We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Hotel with a great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sudbury
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Quiet Hotel with a great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We are always well treated at this BW. We have been here many times these past few years. Very nice staff. A great morning breakfast. Handy location to the 400. Many hotel improvements in recent years.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
It is a pleasure to welcome our guests back to the Best Western Royal Oak Inn! Our staff enjoy seeing you each visit and we are happy you noticed the improvements we have made as we continue to re-invest in our hotel! We agree that we have a great complimentary Hot Breakfast and it has become a favourite with many of our guests. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again on your next visit to Barrie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    66
    31
    17
    20
See reviews for
64
52
11
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
vaughan, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I found rests of beer cases in the fridge, the sliding door to the parking lot was open, towels were missing, the entry keys to the room didn't work. All this while I was away working. I reported to the desk and asked to see the security cameras footage but they refused. STAY AWAY OF THIS S-HOLE.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent visit. We want to assure you that the camera footage has been viewed by Management and no one had access to your guestroom. Each guestroom has a mini fridge for our guests' convenience and we apologize if our housekeeping missed anything in the fridge. Guest room keys can become unusable if they are put near a cell phone or anything magnetic. Our Guest Services would be happy to provide new room keys upon request. Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

this hotel is very clean and the people working there are friendly. has a nice pool and hot tub. the breakfast was excellent; it had sausages, bacon and cold hard boiled eggs for protein. the lady working in the breakfast room had orientation the day before and it was her first time solo; she was excellent. the hotel is easy to get to. they did run out of towels at the pool and they could have had 2 waffle makers but those are the only things I noticed could be improved. The beds were very comfortable, there were 3 people in the room and we all slept great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and had a great sleep. Thank you for sharing your comments about our friendly staff and the cleanliness of our property. We are glad you found our complimentary hot breakfast to be excellent. On busy weekends, towels can run out when guests use multiple towels and we apologize for this inconvenience. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

First of all, we notice a soil comforter on our bed, then all night we heard voices coming from all around... babies, kids, men screaming, the place is not insulated for noise. I felt like scratching all night. I just felt llike this place needs a good cleaning, feels grungy, smelly! So.... we crossed over to the Quality Inn next door, yes it look older from the outside, but so much better inside then the Best Western... there we had everything up to our expectation and stayed for the rest of our vacation.

Room Tip: Quality Inn... Perfect place, you will be surprised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Your satisfaction is important to us! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Based on the information you provided, you did not stay in our Traditional Section as it does not offer comforters but instead triple sheet bedding. The remainder of our rooms were completed a few years ago and typically our guests really enjoy them. We apologize for any inconveniences you had and our Guest Services would have been happy to provide you with another room. We would be happy to speak to you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice room, clean, good pool, good beds, breakfast good, and easy to find. Typical of Best Western quality and would stay there again if in the area. Not many restaurants within walking distance but some fast food ones.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive comments about our hotel. It is nice to know you found our guestrooms to be nice, clean and have good beds. We are also pleased you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast! We have partnered with a few restaurants very close to our property including The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. There are a variety of fabulous restaurants in our downtown area, just a couple of minutes drive from our hotel. We look forward to your next visit to Barrie and staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed in Barrie for 4 nights while visiting family. We've stayed at this hotel once before and we really enjoy it. The rooms are big with plenty of space for a family to move around. Fast internet, very friendly staff. The pool and hot tub are nice (the pool is more of a half pool) as is the exercise room. Breakfast is a little cramped. The dining area seems to get fairly busy and the kids had to wait in line for quite a while to get to the waffle maker. My suggestion would be to invest in another one of these to help speed along the traffic along the counter. Hotel looks to be away from amenities, however it is close to a Tim Hortons, Popeye's, Subway, gas stations and a few blocks away is a drug store and grocery store. It is also located close to the 400, but positioned so that you don't hear the noise of traffic. Excellent value and a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We are pleased you stayed with us on your recent visit with family! Many guests enjoy the size of our guestrooms. We will be sure to pass along your comments about our friendly staff. On those busy mornings, we often will open our meeting room for additional seating at breakfast. We also provide trays for those guests who wish to dine in the privacy of their guestroom. We continue to make adjustments to our breakfast area and appreciate your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our convenient location. We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel is an average Best Western, but what sets it apart is the extremely exceptional customer service. Every staff member there greats you with a warm smile and a friendly greeting. I spend about 6 to 8 nights a month there and it truly is like a second home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments and we appreciate your loyalty! We are always happy to have you stay with us. We are pleased to know we are your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Address: 35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barrie
#4 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Oak Hotel Barrie
Best Western Barrie
Barrie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn Barrie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.