We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beds are very comfy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Beds are very comfy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We only spent one night, on our way up north, but it was excellent. The room was big - 2 queen in the bedroom, another one in the living room, full kitchenette, 2 tvs, for only $140/ night, including breakfast for 4! You spend that much just for breakfast for 4 in some hotels!!

The beds were very comfortable, the internet worked very well and is free, the breakfast was quite good, scrambled eggs and sausages, muffins and bagels, toast and cereals. The staff are friendly and efficient.

We didn't use the pool, it is small, good for small children but not for rowdy teenagers...

Room Tip: If there are 4 of you, ask for the rooms with 3 queens, those are the rooms with a separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    64
    30
    15
    19
See reviews for
64
50
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed two nights during June 2012. This was the cleanest hotel my wife and I have ever stayed at. Our room, with a hot tub and micro and fridge ( that actually worked ) was fantastic. The television reception was the clearest we have ever had in a hotel. The free morning breakfast was the best assortment we have ever had. The staff were very helpful at all times. Yes I would not hesitate to return to this hotel again. Try it you will love it !

Room Tip: Stay in the new addition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Just a quality stay overall that was well within an affordable price range.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Our latest stay at the Best Western Royal Oak was once again a very relaxing stay.
From the friendly staff, to the clean and well appointed rooms, the "Royal Oak" has once again lived up to the high standards set by the Best Western Hotels group.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We've stayed a few times at the Best Western in Barrie for different reasons - when visiting Wasaga Beach, concert night in Orillia (but preferred to stay in Barrie on occassion), visiting Collingwood / Blue Mountain (and found rates more affordable at this hotel in Barrie) and weather conditions, . It's a great hotel and location to get to where we are going in the area. We stayed in the executive wing which was fabulous and had all the amenities we needed in the room - modern, clean, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, comfy beds, flat panel, high speed internet, nice bathroom... Kind of a home-away-from-home and more! Love the colour palette of the room! The staff were great especially Arlene and Brittany at the desk. Breakfast is always nice and just what we need to start off our morning. Jen is very sweet and really takes care of the guests and her breakfast area. My husband loves the eggs, I love the baked cookies. I never eat cookies for breakfast but oh my, you have to try them out! My husband loves the pool and hot tub while I either check e-mail in the business centre or simply hang out in the breakfast room with my Playbook. We feel comfortable, safe and taken care of at this hotel. The staff we feel are genuine and just very sweet and sincere. If we need to scale back on expenses, we stay in the other section which is quite nice and clean (very important to us) and save quite a bit too. It's the original section which is modest and nice and still have access to all the facilites and services. We still had the mini-fridge and microwave and high speed and all that fun stuff. It doesn't matter where you stay in the hotel because you can get to your room with the elevator.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are great. Traditional rooms are great if you need to scale back on expenses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

What can I say, the rooms were quite nice, I booked online from Best Westerns site and got a good deal, hotel is very clean and rooms are large and quite nice. No closet space in rooms though. Only an akward multi purpose cabinet/TV holder. It was a little small for jackets and clothes that need to be hung. The hotel has a small pool and hot tub. Pool was fine, but perhaps its a bit small for the size of the hotel. When we were there, both dance competitions and hockey tournaments were happening and that pool was jammed. The hotel also gives you a free continental breakfast, with all of the staples and it was good except, we didn't get waffles because the breakfast lady didn't start till 8. Bummer on that one

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT09
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My partner and I stayed in a non-smoking Queen room for one night in March 2012. On arrival we found parking easily (it's free and there were plenty of spare spaces) and the check-in staff member was friendly and helpful. I have no idea what the "smoking" rooms are like but the non-smoking room didn't smell at all and we couldn't smell smoke coming from anywhere else.

The room was fairly basic but clean and tidy. It had a desk, TV, free wireless internet, sofa bed, coffee maker, fridge, microwave, hairdryer and complimentary basics like coffee and shampoo. The bed was the best part of the room as it was really comfortable (had a great night's sleep!) and the bed linen was fresh and clean. The room came with complimentary continental breakfast but we chose not to have it.

The location was okay, only a $10 cab ride to the main night spots in Barrie, and the front desk staff called us a taxi that came within a couple of minutes. One thing was that, being a weekend, and having our room backed onto the next door's Travelodge outdoor area, there were a few rowdy people hanging around outside. However, the staff were good with keeping the noise levels inside the hotel to a minimum.

The hotel also has a small indoor pool, gym and jacuzzi but we didn't use any of them. There are vending machines and ice boxes on every floor which was convenient, but no kitchen/restaurant. The wireless internet was easy to connect to and trouble-free.

Overall, it was a good place to stay and fairly priced considering the size of the rooms. I haven't stayed in hotels in other smaller Ontario towns so I don't have anything to compare it to, but I'd definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor which was easy to get to and not too noisy, although I would suggest g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Address: 35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Oak Hotel Barrie
Best Western Barrie
Barrie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn Barrie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.