We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisure Stay ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Fairview Rd, Barrie, Ontario L4N 4P3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Leisure Stay ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The service at this hotel was great! The front desk agent was very friendly and helpful. We asked for extra towels and housekeeping had them to us within minutes (faster service than I have seen in many luxury hotels). The kids loved the pool! In the past we have stayed at other hotels in Barrie, but this is by far the best one yet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIBARIIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments! We were delighted to have you stay with us, and are glad that you enjoyed the pool. Prompt service is very important to us here, and are glad that our team was able to help you out as quick as possible. We look forward to your next visit at the Holiday Inn Barrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    102
    38
    27
    18
See reviews for
131
64
29
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colborne, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. They were able to accommodate our party of five in one room which some hotels will not. We asked for a late check in and a cot to be added to the room and everything was ready for us when we arrived late and tired from a long trip.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

It was nice to get the family out of the house and out of the heat at the same time by having a little "weekend getaway" at this hotel. The night we stayed was pleasant, and the kids loved swimming in the massive outdoor pool!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I recently stayed in Barrie for a week and it was a great experience. The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, location great and service was good.
Cheryl, the Group Sales Manager was fantastic! - Thank you for the extra effort.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Barrie on Business or Leisure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is in a great location , right off the 400. The buffet breakfast is decent. The beds were very comfortable as well as the pillows. There is free wifi, indoor & outdoor pool & hot tub. Good value. Restaurants close by including Tim Horton's and Mandarin. Good value.

Room Tip: If you stay in the older section you can have a patio or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have stayed here over 5 times throughout the years... and even some when I was a kid. This place still offers everything needed to provide a successful and satisfying trip, whether it be for business or pleasure. The breakfast in the morning is still a decent price (just like 10 years ago) and offers a wide selection of buffet foods. The rooms were always clean and up to standards so I never had any complaints. I don't visit Barrie very often anymore but I will stay here again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIBARIIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We look forward to having you back the next time you are in Barrie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Reluctantly stayed here again for a few days (group booking via my work) and was faced with a poorly presented room.

How poorly? I walk into the room I was given and was overwhelmed by the strong smell of urine! I immediately ask a co-worker to come into the room to confirm before I went back to the front desk to change rooms. Staff was apologetic and gave me another room. This room was urine odour free (Yay!) but was a bit musty. I decided to grit my teeth and bear it. The front desk staff delivered a snack tray to me an hour later as an apology - I thanked them for it.

What bothers me is that it seems the corporate message of The Holiday Inn Experience is really just a title on a webpage. The promise of clean, modern and safe hotel rooms do not work out in practice. This particular Holiday Inn obviously has no quality control on the status of rooms. If they did, how could a room smelling of urine be given out?

Not sure of the origin of the smell but I would assume that this was an incident from the previous room user. Why there was no policy in place for the hotel staff to report or resolve this BEFORE the room was rented again is beyond me.

Is this an isolated incident? Probably, but is makes me wary of the quality control of the entire hotel chain and if a huge, obvious problem like this was 'missed'. How can any of us be sure that a normal, thorough cleaning is being done between clients.

I'm sure this review will bring the usual corporate-speak message of 'ensuring the best for clients' and some sort of apology but it will not persuade me to stay in this hotel or probably any Holiday Inn again.

Room Tip: Check the room before you commit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIBARIIE, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
I want to thank you for your feedback from your last stay. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case, we fell short. For the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel, I am sorry. The cleanliness of our rooms is a top priority of ours and proper steps are in place to ensure each room is cleaned to our highest standards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 stars 737 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
0.5 mi away
Days Inn - Barrie
Days Inn - Barrie
#7 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 20 Fairview Rd, Barrie, Ontario L4N 4P3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre welcomes you to Barrie, Ontario. The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre is a recently renovated hotel with 161 guest rooms, large indoor swimming pool, fitness centre, hot tub, business centre and Tattinger's Restaurant & Lounge. The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre is located in the central part of Barrie Ontario, close to the business district, entertainment, great shopping, and near-by restaurants. The Holiday Inn is located directly off Highway 400, at Essa Rd. exit, #89. The hotel is located right beside the Mandarin Restaurant in Barrie Ontario. If you are traveling from Pearson Airport we are an hour drive North on Highway 400. Tattinger's Restaurant is located right on property where kids under 12 eat free when applicable. This full service restaurant serves a full breakfast, lunch and dinner. On Sundays you will delight in a delectable Brunch Buffet from 11am until 2pm. The Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Centre offers a "sleep-in" Sunday special to all guests who wish to extend their check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel Barrie
Barrie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.