We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Barrie... Enjoy a comfortable stay at...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“When in Barrie... Enjoy a comfortable stay at...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Was in Barrie Friday night to catch some bands playing at the Ranch, Rival Sons, and The Tea Party. Best Western offered and reasonable rate, the hotel has ample free parking, free Wi-Fi in the rooms, Nice sized king, clean and comfortable, fridge, cofee maker, the staff, appearance, all good!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay with us and found our property to be a great value while offering guests their favourite amenities! We hope you are able to visit us again the next time you are in Barrie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    57
    28
    10
    17
See reviews for
57
46
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our family rented 5 rooms here to attend a family wedding in a neighbouring town. During our entire stay spanning four days we were constantly greeted with smiles and pleasant demeanors from all staff. The rooms were well appointed, clean and comfortable. All of the housekeeping staff that we dealt with were professional, courteous and genuine. Arlene Coleman, Guest Services Manager was very pleasant to deal with, and her own personal attention to customer care manifested itself when she assisted a fellow traveller in returning my wallet & vehicle keys to me after I had inadvertently misplaced them outside the hotel on one of its window ledges. It was evident that her relief in my getting these items back matched mine. Great hotel with great people!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Best Western believes in a philosophy of staying with people who care! We are happy to know our property and staff is living up to that standard of service! Thank you for all of your kind remarks and we will be sure to share them with all of our incredible staff! We sincerely hope you will be able to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We only stayed the one night as we had already booked another Best Western in Scarborough for the next night, but we would definitely choose this hotel again. We paid only a little more and stayed in a large 'executive' room with a King sized bed. Our room was well equipped with a good sized fridge and a microwave. There was a tasty hot breakfast served the next morning.

We let them know we were driving our electric car and the nice woman at the front desk reserved the parking spot with the charging station for us. We easily got a full charge overnight.

The hotel was very quiet overnight and we slept well! Often there is a few minor things that could be improved when we stay at hotels in general, but I gave this place top marks because everything was excellent at the Best Western in Barrie!!

Room Tip: Our 'executive' room with a King sized bed was a few dollars more, but was very large with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for saying that everything was excellent at our property! We are happy to hear you had a such a pleasant stay and it is very rewarding to receive such a positive review! We are proud to be the only accommodations in Barrie offering an Electrical Vehicle Charging Station! We hope you will visit us again on your next visit to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed just one night. The hotel is newer and very well kept. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was quite nice and the comfortable. Breakfast was included. There wasn't a large choice but what there was lots and it was good. It is fairly easy to get from the hotel to the downtown shopping area and the waterfront. All in all it was a pleasant stay. If I was in the Barrie area again I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We appreciate your great comments about our hotel and are happy to know you found our staff to be both friendly and helpful! Many of our guests appreciate the central location in Barrie with easy access to Hwy 400, and close to the waterfront with numerous restaurants and shops! We are looking forward to serving you again on your next visit to Barrie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Driving through town & called last minute, no reservation. Explained that I required handicap access, ground floor from parking lot. After calling 5 hotels, this was the only one that offered to help us out. Upon arrival found the young lady at the front desk to be extremely pleasant & helpful. Room was large, clean and very easy to access. The a/c had already been turned on for us (30 degrees C. outside). Had a very spacious washroom. My ill passenger had lots of room to safely move around. The queen bed was an acceptable hight for a safe transfer. The complimentary breakfast was hot and tasty & we ate in our room. The morning staff were pleasant & helpful. Overall an excellent experience during a bad situation. Was the best part of our trip! Thank you :)

Room Tip: When you call, tell the staff exactly what you need. Call the hotel directly, don't book on-line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate your kind remarks! We are pleased we were able to meet your specific needs during your recent stay at the Best Western Royal Oak Inn! We will be sure to share your comments with our staff and we are happy to know that we were able to give you an excellent experience at our hotel! We hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The breakfast was excellent, many options though no fresh fruit. The hot tub has not been working for quite some time and it was still not working. They should not advertise this amenity on their website.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share you comments with us. We apologize for the inconvenience of your hot tub not working during your stay. We did require a part to arrive to complete the maintenance.

We hope you will give us an opportunity to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

condom wrappers behind desk, other peoples hairs in the bed and in the towels, broken a/c sounding like a dripping fosset, unaccommodating, staff was friendly but not helpful. wouldn't stay here again, lost my paperwork at check out, other best westerns i've stayed at were decent and good but this one seems like they have no expectations to hold.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback to us. We apologize you did not enjoy your stay with us as your experience is not typical for our guests. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made immediately. We are happy you were able to be upgraded to one of our Executive Guestrooms as your satisfaction is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Address: 35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Oak Hotel Barrie
Best Western Barrie
Barrie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn Barrie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.