We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second great meal here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar

Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar
367 Yonge Street, Barrie, Ontario L4N4C9, Canada
+1 705-797-8909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 372 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Wine Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on Yonge Street, close to the water and downtown core, this exciting restaurant features contemporary cuisine and an extensive wine list in a casual fine dining atmosphere. Steaks, seafood, pastas, salads, desserts are all prepared fresh daily. In the Summer they even have an on-site garden where the chefs pick fresh veggies and herbs every day. Fun and relaxed service with a casual flair, exceptional food and open for lunch and dinner 7 days a week. They provide a dining experience that makes you want to come back again and again.
Ontario
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Second great meal here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had dinner here Saturday night. Service was excellent. Ordered cesear salad and coconut shrimp for appetizers, both were excellent. I had the Chilean Sea Bass that was cooked perfectly and tasted fantastic. Probably the best piece of fish I've ever had. My partner ordered the filet mignon special and it was a little over medium-rare but still very good. We will definitely go back again. I will say however,that the group in the bar (including the bartender) were a little loud for such a small restaurant. We were there for an intimate meal and it was a little annoying to have to listen to their loud conversations. But we didn't let it spoil our great meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    27
    8
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing after pleasure”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have been to Urban Dish several times and always enjoyed our dinners there. Recently we went on a Sunday and were disappointed. Perhaps part of it was our fault as we did not know the menu was so limited on Sunday. Only four choces for a main course and each of them a mini serving--for example a 4 ounce steak! The prix fixe is no bargain when the choice is so small and limiting--we would rather pay more and have enjoyable dinners. The waiter was very loud; the final straw was finding an advertisement for a mortgage broker on the menu--tacky! We made a wise decision and left and had a lovely dinner elsewhere. We will be back to Urban Dish again, but not on a Sunday as long as they have this very limited menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
1 review
“Used to be much better, a place in a decline in quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Prime Rib - We have noticed a decline in the quality of food and service tonight. We both selected the Prime Rib and the Dinner came cold, overcooked and more than 50% inedible with fat. Texture of the Rib was more akin to a Roast and the gravy tasted like ClubHouse pre-made and not like a true au jus. Only the potatoes were warm. The worst part? No table check to see if everything was going fine and we were being served by Sabrina. I left my plate full and open when she came to take them away, clearly evident that I could not eat my meal and again no questions on how my Dinner was to either of us. The table beside us also order 3 Prime Rib Dinners and they had had the exact experience. Poor service and poor quality of food quality, doubt we will return again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lunch at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

What a great lunch. All the lunches came with delicious sides such as pear salad. The salads came before the main and were very unique and beautifully presented. The Caesar salad came with a cheese covered piece of bread that the salad was enough to be a meal in itself but who wants to stop when you are waiting for the Earth burger? Everyone in our party raved about their lunch. I can easily say that I will return at lunch to enjoy dinner quality food at very affordable prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer L, Owner at Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
We're glad you and your guests enjoyed. We look forward to taking care of you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A taste of Toronto in Barrie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The ambiance, the service and especially the food. Everything just seems to melt in your mouth. Flavours to be savoured. Reservations recommended as it is a small restaurant.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer L, Owner at Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again, soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.