We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Fairview Rd, Barrie, Ontario L4N 4P3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Barrie
Kincardine, Canada
1 review
“Home Away From Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

We would recommend this hotel to all our friends and family. The accomodations were excellent, sparkling clean and fresh, and the staff were very courteous and pleasant. The restaurant on site was excellent as well. With pools and internet access, morning papers and nice quiet rooms, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofsalesHW, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the feedback and are so glad you enjoyed the lovely newly renovated facilities. We hope that you will come back to stay at the Holiday Inn Barrie and maybe take advantage of one of our packages like a Romantic Escape or Winter Fun. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    94
    35
    23
    16
See reviews for
127
62
28
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

We stayed there for a company Christmas function. The rooms were nicely renovated. Great bed and pillows. Nice touches like a robe, free bottled water. mints etc. I would recommend this Holiday Inn!

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenWHIBarrie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Excellent location, great staff, especially, Cindy & Adrienne in the dining room. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenWHIBarrie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmvale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

I've stayed at quite a few Holiday Inns but the staff in Barrie are the most accommodating. I've gone back many times for the Sunday morning Brunch. The food is great, always hot and a very wide selection is available from eggs to roast beef! Now that's my kind of breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenWHIBarrie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

I had a last minute arrangement and their front desk had no problem taking the time to assist me in my complicated booking. The front desk staff was friendly and humorous. The room was very clean and the bed was SO comfortable, i know the hotel just had renos done and I loved the choise of pillow. There was a restaurant within the hotel that had awesome breakfast. I travelled for an unhappy reason and really appreciated the staff and facilities.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenWHIBarrie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

We met my parents for a weekend away for my birthday and stayed for our 3rd visit to this hotel. The renovations look fabulous and as always the staff was wonderful. The restaurant primerib buffet Saturday night was excellent. The kids had their usual fun in the pool and hot tub. We always enjoy our our stay and will continue to visit for our special weekend get-aways.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenWHIBarrie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We purchased a home and were in the middle of our move and needed some place to sleep until our closing, thinking that this hotel would be great, well what a mistake. We made arrangements with the front manager for a discount and paid by cheque when one night we arrived after work and we were locked out. We were informed at 8:00pm that we needed to pay in CASH or Credit Card or we would be locked out of our room. With confusion and tears we connacted my parents and they couldn't just give there credit card by phone (you can book and hold your room by credit card but they wouldn't except that) they had to drive 20 klm to a Holiday Inn and give them their credit card then that was faxed back to this Holiday Inn in Barrie. You must understand one very important fact here we paid cash for two weeks up until this point when they refused our cheque and requested this cash/credit card info that night our we would be locked out. If you think this was the end of this nightmare think again. While my husband was at work I was working from the hotel on my business affairs when I started to receive phone calls, not your ordinary phone calls but hang ups 20 or more in a matter of 2 hours. I even had a housekeeper in my room listening to all these calls. Then I was speaking to my husband and we could here a person listening to our conversation not just once but many times. I asked for a maintenance man to come to my room and his comments where; "There is nothing wrong with your phone, someone has to put the calls through from the front desk and unless they hang up down at main switch board they can listen in on your calls."
So therefore if you are thinking that this hotel is run professionally think again. We are sending the Holiday Inn Head Office a detailed letter with all the approiate names attached to express our nightmare. We stayed at this Holiday Inn for 3 weeks and spent over $3,000.00 for this nighmare.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 20 Fairview Rd, Barrie, Ontario L4N 4P3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barrie
#4 Family Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre welcomes you to Barrie, Ontario. The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre is a recently renovated hotel with 161 guest rooms, large indoor swimming pool, fitness centre, hot tub, business centre and Tattinger's Restaurant & Lounge. The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre is located in the central part of Barrie Ontario, close to the business district, entertainment, great shopping, and near-by restaurants. The Holiday Inn is located directly off Highway 400, at Essa Rd. exit, #89. The hotel is located right beside the Mandarin Restaurant in Barrie Ontario. If you are traveling from Pearson Airport we are an hour drive North on Highway 400. Tattinger's Restaurant is located right on property where kids under 12 eat free when applicable. This full service restaurant serves a full breakfast, lunch and dinner. On Sundays you will delight in a delectable Brunch Buffet from 11am until 2pm. The Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Centre offers a "sleep-in" Sunday special to all guests who wish to extend their check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel Barrie
Barrie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.