We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Goderich, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

this hotel is very clean and the people working there are friendly. has a nice pool and hot tub. the breakfast was excellent; it had sausages, bacon and cold hard boiled eggs for protein. the lady working in the breakfast room had orientation the day before and it was her first time solo; she was excellent. the hotel is easy to get to. they did run out of towels at the pool and they could have had 2 waffle makers but those are the only things I noticed could be improved. The beds were very comfortable, there were 3 people in the room and we all slept great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and had a great sleep. Thank you for sharing your comments about our friendly staff and the cleanliness of our property. We are glad you found our complimentary hot breakfast to be excellent. On busy weekends, towels can run out when guests use multiple towels and we apologize for this inconvenience. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    64
    30
    15
    19
See reviews for
64
50
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

First of all, we notice a soil comforter on our bed, then all night we heard voices coming from all around... babies, kids, men screaming, the place is not insulated for noise. I felt like scratching all night. I just felt llike this place needs a good cleaning, feels grungy, smelly! So.... we crossed over to the Quality Inn next door, yes it look older from the outside, but so much better inside then the Best Western... there we had everything up to our expectation and stayed for the rest of our vacation.

Room Tip: Quality Inn... Perfect place, you will be surprised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Your satisfaction is important to us! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Based on the information you provided, you did not stay in our Traditional Section as it does not offer comforters but instead triple sheet bedding. The remainder of our rooms were completed a few years ago and typically our guests really enjoy them. We apologize for any inconveniences you had and our Guest Services would have been happy to provide you with another room. We would be happy to speak to you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice room, clean, good pool, good beds, breakfast good, and easy to find. Typical of Best Western quality and would stay there again if in the area. Not many restaurants within walking distance but some fast food ones.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive comments about our hotel. It is nice to know you found our guestrooms to be nice, clean and have good beds. We are also pleased you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast! We have partnered with a few restaurants very close to our property including The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. There are a variety of fabulous restaurants in our downtown area, just a couple of minutes drive from our hotel. We look forward to your next visit to Barrie and staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed in Barrie for 4 nights while visiting family. We've stayed at this hotel once before and we really enjoy it. The rooms are big with plenty of space for a family to move around. Fast internet, very friendly staff. The pool and hot tub are nice (the pool is more of a half pool) as is the exercise room. Breakfast is a little cramped. The dining area seems to get fairly busy and the kids had to wait in line for quite a while to get to the waffle maker. My suggestion would be to invest in another one of these to help speed along the traffic along the counter. Hotel looks to be away from amenities, however it is close to a Tim Hortons, Popeye's, Subway, gas stations and a few blocks away is a drug store and grocery store. It is also located close to the 400, but positioned so that you don't hear the noise of traffic. Excellent value and a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We are pleased you stayed with us on your recent visit with family! Many guests enjoy the size of our guestrooms. We will be sure to pass along your comments about our friendly staff. On those busy mornings, we often will open our meeting room for additional seating at breakfast. We also provide trays for those guests who wish to dine in the privacy of their guestroom. We continue to make adjustments to our breakfast area and appreciate your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our convenient location. We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel is an average Best Western, but what sets it apart is the extremely exceptional customer service. Every staff member there greats you with a warm smile and a friendly greeting. I spend about 6 to 8 nights a month there and it truly is like a second home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments and we appreciate your loyalty! We are always happy to have you stay with us. We are pleased to know we are your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

When I had been attempting to book online, I found that with my CAA discount I would be paying $103.00 / night at this hotel. When we got to the hotel, we found out that this was not the case, and the rates for the hotel increased on the weekend, when I had attempted to book online through the hotel's website there had been no increase in price when it was all totalled up. I asked the clerk about this and she shrugged her shoulders saying there was nothing she could do about the discrepancy. When I mentioned on the Sunday morning when we were leaving that we would be complaining to the Best Western head office about this, the clerk changed our room rate to $103.00 / night for the whole weekend which was very nice and accommodating. I'm not sure why the other lady was so rude, but we had several issues with her over the course of the weekend. On the Friday, (July 18th), when we had come back to the hotel in the late afternoon, we were subjected to approximately 45 minutes worth of screams and yells up and down the hallway. When we looked out the door, we found 10 children running back and forth down the hall, and riding on the luggage racks screaming at the top of their lungs. We called front desk and notified the lady (same one) of what was going on, and her response was “They're leaving so they'll be gone soon”. After another 30 minutes of this, one my party went down the hallway and ended up telling off the parents of the children because throughout this entire time, there was absolutely no parental supervision in the hallway. The next day when we were changing rooms, we noticed that we were directly across the hallway from the same families who were making the noise the day before. They noticed too. And the parents, standing outside the doorway, pointed to our door, and then began to scream and shout and have their children scream and shout for 30 minutes. We called the front desk and told them exactly what was going on (again the same lady), and her response was that “They won't be staying at the hotel this evening, their leaving to go to a conference/party/event” and furthermore “Our noise policy doesn't come into effect until 10pm”. After the children left, we had quiet for 10 minutes before the people next door started up and were screaming so loudly that the T.V. and walls were shaking. We were informed that there was a bachelorette party going on next door. We asked to change rooms and were told that because they were fully booked that it was not possible. Then we asked them to talk to the bachelorette party and then again said the noisy policy started at 10pm. So we ended up talking to the bachelorette party, who said they were leaving to go out partying and that they would be gone soon. Just as we went back to our room, we ran into a male stripper headed for the bachelorette party. We were not impressed. They left soon after and then at 2am we were woken up again for half an hour by the bachelorette party returning to their room. We again asked the front desk to intervene. I think really what is most upsetting is that the front desk was so unwilling to help us in any instance, and that the noise policy doesn't come into effect until 10pm. I was really unimpressed by this whole experience and have been completely turned off by the Best Western hotel chain. The only positive in our trip was the complimentary breakfast which was delicious. But the rooms were very small, and so was the pool. The hot tub was very dirty and actually had dead skin cells floating around in it; it was cloudy and unsanitary. Needless to say we will not be staying at this hotel again, and quite honestly, I doubt if we will return to this chain again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback! We do offer different rates on our website when booking online with an advanced purchase; as well, pricing does fluctuate based on weekdays and weekends. We are sorry to hear there was confusion over the pricing but pleased our Guest Services were able to adjust your rate for you. It is unfortunate when guests do not respect other guests staying at the property. Our Guest Services do their best to ensure the noise is minimal at all times and we do enforce a strict noise policy at 10:00 pm. We will address your concerns with all of our Guest Services representatives about our current policies. We ensure both our indoor swimming pool and hot tub are well maintained and meet all of the required guidelines. When there has been a lot of use, we ensure the necessary adjustments are made for our guests. We are pleased to hear your enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast and found it to be delicious. We certainly hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Recently had a 3 night stay at this hotel...location is decent, if you don't mind adult video stores, witnessed drug deals in the parking lot, and constant construction nearby. Easy access to downtown. My positive experience ends here, however. Imagine my surprise when I returned home to find that I had nearly $300 worth of unauthorized, fraudulent charges to my credit card....for a reservation that I NEVER MADE. I'm still waiting on them to acknowledge the error. They can't even prove that I ever had a confirmation. Management has proven to be worthless, with a complete disregard for customer satisfaction. It's a shame, too...I had a great trip otherwise. This Best Western has tarnished my view of Barrie, which will cause me never to return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Your satisfaction is important to us and why an adjustment was already made to your bill. It is our understanding reservations had been made through a 3rd party booking site and this company has been in contact with you. We would be happy to further discuss your concerns by contacting us directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Address: 35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Oak Hotel Barrie
Best Western Barrie
Barrie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn Barrie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.