We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar

Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar
367 Yonge Street, Barrie, Ontario L4N4C9, Canada
+1 705-797-8909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 389 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on Yonge Street, close to the water and downtown core, this exciting restaurant features contemporary cuisine and an extensive wine list in a casual fine dining atmosphere. Steaks, seafood, pastas, salads, desserts are all prepared fresh daily. In the Summer they even have an on-site garden where the chefs pick fresh veggies and herbs every day. Fun and relaxed service with a casual flair, exceptional food and open for lunch and dinner 7 days a week. They provide a dining experience that makes you want to come back again and again.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Only been here for lunch but it was outstanding! If they have the mushroom soup as a special GET IT!!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    29
    8
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Finally a restaurant that can make it in this location. After being a donut shop, a sports bar and a rib place, looks like fine dining is what will be successful. Great high end menu. Very tasty food. Staff are pretty accommodating as well. Nice to have a nice restaurant in this part of town and not have to go downtown all the time.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food was bad and chef was screaming”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

i took my wife to dinner after people saying we had to go. I had a steak that was almost raw and very cold. The chef was yelling at a server and that was all we could hear. I will never go back

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, british columbia, canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way. Simple food turned gourmet! Warm, interested and unobstrusive service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My title statement kind of says it all. We went with our 2 kids, it was their Sunday 3-course fixe pris menu but they allowed the kids to share a set (which they custom-divided for the kids and made adjustments to suit them) and they still kept every dish excellent. Coming from SE Asia, one is often disappointed with menu items offering chicken satay - but this one was outstanding - not SE Asian but a great twist and the kids loved it as did we. The sable fish with risotto was perfect as was the baby back ribs, rose pasta, and pecan pie chocolate ice cream desert. All of this plus the genuinely interested, quietly attentive service ... one could not ask for anything more. This place definitely exceeded expectations - even beyond it's #3 ratings among Barrie-area restaurants.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a wonderful food....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Took my friend for a promised dinner.Everything was just wonderful , steak cooked to perfection,service was AAA+ . We had an excellent experience and I would highly recommend this place to anyone that values quality food and service.I will be back for sure .Btw - their lobster bisque soup on Fridays is to die for. LOVE IT ! :)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.