We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel and staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in Barrie
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed in the Jacuzzi room which was awesome.
The hotel was extremely clean and quiet.
Isabel at the desk is great and really welcomed us to the hotel.
We had everything we needed: high speed, refrigerator, flat panel, hot breakfast.
There is a pool, laundry room, fitness room, business centre, meeting room.
All-in-one.
We stayed rather than trying to drive in the snowfall back to Toronto.

Room Tip: All rooms can be reached by the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your great remarks about our property. Our Jetted Tub Suites are favorites for those guests wanting a special getaway! We look forward to your next stay at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    50
    24
    8
    14
See reviews for
48
41
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Room was excellent. We had a King Suite . I liked the idea that there was a TV in the bedroom and one in the sitting area with a couch and chair. The Breakfast was pretty good also. Staff was friendly and helpful. They gave us information on tourist areas and things to do.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks. We are pleased your enjoyed your stay and your suite at our hotel. We agree that our staff is very friendly and they are always willing to share their knowledge of Barrie and area. We hope you will choose the Best Western Royal Oak Inn on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

had a great stay at this hotel...check in was a breeze and the clerks were helpful and friendly...the room was well equiped and warm once settled in the room...the location was great as my appointment was a five minute ride away...would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your remarks about our property! We agree that our staff are very friendly and efficient! Many guests appreciate our central location and easy access to Highway 400. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haileybury, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our room had a smell and the mini fridge was making a high-pitched hum. The employee at the front desk switched our room right away and came to see so that she could inform maintenance of the issues. She was awesome! The next morning I asked this employee if we could check out later as my daughter had not slept well and I wanted to let her sleep but I was concerned that my 9:30 doctor's appointment would run long. She was understanding and confirmed that we could have a late checkout of Noon but assured me that arrangements could be made if I was longer than that. (We checked out just before Noon). These employees were awesome and I would highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We appreciate hearing from our guests! We have incredible staff and they do their best to meet our guests' specific needs! We are pleased we were able to find an appropriate room and apologize for any inconvenience this caused. Thank you for highly recommending the Best Western Royal Oak Inn and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

With Barrie being my home town and us needing a place to stay for a few nights, i am glad we booked with Best Western Barrie. The first night it was fully booked so we stayed in the similar priced monte carlo inn next door but the Best Western Barrie experience was 100% better. Our room was at the back, ground floor and we had a kitchenette, full size fridge, stove and comfortable bed, spacious room and even a sliding door for easy access to our car parked right out side our window. Free included breakfast was nice and overall we felt this hotel to be friendly, clean and well managed. Will definately book again.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment. It's one of the best in Barrie and you don't want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
It is appreciated when our guests take the time to share their remarks regarding our property! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to use one of our newly renovated kitchenettes. Many of our guests like the convenience of the patio doors. Thank you for your great comments and we hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Ontario
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our family with four children stayed overnight to attend a family function early the next morning in Barrie. Isabelle at the front desk was very helpful over the phone with booking an additional room right next door to our family suite for a last minute addition to our party. We met Isabelle at check-in and she was cheerful and welcoming. She further assisted us in finding a restaurant for dinner. Our room was clean and tastefully decorated. We chose this hotel for the family suite and the pool. We appreciate when everyone in our party of six can sleep in a bed - and the beds were very comfortable - as opposed to a pull-out couch or cot, and that the parents have their own bedroom. However, we would have preferred to have a king bed and an extra bathroom. The one bathroom was tiny and didn't accommodate all of us well. The pool was small but the kids enjoyed it. We weren't concerned about our safety at this hotel until we noticed a security guard pacing the halls and glancing into the pool area. Then, my husband overheard the front desk tell a potential patron that the hotel only accepted credit cards. In the hotel information binder in the room there was a whole page outlining safety tips for guests. When we met our Barrie relatives the next day, they laughed and told us that they referred to the area where we stayed as Barrie's "red-light district". We were thankful that we didn't run into any problems and the streets outside were quiet all night. Breakfast was frustrating. We came downstairs to see a line-up out the dining room door and down the hall. Judging by how long the guests ahead of us had been waiting in line, we estimated that it would be about 30 minutes before we got our food and sat down - if there was a table. We decided to eat out and went back to our room to pack up. Once we had loaded the car and checked out, the line-up was short, so we decided to stay. Apart from the many guests who were looking for breakfast, the inefficiency of the buffet was what had caused the long wait. One waffle maker and one toaster slowed everyone down. Having said that, the breakfast was good. The sausages got great reviews.

Room Tip: The tower rooms are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We will be sure to pass along your wonderful remarks to Isabelle. We know our family suites with 3 queen beds are a popular choice. We are glad to hear you were able to use our amenities including our indoor swimming pool.

The Best Western Royal Oak Inn is a very popular hotel with families and provides a safe and friendly environment. Barrie has a number of sporting tournaments in the area and all of the hotels host teams during these dates. During these busy weekends, we have taken the initiative to employ a security guard to ensure hotel policies, including group policies such as no mini sticks in the halls, are being followed. Our complimentary breakfast is also very popular and can be challenging. We offer the connecting meeting room to help with the overflow on busy weekends; as well as, we offer trays for those who choose to dine in their guestroom. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

It is the best hotel in the city of Barrie. I realize this after I stayed in another hotel (which has been recently renovated) near Best Western in Barrie. The staff is very helpful and courteous. Excellent service and great value for money. Breakfast. had little choice. However, it was fresh and hot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for ranking the Best Western Royal Oak Inn as the best hotel in Barrie! We appreciate your great comments regarding our staff and the service they provide. We do our best to offer our guests a comfortable stay and great value while visiting Barrie. The complimentary hot breakfast does alternate the choices available to guests and we are happy to hear you felt the food was fresh and hot. Please visit us again on your next visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Address: 35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Barrie
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barrie
#3 Family Hotel in Barrie
#4 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Oak Hotel Barrie
Best Western Barrie
Barrie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn Barrie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.