn't make it to the OGO balls unfortunately as we ran out of time. On another day, we all went tree top trekking although we broke into two separate groups as my youngest wasn't tall enough to do the "adult" course and my mom wouldn't have been able to do it either so we climbed the "child" course and it was challenging enough for us. My husband and eldest daughter thoroughly enjoyed their adventure on the bigger course. On another day, we learned how to ride dirt bikes at Yamaha Adventures and while it is a bit more of a hit on the pocket book, we had a brilliant time learning that skill. We were fully covered in protective gear and all the instructors were professional and patient. The Segways were also pretty cool according to my husband and eldest daughter who spent a half day learning how to navigate the trails around Horseshoe. My girls both went swimming in the condo pool and had a great time and neither mentioned it being cold.
Barrie is about a twenty minute drive away if you want to pop out for a movie or shop, and there is a grocery store five minutes down the road as well. A few other restaurant options are also about five minutes by car from the resort. We had a fabulous time and will return another time.

Room Tip: The fifth floor condos have all been renovated but the other floors have not yet been done! If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments & feedback on our newly renovated Slopeside condo units. I have forwarded your suggestions to our management team.

I was delighted to hear your family of five had a fabulous time, enjoyed the condo and many of our adventures.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thank you,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    110
    57
    53
    58
See reviews for
194
101
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Room: checked into room 112 with a view of a wood she's infront of window - we originally asked for valley view room. Went to front desk and they switched us to room 130 - much better! Beautiful view.
The room was pretty clean except for the carpet, it had grass all over the place.

Pool:
The small pool is nice at the inn. We were a bit disappointed in the big pool because while relaxing on Monday a children day camp came in and were splashing and running around. The counsellors were laying on loungers - not paying much attention to kids.

Dining: crazy horse has good food- basic bar foods! Service was good. Silks was not worth the prices of most dishes. We found it a bit pricey for our meals and the servers were not attentive - my husband was not impressed with his meal (duck) his rice was not cooked. We had 3 different people bringing us food and drinks and waiting 25 mins for our bill to be brought to us. We were disappointed

The layout of horseshoe is great! If you have kids it would be an awesome getaway for the family- not so much for couples.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us for your anniversary and posting your review. Happy Anniversary!

I was happy to hear our Front Desk accommodated you with a ValleyView guest room.

I am sorry you found your experience to be mediocre and I will follow up with our management teams on your comments and feedback.

Please feel free to give me a call to discuss.

Thank you,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We only had a couple of days for holidays and I needed to ensure we got the best bang for our buck. We didn't have time to go Niagara way, so I looked north, and east. Horseshoe Resort offered "free golf with room" and it was by far the best price. I had been reading the reviews here and was hesitant as the reviews were either wonderful, or horrible. I booked online, and hadn't been able to get a response re how to book our tee time (booking online required payment and our golf was to be free) but I popped a note here on Tripadvisor and immediately got a response from Lisa, who took care of everything - Lisa even called when we were at the resort. We played golf all day! The room was in great shape - clean, newly renovated. The staff was very friendly and the weather was the best all summer. We did a quick walkabout, but we went to play golf, and we did. We ate our meals at the Crazy Horse and all was tasty (little expensive) ......only thing I would do differently next time would be to bring more food, as there is a beer fridge in the room.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
It was a great decision to stay with us as you list all of the reasons why. Thank you for posting your comments.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed golf all day and found our staff to be very friendly.

Please feel free to give me a call in advance of your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were running a golf tournament for two days for 33 folks. Every single person who we dealt with over our two day stay from the golf cart staff to the reception desk to the chef were most polite and accommodating. It was one of the most enjoyable hotels experiences that we have had in the last few years. They are doing an excellent job in all respects.

Room Tip: The rooms on the left side of the hotel overlook the golf course, the ones on the right are quiet bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for having your golf tournament at Horseshoe and posting your review.

I have forwarded your comments to the rest of the Horseshoe team specifically our golf staff.
Your comments will energize them and put smiles on their faces. Thank you!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our room have some flies . We stay at the resort for two nights and never changed the bathroom towels . No shampoo in the bathroom . outdoor pool not available at that time .
Breakfast is pricey . Parks should open earlier than 11:00 AM

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting your comments and feedback.

We continue to improve at the resort and we value our guest feedback. I will follow up on your comments.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

A great family resort, well appointed with a lot of activities. Our family enjoyed the scenery, the clean modern rooms and our kids enjoyed the zip line and OGO. We had a great view on the third floor of the Inn, looking at a golf green from our sunken living room in a loft suite. The only negative and it is a big one is there is no bathroom door in the second floor bathroom. Sorry, I may be cool but I'm not that cool! Besides that everything was very nice. Also would have been nice to have thinner, softer pillows.

Room Tip: Upper floor, valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review.

I was delighted you had a very nice stay with your family and enjoyed our Loft suite.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We decided to get away for a few days for my boyfriends birthday and I knew he wanted to do zip lining so Horseshoe seemed like the perfect spot. Room was clean and comfortable; staff was very friendly, and we did enjoy our few days away. A few things that I question; 1.) both pools were very cold making it difficult to enjoy, 2.) although the food was great, there is no where to go for a light breakfast or lunch (only option for breakfast is buffet at $14.00 each), two options for places to eat are dining room or pub which makes it pricey. 3.) very quiet with little to do after dinner (park closes at 6:00, no entertainment or games area) and nothing close by if you leave the resort. Would be nice if they had some activities in the evening! We enjoyed our stay and enjoyed the zipline but not much else to do unless you are there with children and then it can get pricey with activities during the day.

Room Tip: If you are going with children, choose a room with a small kitchenette and stop for groceries on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for celebrating your boyfriend's birthday with us and posting your comments and feedback. Please wish him a very Happy Birthday from Horseshoe Resort!

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your few days away and found your guest room to be clean and comfortable and staff friendly.

I will follow up on your comment regarding the pools being cold, thank you for letting us know. Please do come back and stay in our two bedroom condo complete with kitchenette.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Many thanks
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horseshoe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Resort

Address: 1101 Horseshoe Valley Road West, Barrie, Ontario L4M 4Y8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Horseshoe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's 4 seasons of adventure waiting for you at Horseshoe Resort, only one hour north of Toronto. Whether you're here for family fun, an inspired meeting at our Conference Centre or a romantic getaway, there's a whole world of things to do. Imagine 26 Alpine ski and snowboard runs, 35 kms of groomed double track set Nordic trails, terrain park with over 20 features, two full championship golf courses, three restaurants, Shizen Spa, hot tubs, saunas, Segway Off-road Adventures, Yamaha Riding Adventures, Advenuture Buggie Tours, Treetop Trekking, Horseback riding, Hummer Tours, indoor and outdoor pool, fitness facilities and weekly classes, a 10 acre driving range, putting green, hiking and biking trails through the breathtaking Copeland Forest, Kids Korral and the Horseshoe Adventure Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Horseshoe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Hotel Barrie
Horseshoe Resort Barrie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseshoe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.