We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights while I was in town for business. It's a great location right by the highway.

The rooms are great, newly renovated, comfortable bed and sitting area. Hot breakfast was adequate.

The only negative about the hotel was the bathroom, it looked out of place in the newly renovated room.
The paint was peeling off the walls and was completely run down.

I would stay here again and even more so if the bathrooms got an update like the rest of the place.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property as your input is important to us. The Best Western Royal Oak Inn does have a great central location in Barrie with easy access to Highway 400. We are glad you enjoyed your guestroom and found our beds comfortable! We will be making updates to our bathrooms in the near future. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bancroft, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Room was clean and spacious, with outdoor access for easy loading and unloading of car. Checking in and out went smoothly. Full bacon, egg, waffle, juice, bagel, yogurt, fruit, cereal breakfast was included. Easy access to highway 400. Dining in area is available. Good value. We would return.

Room Tip: Ground floor good for parking lot access from your room, but may be a bit noisier than upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandSharon766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate your wonderful comments! Many guests like the spacious rooms and agree the access with the patio doors on the ground floor are a great bonus! We are glad you enjoyed our free hot breakfast. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is an older hotel, which we didn't really know, and next time we will definately pick something newer..and cleaner! The first room they put us in had mould on the ceiling in the bathroom. I quickly said something and asked for another room. The next room was better, but also had mould in the corner of the tub. By this point I was too tired to change rooms again, so we just stayed. The breakfast they offer is very limited-nothing healthy at all-only apples and bananas for fruit, no egg whites, lots of starchy muffins and bread, greasy eggs and sausage or bacon, and waffles. Not a great breakfast of you like to eat relatively healthy. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Your feedback is important to us! We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent visit to our hotel. We will ensure maintenance and housekeeping investigate your concerns as this is not something typical with our property. Many of our guests also enjoy our Executive Section of the property which was completed just over 4 years ago and we hope you will consider this option in the future. Our complimentary hot breakfast is offered to all of our guests. We do our best to offer a variety of choices to meet different needs including healthy choices such as yogurt, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal and skim milk. We will continue to look at other options to meet our guests' needs. Thank you again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton NB
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed here because we trust the Best Western name and because of a recommendation from our son who stayed here last year. The check-in was fast, the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and smelled that way. I don't like walking into a motel room that reeks of Febreeze or some other highly perfumed cleaning solution.

The place was quiet and the beds are very comfortable with an excess of pillows, something my husband appreciated. :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredCouple68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your loyalty to Best Western! It is a wonderful compliment when we are recommended by one of our guests! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and many guests enjoy the choice of both soft and firm pillows on each of our beds! We will be sure to share your wonderful comments about our Front Desk and Housekeeping Staff with our team! We hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port credit,ontario, canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I just finish stay at the Best Western Royal Oak in. The check in was quick and professional, the desk person i believe her name was Arlene was overly welcoming and gave us everything we needed to make our stay wonderful. i stayed on the 4th floor and had a large oversized roon which smelled very clean and had plenty of room to spread out. There was no noise at night which resulted in a great night sleep in a wonderful bed and lots of pillow. The shower had lots of pressure and the bathroom was well lit. I had a great free breakfast the next morning and went on my way.
i recommend this hotel, and i will be back soon.

Room Tip: ask for the new wing and the fourth floor, facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keonii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We enjoy hearing from our guests! Thank you for both recommending our hotel and stating we are the "Best Hotel in Barrie". We are proud to have received Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence for 2013 & 2014!

We have a wonderful team and we want to ensure our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. We are glad you had a positive experience and a good nights sleep! Many of our guests enjoy the complimentary Hot Breakfast each morning. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We are always well treated at this BW. We have been here many times these past few years. Very nice staff. A great morning breakfast. Handy location to the 400. Many hotel improvements in recent years.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank randy1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
It is a pleasure to welcome our guests back to the Best Western Royal Oak Inn! Our staff enjoy seeing you each visit and we are happy you noticed the improvements we have made as we continue to re-invest in our hotel! We agree that we have a great complimentary Hot Breakfast and it has become a favourite with many of our guests. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again on your next visit to Barrie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaughan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I found rests of beer cases in the fridge, the sliding door to the parking lot was open, towels were missing, the entry keys to the room didn't work. All this while I was away working. I reported to the desk and asked to see the security cameras footage but they refused. STAY AWAY OF THIS S-HOLE.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Bernardo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent visit. We want to assure you that the camera footage has been viewed by Management and no one had access to your guestroom. Each guestroom has a mini fridge for our guests' convenience and we apologize if our housekeeping missed anything in the fridge. Guest room keys can become unusable if they are put near a cell phone or anything magnetic. Our Guest Services would be happy to provide new room keys upon request. Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
0.2 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#16 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Address: 35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Oak Hotel Barrie
Best Western Barrie
Barrie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing