We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the low rate we paid” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road

Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road to your Saves list
Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Essa Rd., Barrie, Ontario L4N 3L1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Trips, 1 Night Free*
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth the low rate we paid”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We got a very good rate for our group when we stayed for a soccer tournament in July. Beds were comfortable. The room was very basic with a small fridge that we had requested. Carpets need cleaning. Very basic breakfast, no pool, difficult to entertain a group of kids.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you are not comfortable with stairs be sure to get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

We hope to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
25
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tillsonburg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This review is from my visit to this hotel this past winter. A few colleagues and I had booked two rooms as we were participating in a curling tournament that weekend. I had reserved both rooms under my name and credit card and made the reservations over the phone as we were able to get a discount because of the tournament.

Upon arrival the man at the front counter told us that only one of our rooms was ready as the second one was still being cleaned, therefore we grabbed the keys and unloaded all of our luggage in the one available room and headed over to the rink for the day. At about 10:30pm we returned and attempt to check in to our second room as we told the front desk we would. The lady proceeded to tell me that our reservation only showed the one room, that we did not book two rooms and that the hotel was full for the night and they could not offer us a room. After approximately 10 minutes of me asking this lady how 12 hours ago I had two rooms reserved and now only have one, she continued to tell me that she couldn't do anything and that her manager would be in at 7am and I could speak to the manager regarding the situation.

...... It is 10:45pm by now and the lady at the front desk told me that I could speak to the manager at 7am... SERIOUSLY?! The lady continued to be not help at all, she didn't even offer to call other hotels to see if they had any rooms or ANYTHING! The other female colleague I was with decided to let our two males colleagues have the one room and her and I walked up the road (at minus 20 degrees) to the Holiday Inn. The holiday was a bit more expensive however I have never been so thankfully for a hotel!

This experience really made me question this hotel... how do you just give away someones room. And say it does happen, technology and all... how is it okay to be completely useless and not even offer us a phone book to call another hotel in the city OR tell use we can speak to her manager in 8+ hours.

Beyond disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank You for writing a review about your experience this past winter.

My Sincerest apologies about your experience. I understand how this experience would have been frustrating for you.

As you can understand, without more information, I have no way of investigating this incident. However, I cannot apologize enough.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can provide you with a more superior and better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stay at this hotel on June20th & 21st 2014 & would not stay there again.First the carpets in the halls as well as in our room need to be changed ,they are so dirty and stained.There was only seating for 4 people in the suite, as there was suppose to be 5 of us this would have posed a problem if all 5 would have been there. One person was sick the morning we were leaving. There was no table and chairs in our suite & when I went down to inquire as why there wasn't any the young fella at the desk looked up something on the computer & after about 5 mins informed me that there wasn't any for this particluar suite. I asked then what if the 5th person had come where was he to sit as the only other seat was the computer chair other than a 3 seater couch?? I asked if we could at least have another chair such as a sofa chair but he said he would check but couldn't guarantee it. Never did get one. The air conditioner in the bedroom wasn't the greatest either. Also on Saturday as we were getting ready to leave for a wedding the cleaning girl came and we told her we would be leaving in few minutes, when we returned all she had done was change the towels she didn't even clean the bathroom as the sink still had hair & toothpaste in it.The morning we were leaving there wasn't even any place to sit for breakfast & with no table in our room we checked out and went to a restaurant for breakfast even though it came with the reservation.Needless to say we never left a tip.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before checking in as the postings for the rooms are not what is advertised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience.

Our apologies that the Suite that you had reserved did not have adequate seating for both you and your party. The specific suite that you had stayed in is not advertised to have a dining room table with chairs, though I will look into this option for the future.

We do apologize that you weren't able to sit in the breakfast area. Trays are provided for guests to bring breakfast back to their rooms when traffic is heavy in that area.

We will review the matter with our housekeeping management to ensure that future guests do not experience similar issues.

I do hope you enjoyed the wedding and hope that the remainder of the summer is an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Having stayed at this hotel several times in the past this time I was extremely disappointed!
the room looked as if it had been poorly vacuumed and my first impression was that it wasn't very clean. I had reserved four rooms at the time of booking, six months in advance of our stay, and had requested rooms with refrigerators. On check-in I was advised that there were no refrigerators in our rooms as they had been moved to the rooms that had workers staying there for long term stays. Of the two ice machines one was broken and the other one was usually empty. The back door exits, although they had disposal bins for cigarette butts, were littered with butts all over the ground. When this was pointed out to the management there was no effort to even clean this up. One of our party's room was not serviced on the day that they were away. They front lobby and a staircase to the lobby was littered with cereal that had been taken from the lobby. Although the staff was friendly there were no offers of compensation for any of our inconveniences. This Comfort Inn is certainly not upholding the high standard that this chain usually offers. Unfortunately we will not be booking here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel and bringing these issues to the attention of Management.

First, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Due to the time of day that you had arrived at the hotel, Guest Services did notify Management first thing in the morning. Sorry that we could not relocate your room due to full occupancy in the hotel last weekend.

My apologies that the carpet was not vacuumed to the highest standards, Superior room cleanliness is always our top priority.

One of our ice machines is currently awaiting repairs and parts have been ordered by our repair company. Unfortunately I cannot expedite this process as I am sure you understand. The other machine does produce ice, and due to the volume of guests in the hotel using the available ice machine, it may have been in the process of producing more ice at the time you visited. None-the-less, this did create a negative impression during your stay and for that I do apologize..

Several guests choose to smoke around the door entrances/exits, and this can create issues for non-smoking guests, and I assure you that the cigarette butts are cleaned daily. I did clean them up the morning of your departure.


Overall, my greatest apologies for these above experiences. I would still like an opportunity for you to have a much better experience. We will do our best to ensure that your experience will be a more enjoyable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Hair on the bed, the cover was frayed, and even though got a non smoking room, the bed smelled of smoke because they probably wash it with bedding from smoking rooms. Pillows are very soft and small. Room is cold.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank You for taking time to write a review on your stay with our hotel.

My sincerest apologies for finding a hair on the bed.

We have recently converted all of our bedding and pillows. We now offer two types of pillows, both firm and soft, and the pillows are much larger. Our bedding has been converted over to duvets and coverlets, and I am sure that you will find the new bedding program much better.

Unfortunately the room temperature preference changes from guest to guest, as we do our best to control the temperature for arrivals.

We do hope that you will return again to try out our new bedding and breakfast menu items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Spent two weeks here on business. Overall it's an okay place to get some rest. Decent breakfast and all but one of the staff were very kind and helpful. I'll stay again on my next visit because of it's location, reasonable rate and generally warm service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank You for completing your online review about your two week stay with our hotel.

Your feedback will be relayed back to our staff so that we can ensure customer service always exceeds expectations.

Each day we are serving different menu items for breakfast including bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, patties, omelettes and pea meal bacon. We are glad that the breakfast experience for you was decent.

Currently, all of our bedding has been upgraded so that we can provide guests with a more satisfactory rest.

We look forward to having you back again for your next business trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for a volleyball tournament March 3-5. The hotel had a great rate for those staying for the tournament and included a decent hot and cold breakfast. The room was an adequate size for two, and for the most part the hotel was quite comfortable.It was located in a great location right off the highway and close to many eateries. Nevertheless, there were a few issues. Our toilet got plugged 3 times during our 3 day stay and despite prompt service from maintenance they never really did resolve the issue. Although cleanliness was not an issue, I did notice a morsel of muffin that remained on the carpet in the hallway for the 3 days. For the most part, the front desk were friendly and dealt with all our issues satisfactorily.The bed and pillows were extremely soft, and didn't lead to a good night's rest. I don't think we'd return, but all in all there could have been worse places to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank You for writing a review on your recent stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites Barrie.

We are happy that the stay during the Volleyball Tournament was satisfactory, and do apologize about the maintenance issue with the toilet. We do our best to maintain cleanliness in both guest rooms and public areas.

Our bedding program is being updated in the late Spring/ Early Summer, and we will have two pillow choices on the bed both firm and soft, as-well-as duvets and new coverlets.

We do hope that you will return should you be in the Barrie Area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road

Address: 210 Essa Rd., Barrie, Ontario L4N 3L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Canada, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road Hotel Barrie
Barrie Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;