We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road

Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road to your Saves list
Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Essa Rd., Barrie, Ontario L4N 3L1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“overpriced for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Hair on the bed, the cover was frayed, and even though got a non smoking room, the bed smelled of smoke because they probably wash it with bedding from smoking rooms. Pillows are very soft and small. Room is cold.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank You for taking time to write a review on your stay with our hotel.

My sincerest apologies for finding a hair on the bed.

We have recently converted all of our bedding and pillows. We now offer two types of pillows, both firm and soft, and the pillows are much larger. Our bedding has been converted over to duvets and coverlets, and I am sure that you will find the new bedding program much better.

Unfortunately the room temperature preference changes from guest to guest, as we do our best to control the temperature for arrivals.

We do hope that you will return again to try out our new bedding and breakfast menu items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
26
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Spent two weeks here on business. Overall it's an okay place to get some rest. Decent breakfast and all but one of the staff were very kind and helpful. I'll stay again on my next visit because of it's location, reasonable rate and generally warm service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank You for completing your online review about your two week stay with our hotel.

Your feedback will be relayed back to our staff so that we can ensure customer service always exceeds expectations.

Each day we are serving different menu items for breakfast including bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, patties, omelettes and pea meal bacon. We are glad that the breakfast experience for you was decent.

Currently, all of our bedding has been upgraded so that we can provide guests with a more satisfactory rest.

We look forward to having you back again for your next business trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for a volleyball tournament March 3-5. The hotel had a great rate for those staying for the tournament and included a decent hot and cold breakfast. The room was an adequate size for two, and for the most part the hotel was quite comfortable.It was located in a great location right off the highway and close to many eateries. Nevertheless, there were a few issues. Our toilet got plugged 3 times during our 3 day stay and despite prompt service from maintenance they never really did resolve the issue. Although cleanliness was not an issue, I did notice a morsel of muffin that remained on the carpet in the hallway for the 3 days. For the most part, the front desk were friendly and dealt with all our issues satisfactorily.The bed and pillows were extremely soft, and didn't lead to a good night's rest. I don't think we'd return, but all in all there could have been worse places to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank You for writing a review on your recent stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites Barrie.

We are happy that the stay during the Volleyball Tournament was satisfactory, and do apologize about the maintenance issue with the toilet. We do our best to maintain cleanliness in both guest rooms and public areas.

Our bedding program is being updated in the late Spring/ Early Summer, and we will have two pillow choices on the bed both firm and soft, as-well-as duvets and new coverlets.

We do hope that you will return should you be in the Barrie Area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here for a broom ball tournament in Feb. 2014 with children. Nice easy location, Tim Hortons, Wendy's and Pizza Hut are all next door which was very convenient. Lots of free parking and free wifi. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was included, with a good variety, everything looked good but nothing tasted that great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites.

Our staff are pleased that you enjoyed your stay; we strive to provide everybody with the best service.

If you can contact the hotel and provide feedback on the breakfast items and improvements that you would like to see for your next visit to our hotel, it would be greatly appreciated. Our management has taken great strides to improve the overall quality of our breakfast items.

We look forward to having both you and your family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor ontario
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend for a broomball event. Rooms were clean, service was great, staff were friendly. As soon as the snow began, the exits were salted. We had the continental breakfast, the bagel I took had mold on it, muffins were dry. So next day we just had fruits and yogurt.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We appreciate your taking time to write your review.

Excellent Customer Service is always our focus.

My sincerest apologies about your breakfast experience. We will thoroughly review the quality of our breads and pastries to ensure that there is not a repeat of this incident.

We look forward to having your team back, should you be back in Barrie for a future broomball event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MITCHELL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Always a pleasure to stay here. The breakfast was great and even the last morning when we had to be up and gone long before breakfast was served there was muffins, coffee, yogurt, juice etc for us....see you in February....The only disadvantage is the fact is that is no elevator although there are some rooms that you can go in the level but then you are a long way from the elevator....Not a big deal for us...

Room Tip: 228...great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank You for your kind words. We are happy that we were able to meet your needs.

Our hotel offers first and second floor ground level access should you need a walk in floor in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in February.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lets start with the good. The location is just off the 400 highway, there is a Tim Hortons next door and a couple other restaraunts within walking distance. Check in was quick and check out. We paid for the room with Choice Rewards points so thankfully it didn't cost us any actual money! The king suite was quite large and would have been really nice if someone went to the effort of either steam cleaning the carpet and furniture or replacing it. The arms of the chairs where quite dirty and worn. The french doors needed a good wiping down and the glass cleaned, as well as the bathroom door.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank You for your comments. I am most pleased that you were able to reap the rewards of your Choice Privileges Membership. Our location off of the 400 highway and next to restaurants is a plus for our guests. Also, Thank You for your feedback on the room that you stayed in during your visit with us. I will work at bettering the quality of our guest experiences for both you and our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road

Address: 210 Essa Rd., Barrie, Ontario L4N 3L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Choice Canada so you can book your Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road Hotel Barrie
Barrie Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.