We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for a nights stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Toronto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“good for a nights stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

Average rooms, well maintained. A new addition appears to be almost finished. As a result there was no pool but I knew that before going. Fridge and microwave in the room was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    62
    29
    12
    17
See reviews for
59
50
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

I am going to start with the good.
The front end staff at this resort are very professional and always smiling and engaging. I say thanks to them as it makes a big difference.
The rooms were clean and spacious. The noise level was not bad at all.
Things that bothered and even may have changed my mind on staying here is the fact they are under construction and finding a parking spot was almost impossible. Where I was told to park left me worried that my car may get hit by another that night.
Second the continental breakfast left alot to be desired. Cold coffee.
I think if a property is under going reservations perhaps you should be told that on the phone.

  • Liked — The Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Construction and snow removal
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

I had a great stay at the best western in barrie this past summer.
The front desk clerk a young girl was very pleasent and had a great smile. We were a early check in and because they were not busy from the night before she was able to move us around and get us checked in at 11 am. I appreciated the effort.
The breakfast room has a great deal of food for a continental breakfast, the rooms were clean and bright. They did have smoking rooms on the same floor as our room, but it could only be smelt outside of those rooms in that section of the hall.
Great rates, they said they were starting construction for an addition with a pool and a hot tub that will be opening next summer. Therefore I will be returning next summer if not before then!

  • Liked — the cleanliness and front desk staff
  • Disliked — The hotel staff don't get paid enough for what they do!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2007

The hotel looked good from the panaromic pictures I found on their website. And indeed it was a little gem. The staff were very friendly and obliging. The room very spacious with a fridge and microwave.

However the location was a real let-down. Situated near the junction with the highway and at the end of Dunlop Street, it has its share of sex shops, very tatty almost shanty type roads nearby and looks generally rundown. I can't believe that as this is the first glimpse tourist get of Barrie that it's not been regenerated.

My advice, get a hirecar and don't walk as we did.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2005

We were stranded overnight during a snowstorm and our vehicle had broken down. We spent all of our money on the room. We found this hotel to be the most reasonable in the area. My family of 4 had no personal items as we were not planning on getting stranded (just a day trip). The girl on the front desk was more than helpful! She gave us basic provisions (toothbrushes, etc.) and even opened the breakfast area late at night to give us some food to comfort us. The room was spotless and comfortable. The hotel was safe, and clean, and quiet. We will not hesitate to stay here again next time we visit Barrie. A very positive experience!

  • Stayed April 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2003

I stayed here in august of 2002, and was appalled by the customer service provided by both the manager and front desk clerk. they had lost our reservations for a smoking room for four adults, and then proceeded to argue with me and outright call me a liar, saying that i did not make the reservations that i said i had even though i had a confirmation number, and had confirmed my reservations 3 times! I would never stay there again, especially since there are many hotels of the same caliber in this lovely city.

  • Stayed August 2002
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Address: 35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Oak Hotel Barrie
Best Western Barrie
Barrie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn Barrie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.