We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing restaurant staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Barrie

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Barrie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Barrie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Fairview Rd, Barrie, Ontario L4N 4P3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Barrie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I recently stayed at the hotel and had a late breakfast at the restaurant hotel. We want to express our gratitude to our server Jenny and chef Paul. My husband was in an accident in Barrie and broke both his hands as well as other injuries. He had great difficulty eating and Jenny our server was extremely kind and helpful. She also put together some food and drinks for our long journey home. Chef Paul escorted my husband to the car carrying our food to go. They both went above and beyond what they needed to do. Two very special people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIBARIIE, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your kind review! We hope your husband is having a speedy recovery and very much look forward to having the two of you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    85
    33
    22
    16
See reviews for
122
60
24
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a week while looking for a long term place to live in the fall.
Rooms were clean well taken care of hotel. Pool was clean and well maintained.
While we were staying we were Invited to the managers reception. Which was a free drinks wine and beer and finger foods. Had a chance to meet other guest who were displaced after the tornado that had just went thru Angus. The hotel was taking care of the guest and entertaining their children so the parents could have a few minutes to themselves.
It is great to see a hotel go out their way to look after the guests.
This is one of the reasons I always stay at this chain of hotels.
Great job to he staff and management of this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have a few minimum standards when travelling on business. Quick check-in, clean everywhere, good sleeping conditions and an office away from home. This location fufilled none of my minimum standards.

At check-in the desk only had one other person arriving (this was at 10p.m., and the clerk kept answering the phone. Once I did check in the directions to the room were difficult to understand and there is no elevator so one needs to drag your suitcase and briefcase up several flights of stairs. The stairwell had an unusual and not pleasant odour to it and the rooms are very dated and worn out. The chairs are strategically placed to cover the stains on the carpet. In my room there was no desk, only a round table and no available electrical outlet so you will be forced to unplug things to charge the many devices business people travel with. The hotel was extremely noisy ensuring that I only had 3 hours sleep, preparing me very well for presentations the next day.

I did have a wonderful run along the lake in the morning, however I am certain we can find another hotel for my next business trip to Barrie.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIBARIIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments from your past stay. Although we never enjoy hearing that one of our guests did not have an enjoyable stay, we do look at these as an opportunity to grow. All of our King bedrooms as well as our Executive Rooms have a large workstation and desk for our guests. There are accessible outlets right on the desk as well for your convenience, and our Executive Rooms also have elevator access to them. We would love for you to return and enjoy the comfort of one of our Executive Rooms the next time that you are in Barrie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Was there for two nights and had rented 2 conference rooms as well. All hotel amenities were great, then staff were friendly and helpful. The porter looking after the hotel was fantastic and the best service I have had when renting a conference room. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIBARIIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. At the Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Center, we take pride on our excellent customer service. We are delighted that our staff were able to create that WOW factor for you! We very much look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great hotel, great service, great location!!! Sitting here enjoying an absolutely wonderful breakfast buffet for under $12!! Servers are lovely, especially Adrienne, and it was a true pleasure meeting Chef Paul... Absolutely fabulous... I'll be back tomorrow morning!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

On Mon. May 12th., my husband and I decided to dine at the Tattinger restaurant located within the Holiday Inn, Barrie. We were married there 35 years ago to the day and thought it would be nice to return, see the changes and relive wonderful memories. During conversation with our waitress, Jenny, we mentioned why we were there. She spoke to the Food and Beverages Manager, Joseph Shinto, who offered us complimentary appetizers and later accompanied us on a tour around the premises, including the room in which we were married and the adjoining room where we had our reception.

We thoroughtly enjoyed our evening. Our waitress was attentive but not too much so, the food was delicious and plentiful and we were left to spend time to quietly reminisce. All in all, we couldn't have asked for a better anniversary dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIBARIIE, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad you two were once again able to enjoy your time here at the Holiday Inn Barrie. We look forward to sharing future milestones with you. Happy Anniversary from all of us here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed for two nights and had a room in the tower block, overlooking the 'courtyard'. Very quiet. Room was spotless. Appreciated the newer fridge for food and drink storage, and it has a very quiet operation. Restaurant was also very clean and the service was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to highway noise, be sure to ask for a room away from the highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barrie

Address: 20 Fairview Rd, Barrie, Ontario L4N 4P3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Barrie
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barrie
#5 Family Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Barrie 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly team at the Holiday Inn Barrie wants to welcome you. We strive each and everyday to show our guests the true meaning of hospitality and we want you to feel right at home even before you make it to your comfortable & spacious guestroom. After a fun-filled day strolling around the historic unique shops of downtown Barrie or after a busy day at the office, we have amenities that will fit all your needs. A refreshing swim in our heated indoor pool and a relaxing hot tub or an invigorating work-out in our well-equipped fitness ctr. may be just what you need to top off your day at the Holiday Inn Barrie. However if you would simply rather stay and relax with us, enjoy a drink in our lounge or a delicious meal prepared and served in our Tattinger’s Restaurant. Holiday Inn Barrie wants you to start your day off right with a fresh cooked all you can eat Buffet Breakfast or menu selections. While your here with us keep in touch with your friends and family by using our fiber-optic internet services and our free wireless internet services. Whether its business or leisure, make the Holiday Inn Barrie your hotel of choice. We make sure each stay is a memorable one and you will not be disappointed! We’re easy to find right off highway #400 at Essa Road, #94.The Holiday Inn Is Your Home Away From Home, Great Hotels~Guests Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel Barrie
Barrie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Barrie Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Barrie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.